Community discussions

 
User avatar
cohprog
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 4:54 pm
Contact:

Link status of SFP S+RJ10

Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:55 pm

Hello,
I have SFP S+RJ10 in a CSS326-24G-2S+ switch.

I am probably missing something but is there any way to get the link status of the SFP ports?
In the "link" tab of SwOS, it always show "link on 10G" whatever there is a cable pluged into the SPF or not.
In the "SFP" tab, it only shows the modules vendor, part number, revision, serial, date and type without any other information.
There is no "SFP Status" tab at all.

Also, how is it possible to set the link speed? If I disable "auto-negotiation", I can only choose between 1G, 100M and 10M. With "auto-negotiation", it shows 10G whatever there is something connected to it or not. But those modules are supposed to also support 5Gbps and 2.5Gbps.

PS: I am using SwOS 2.7
 
udpPacket
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 7:41 am

Re: Link status of SFP S+RJ10

Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:41 am

I tried S+RJ10 transceiver with Mellanox ConnectX-2 card on Linux as well as non-Mikrotik switch and both systems always report link as 10Gbe, even if the link drops down to 1Gbe, so I think this is just the way it is with SFP+ modules. I haven't been able to test NBase-T yet.
 
ekalneb
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 4:52 am

Re: Link status of SFP S+RJ10

Mon Jun 11, 2018 5:11 am

I'm seeing the same thing on two different CRS328-24P-4S+RM and 5 different S+RJ10s, always link and always 10G. SwOS 2.7.
 
ekalneb
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 4:52 am

Re: Link status of SFP S+RJ10

Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:20 pm

I'm hearing from network engineer folks I know that this is typical of copper SFP transceivers across vendors. That boggles my mind, as I have no idea how LAGs could be effective in a wire loss scenario if link is always on.
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: Link status of SFP S+RJ10

Wed Aug 22, 2018 8:37 am

Just an FYI, about an hour ago I installed a S-RJ01 into a CSS326-24G-2S that has SwitchOS 2.8. It behaved exactly as I expected. Link showed as down with no cable plugged in. When I plugged in a cable to a RB260GS with a third party SFP, the link came right up and showed 1G. Pings to both the far end switch and another device plugged into that switch came right up.
As I said, exactly as it should have.



Sent from a $&@#% iPhone using Tapatalk
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests