Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
tizzputt
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 5:49 am

CSS106-1G-4P-1S PoE support

Thu Sep 06, 2018 5:59 am

Hello,

I'm trying to supply power to a hardware device I have (a digital signage player) and its documented that it requires PoE+ Type 1 15 Watts.

I recently got this switch to add to my lab environment and hoped to use the PoE feature, it came with a 24V 2.5A power supply. I believe, after everything that I've been able to find on this product, that it may not support PoE+ 802.3af, is that accurate? What would be a suitable alternative roughly in the same price range? RB960PS? its a bit more expensive but it states it supports 802.3af. Would I also need to get a 48V power supply? same amperage?

Thanks for helping with these probably newbie questions.
 
Buckeye
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:03 am

Re: CSS106-1G-4P-1S PoE support

Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:29 am

There are multiple types of power over ethernet. The CSS106 switches are "passive" and probably not compatible with your device.

PoE+ type 1 15W seems to be an inconsistent spec.
PoE (type 1) normally means 802.3af and can supply around 15.4W at the port, but only about 12.9W at the far end of the cable.
PoE (type 2) is 802.3at and can supply more current (by supplying higher voltage).

If your device requires 15 Watts delivered to it, (not just 12.4), either you will have to have a short cable or 802.3at

Have you asked the vendor of the device if it needs 802.3at (what PoE+ normally means). You may also ask if they can recommend a PoE injector that is compatible.

You may be able to use a PoE injector if you only have one device and don't need to be able to cycle power via the switch.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_over_Ethernet
 
Cayden
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 6:18 am

Re: CSS106-1G-4P-1S PoE support

Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:21 pm

For this problem, first of all contact customer care of your product (digital signage player) and tell the problem. May be they will configure their product.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests