Community discussions

 
User avatar
mrmut
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 2:10 pm

Switch identity character length and possible? bug

Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:38 am

I am having issues setting identity of RB260GS. I wanted to set:
LOCATION - OFFICE - DEVICEn

However, I get cut out, and SwOS version is added after the name. Is this normal, or a bug? Or maybe a browser thing? Tried to the switch, but it didn't work.
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: Switch identity character length and possible? bug

Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:21 pm

I am having issues setting identity of RB260GS. I wanted to set:
LOCATION - OFFICE - DEVICEn

However, I get cut out, and SwOS version is added after the name. Is this normal, or a bug? Or maybe a browser thing? Tried to the switch, but it didn't work.
I don’t remember for sure, but there is a limit. Something like 16 characters (but don’t guarantee that number).



Sent from a $&@#% iPhone using Tapatalk
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim
 
User avatar
mrmut
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 2:10 pm

Re: Switch identity character length and possible? bug

Wed Oct 02, 2019 2:16 pm

I think it is less than that. Also, it counts special chars as more than 1.
 
Zacharias
Member
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: Switch identity character length and possible? bug

Thu Oct 03, 2019 1:10 am

System identity can have a maximum of 64 characters..
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:System/identity
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: Switch identity character length and possible? bug

Thu Oct 03, 2019 2:21 am

That's RouterOS, not SwitchOS.
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim
 
User avatar
Deantwo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:07 pm

Re: Switch identity character length and possible? bug

Fri Oct 04, 2019 4:38 pm

I am having issues setting identity of RB260GS. I wanted to set:
LOCATION - OFFICE - DEVICEn
The identity character limit is rather small for SwOS yeah.

I don't know what exactly you need such a long and complicated identity for, but you might be able to add some of your information to the SNMP settings instead. The character limit might be a little higher there, and you have two separate fields.
I wish my FTP was FTL.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests