Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
4k1l
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:16 pm

SwitchOS CLI

Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:20 pm

is it possible to configure SwitchOS using CLI/SSH ?
 
User avatar
skylark
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:55 pm

Re: SwitchOS CLI

Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:50 pm

No, SwOS uses a simple algorithm to ensure TCP/IP communication - it just replies to the same IP and MAC address packet came from.
 
rekahsoft
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 8:17 pm

Re: SwitchOS CLI

Sun Feb 09, 2020 8:21 pm

This would be a very nice feature to have. Even if it was a cli client that could be run locally to interact with a secured api running from the switch. What is the process to request a new feature for SWOS?
 
awonglk
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 3:43 pm

Re: SwitchOS CLI

Sun Dec 13, 2020 12:04 pm

This is not a nice to have anymore. It’s a necessity in a world where are moving towards highly automated networks. Need a way for scripts and automation engines to automatically configure/provision SwOS based switches.

Would love to see this implemented as well, even is it’s a basic one.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5262
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: SwitchOS CLI

Sun Dec 13, 2020 5:02 pm

It’s a necessity in a world where are moving towards highly automated networks. Need a way for scripts and automation engines to automatically configure/provision SwOS based switches.

There's a version of OS available which has everything you want. It's called ROS. Yes, ROS device can be configured as a switch, doesn't have to be router.
BR,
Metod
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: SwitchOS CLI

Mon Dec 14, 2020 4:11 am

There's a version of OS available which has everything you want. It's called ROS. Yes, ROS device can be configured as a switch, doesn't have to be router.
That does not help with switch only devices (see my list below). And for managing switches, SwitchOS works very well.
With that said, it would be nice to have at least https...
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission

Warning: I know enough to be dangerous...

Jim
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5262
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: SwitchOS CLI

Mon Dec 14, 2020 10:45 am

SwOS-only switches are pretty basic units. The advanced units come in both SwOS and ROS variants (or are actually dual-bootable). The post I was quoting mentioned "highly automated networks". I don't see basic (SwOS only) units fit the advanced use implied by that. I can agree that full ROS might be an overkill for switch-only setup. But OTOH it does offer all the advanced configuration possibilities wanted (or needed) for building "highly automated networks".
BR,
Metod
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: SwitchOS CLI

Mon Dec 14, 2020 11:20 pm

I use switches exclusively as switches and I use routers exclusively as routers - the two functions do not cross. In fact, the only reason I have one CRS326 is that I ordered a CSS326 and the vendor incorrectly sent me a CRS326. When I contacted them about it, they said it was not worth the effort and shipping costs to swap it out for me.

As I said above, it would be nice to at least have https in SwitchOS...
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission

Warning: I know enough to be dangerous...

Jim
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5262
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: SwitchOS CLI

Tue Dec 15, 2020 10:32 am

As I said above, it would be nice to at least have https in SwitchOS...

I really don't get the "https on SwOS" fame. I mean: if one doesn't care about separation of management from other traffic, then http is enough. If one does care about management security, it is possible to move management to separate VLAN and use management station inside that dedicated VLAN. Again no need for https. Managing switches over internet without using some kind of secure VPN is unwise (to put it mildly).

If one really needs all the bells and whistles, then it is possible to have it ... by running ROS. And again: it is completely possible (and not too hard) to configure switch-only configuration using ROS. I'm not saying anybody should abandon SwOS, I'm just saying that for advanced configuration stuff (or security stuff for that matter) SwOS might be just too light-weight. And judging from sparse notes by MT team members, SwOS-oly units might even lack HW resources needed for anything more than plain http anyway.
BR,
Metod

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests