Community discussions

 
k3nt
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 2:29 am

CSS326-24G-2S+RM RSTP root not working with SFP

Sat Aug 25, 2018 2:51 am

Hello,

We have 2 x CSS326-24G-2S+RM that we are trying to extend a single VLAN with. Everything works great over the Ethernet ports, but does not when linking the two mikrotik switches via the SFP ports. Setup details below. Any insights would be much appreciated!

Setup 1
This works great. The VLAN is accessible on the second CSS326-24G-2S+RM 1GbE.
VLAN1 :
(meraki switch) over 1GbE -> (1)CSS326-24G-2S+RM over 1GbE -> (2)CSS326-24G-2S+RM over 1GbE
RSTP state on (1)CSS326-24G-2S+RM
Role: designated
Type: point-to-point
RSTP state on (2)CSS326-24G-2S+RM
Role: root
Type: point-to-point

Setup 2
This setup does not work. VLAN 1 is not accessible on the second CSS326-24G-2S+RM 1GbE.
VLAN1 :
(meraki switch) 1GbE -> (1)CSS326-24G-2S+RM over SFP -> (2)CSS326-24G-2S+RM over SFP
RSTP state on (1)CSS326-24G-2S+RM
Role: designated
Type: edge
RSTP state on (2)CSS326-24G-2S+RM
Role: designated
Type: edge

-Kent
 
EdPa
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:05 am
Location: Riga
Contact:

Re: CSS326-24G-2S+RM RSTP root not working with SFP

Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:35 pm

What "Default VLAN ID" have you set for ethernet and SFP interfaces and what is the RSTP State in the second setup?
Have you tried to disable RSTP on these ports?
 
k3nt
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 2:29 am

Re: CSS326-24G-2S+RM RSTP root not working with SFP

Wed Aug 29, 2018 8:46 pm

Thank you for your response!

I have not changed any of the default settings on either of the CSS326-24G-2S+RM.
Default VLAN ID is 1 for every port on both switches. I tried disabling RSTP on each
switch and then both, no success.
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: CSS326-24G-2S+RM RSTP root not working with SFP

Wed Aug 29, 2018 9:44 pm

Don't use the edge-port type for 802.1q trunking to another switch. Also you might try MSTP as it can sometimes solve STP interop issues with other switches.

Setup 1
This works great. The VLAN is accessible on the second CSS326-24G-2S+RM 1GbE.
VLAN1 :
(meraki switch) over 1GbE -> (1)CSS326-24G-2S+RM over 1GbE -> (2)CSS326-24G-2S+RM over 1GbE
RSTP state on (1)CSS326-24G-2S+RM
Role: designated
Type: point-to-point
RSTP state on (2)CSS326-24G-2S+RM
Role: root
Type: point-to-point

Setup 2
This setup does not work. VLAN 1 is not accessible on the second CSS326-24G-2S+RM 1GbE.
VLAN1 :
(meraki switch) 1GbE -> (1)CSS326-24G-2S+RM over SFP -> (2)CSS326-24G-2S+RM over SFP
RSTP state on (1)CSS326-24G-2S+RM
Role: designated
Type: edge
RSTP state on (2)CSS326-24G-2S+RM
Role: designated


From the MikroTik wiki here: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:S ... e_Protocol

In RouterOS it is possible to specify which bridge ports are edge ports. Edge ports are ports that are not supposed to receive any BPDUs, this is beneficial since this allows STP to skip the learning and the listening state and directly go to forwarding state. This feature is sometimes called PortFast· You can leave this parameter to the default value, which is auto, but you can also manually specify it, you can set a port as edge port manually for ports that should not have any more bridges behind it, usually these are access ports.

Edge ports are supposed to be for end systems and not other switches.

Use this command to set both bridges to be non-edge - which is the desired state for switch to switch trunking
/interface bridge port edge=no
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
k3nt
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 2:29 am

Re: CSS326-24G-2S+RM RSTP root not working with SFP

Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:32 pm

Appreciate the response!

Unfortunately this switch only has SwOS.

I have tried disabling RSTP on the connecting ports, but no luck.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests