Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
metricmoose
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 2:03 am

Cannot Change Password on V2.5 on CSS106

Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:57 pm

I upgraded a CSS106-1G-4P-1S to SwOS 2.5 and it will not let me change the admin password. The default password is blank, so I leave the "Old Password" box blank and enter the new password in the "New Password" and "Confirm Password" boxes, though I get an "ERROR: Incorrect old password" message and the password is not changed. Is this a bug? I did a factory reset and I was still unable to change the password.
 
User avatar
pcunite
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 5:13 am
Location: USA

Re: Cannot Change Password on V2.5 on CSS106

Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:28 pm

That's sound strange. Are you able to do a netinstall? This will reformat the drive and all settings.
 
Slon
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:32 pm

Re: Cannot Change Password on V2.5 on CSS106

Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:37 pm

I have that same problem. New switch, new soft 2.5. Any idea?
 
metricmoose
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 2:03 am

Re: Cannot Change Password on V2.5 on CSS106

Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:10 pm

Well, I found a workaround. I had SwOS 2.1 for the CSS106 downloaded to my computer, so I downgraded to that (Using the upgrade tab), changed the password and then upgraded to SwOS 2.5. Kind of a pain, but it works.
 
colanderman
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 5:21 am

Re: Cannot Change Password on V2.5 on CSS106

Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:20 am

Confirmed, same problem here on a brand-new CSS106/RB260GSP.
 
tonmt
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:33 am

Re: Cannot Change Password on V2.5 on CSS106

Fri Sep 29, 2017 11:06 am

CRS326 on SwOS too.
 
jea
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 7:33 pm

Re: Cannot Change Password on V2.5 on CSS106

Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:18 am

just select the "old password" box and enter a carriage return.
Then enter your new passwd and confirm.
That worked for me.
 
plankanater
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:56 am

Re: Cannot Change Password on V2.5 on CSS106

Mon Oct 02, 2017 5:01 pm

So it seems to learn the password when you change it.

Because changing the password makes you put in the old password.

But you are able to log in without a password.
 
mwier
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:10 pm

Re: Cannot Change Password on V2.5 on CSS106

Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:23 pm

I also can confirm the same problem here on a new CSS106/RB260GSP. It is not possible to enter a blank password in the "Old Password" box.
 
plankanater
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:56 am

Re: Cannot Change Password on V2.5 on CSS106

Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:05 am

Mikrotik knows about the issue. I opened a support ticket and their answer is to downgrade. If that is their answer I stunned as to why they have not pulled the 2.5 firmware file.
 
josst
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 11:18 pm

Re: Cannot Change Password on V2.5 on CSS106

Mon Oct 09, 2017 11:24 pm

Same problem here. After upgrade to 2.5 same issue with password. Does anyone have some idea how to solve it instead of downgrade SwOS? If downgrade is only option where I can find 2.4 version because I don't see it on Mikrotik download pages. Thanks in advance.
 
gammy69er
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:01 am

Re: Cannot Change Password on V2.5 on CSS106

Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:04 am

https://download2.mikrotik.com/swos2/cs ... 1s-2.4.bin

I tend to just copy the link to the Current version and adjust the version number to the one I need...

This Link worked form Me to get 2.4.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests