Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
ocsuperht
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:23 pm

css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:31 pm

I am somewhat confused as to how to configure vlans on this switch (css326-24g-2s+rm) I just purchased. The Vlan config does not match the same as your SWOS documentation. For example, there is no ingress/egress, so where is this to be found? I simply want to know how to configure trunk ports, tagged ports and access ports.

I have attached screenshots to show how different it is from documentation and the lack of "egress" and "ingress" as stated in the docs.
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS#VLAN_Tab
image.png
image (1).png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
pfoo
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:08 am

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:20 am

The wiki does not seem to cover SwOS 2.0 for now :(
I hope mikrotik is going to update it quickly because swos 2.0 is not behaving the same as pre-2.0 when considering VLANs
 
DrRomeoChair
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:19 pm

I would also appreciate help from the Mikrotik folks on this, even if the official documentation is not done. I am moving from a netgear gss116e switch with several vlans and a couple of trunked ports. From the earlier documents I could figure out how to match my setup, but with the new UI, it's not clear to me at all.

My setup on the netgear is (using 802.1Q screens):

ports 1-4,sfp1,sfp2, VLAN=1, untagged, pvid=1
ports 5-8, VLAN=10, untagged, pvid=10
ports 9,10, VLAN=10, 400,401,402,403,404, tagged, pvid=10 (trunk ports)
ports 11-14, VLAN=5, untagged, pvid=5
ports 15,16, VLAN=5, tagged, pvid=5

Any pointers on how to replicate this on SwOS 2.0? FYI, this is someone elses design, so I can't answer why things are the way they are, only that it works on the netgear.

The main reason I'm using the css326-24g-2s+rm is for the 10G SFP ports which is used for iSCSI traffic to sync two virtual SANs. Up until now, I have to run both switches, using the css326 to link the 10G ports and the netgear for all the other gigabit ports.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,

DRC
 
becs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 484
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:26 am

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:29 am

Hello,
Here is the link to a basic VLAN configuration example for CSS326-24G-2S+:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SWOS/CSS326-VLAN-Example
It should at least point to the right direction how VLANs should be configured on CSS326-24G-2S+.
 
ryan3531
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:31 pm

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:31 am

Thanks for starting the documentation, becs. Would you mind answering a few questions about the exposed VLAN knobs?
  • Does the "enabled" VLAN mode in 2.x check to see that the port is a member of the VLAN like the "strict" mode in 1.x, or just that the VLAN is configured on the switch like the "enabled" mode in 1.x?
  • Since there is not an option in 2.x to specify whether to leave as-is, strip, or add VLAN headers to egressing packets, do packets always egress untagged on a port where the default VLAN ID of the port matches that of the packet, and tagged if the default VLAN ID does not match?
  • What does the "port isolation" checkbox on the VLANs tab do?
 
ryan3531
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:31 pm

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:15 am

My setup on the netgear is (using 802.1Q screens):

ports 1-4,sfp1,sfp2, VLAN=1, untagged, pvid=1
ports 5-8, VLAN=10, untagged, pvid=10
ports 9,10, VLAN=10, 400,401,402,403,404, tagged, pvid=10 (trunk ports)
ports 11-14, VLAN=5, untagged, pvid=5
ports 15,16, VLAN=5, tagged, pvid=5

Any pointers on how to replicate this on SwOS 2.0? FYI, this is someone elses design, so I can't answer why things are the way they are, only that it works on the netgear.
Here's my attempt, based on becs's example and my own working setup:

Image

Image

Hope that helps!
 
becs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 484
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:26 am

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:29 pm

Does the "enabled" VLAN mode in 2.x check to see that the port is a member of the VLAN like the "strict" mode in 1.x, or just that the VLAN is configured on the switch like the "enabled" mode in 1.x?
In SwOS v2.0 on CSS326 VLAN Mode "enabled" works as the VLAN Mode "strict" on RB260 (CSS106), the membership of the ingress port is important, too.
We will consider renaming it to "strict" on CSS326 for better understanding.
Since there is not an option in 2.x to specify whether to leave as-is, strip, or add VLAN headers to egressing packets, do packets always egress untagged on a port where the default VLAN ID of the port matches that of the packet, and tagged if the default VLAN ID does not match?
Yes, your assumption is correct.
What does the "port isolation" checkbox on the VLANs tab do?
"Port Isolation" checkbox in the VLANs tab specifies whether configuration from Port Isolation menu applies to the particular VLAN.
 
DrRomeoChair
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Sun Apr 23, 2017 10:31 pm

@ryan3531 -- thanks very much, i'll give it a try when I get a chance and report back. I appreciate the response. -- DRC
 
User avatar
niamul
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:33 am
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Contact:

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Thu Jul 06, 2017 8:33 am

simple question,
management vlan on a trunk port

i want to use the sfp+ port to send vlan 5,9,11,33,23,43 where management vlan will be 43.
how do i go about setting it up on the switch?
- waiting for that last laugh
 
masseselsev
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:01 am
Location: Zhukovskiy, MO, Russia
Contact:

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:57 am

simple question,
management vlan on a trunk port

i want to use the sfp+ port to send vlan 5,9,11,33,23,43 where management vlan will be 43.
how do i go about setting it up on the switch?
also cannot get management over tagged vlan working. any new docs on it? cmon, many months passed...
MTCNA, MTCWE
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Sun Aug 13, 2017 5:04 am

Running a CSS326 with SwOS 2.4. Is management over VLAN working yet? I'm afraid to enable it as it locked me out at 2.0, but if it's not working, I have no remote access to a switch that is a 45 minute drive up a crappy dirt 4x4 road to get to.
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission

Warning: I know enough to be dangerous...

Jim
 
becs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 484
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:26 am

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:30 pm

Hello, CSS326 management VLAN with tagged packets worked before and the problems with untagged packets are fixed since SwOS v2.3:
What's new in v2.3:
*) fixed "Allow From VLAN" on untagged packets with correct default vlan id;
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:25 am

Hello, CSS326 management VLAN with tagged packets worked before and the problems with untagged packets are fixed since SwOS v2.3:
What's new in v2.3:
*) fixed "Allow From VLAN" on untagged packets with correct default vlan id;
Thanks becs. Turns out that shortly after I posted the question I had remoted into a computer at home and confirmed that I could access the CSS326 remotely via the microwave link trunk. Nice to get the confirmation however.
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission

Warning: I know enough to be dangerous...

Jim
 
flicker
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 9:15 pm

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:14 pm

In SwOS v2.0 on CSS326 VLAN Mode "enabled" works as the VLAN Mode "strict" on RB260 (CSS106), the membership of the ingress port is important, too.
We will consider renaming it to "strict" on CSS326 for better understanding.
It seemes that this is wrong, or this is not working correctly. I just have CSS326 and following setup:
Port 2, VLAN mode=enabled, Default VLAN id=1.
This port is connected to network with VLAN1 untagged, VLAN7 tagged.
Vlan table consists of VLANs 1, 2, 3, 7, 3000, 3001. Only VLAN 1 is enabled on port 2.
All other ports on the switch are unconnected.

Nevertheless, Hosts table shows entries on VLAN 7. The switch is accessible via VLAN7.

Tested on firmware 2.0p, 2.4. Version 2.5 is broken in other ways, so I have not tested the problem with it.

Update: VLAN modes "optional" and "enabled" work exactly the same for me.
 
swissiws
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 12:42 am

Re: css326-24g-2s+rm VLANs

Fri Mar 16, 2018 6:46 pm

version 2.7 SWos -- CRS326

I still can not access management VLAN when set on switch while connected to port1 on same switch. Still issues?

Configure 'VLANs'
99 - all ports are members

Configure 'VLAN' on port1
Vlan Mode - enabled,
Vlan Receive - Only untagged,
Default Vlan Id - 99
Force VLANid - ticked

Configure management interface on VLAN99
Allow from Vlan - 99

What I would like to have:
Management on VLAN99, can be accessed either via trunk port for remote managment or via port1,

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests