Community discussions

 
Kurosudo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:21 pm

Is possible to boot into ROS in CSS326-24G-2S+RM

Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:45 pm

Hello,
My old Cisco switch blow up and i'm looking for new switch. I'm long time using Mikrotik's routerboards as main routers in my networks but i never tried any Mikrotik switch because i was kinda scared from switchos. I found CSS326-24G-2S+RM as very good switch with awesome price, but it have SwitchOS.
I found on mikrotik wiki post about dual booting SwOS/ROS in CRS https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS/CSS326#Dual_Boot

Well, it means i can normally use this switch with ROS, i can control it via winbox/ssh/api/snmp and i m able to make bridges?

Thanks for answer
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: Is possible to boot into ROS in CSS326-24G-2S+RM

Fri Mar 22, 2019 9:02 pm

The CSS is SwitchOS only. The CRS is dual boot. In my opinion, if you need a switch, buy a switch - if you need a router, buy a router. I have five MT devices running Switch OS and very happy with them.



Sent from a $&@#% iPhone using Tapatalk
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim
 
Kurosudo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:21 pm

Re: Is possible to boot into ROS in CSS326-24G-2S+RM

Fri Mar 22, 2019 10:26 pm

Hello k6ccc,
Thanks so much for answer. But what means Dual Boot? What ROS features have this switch after booting into this mode.
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: Is possible to boot into ROS in CSS326-24G-2S+RM

Fri Mar 22, 2019 10:56 pm

OK, now on a PC with a real keyboard instead of my #$%&* iPhone, so able to give a longer answer...

The CSS326-24G-2S+RM can only run SwitchOS, whereas the CRS326-24G-2S+RM can be setup to boot into either RouterOS or SwitchOS. When the CRS326-24G-2S+RM boots into RouterOS it has full router functionality as a router, and when booted into SwitchOS, it is just a switch. I have two CSS326-24G-2S+RM switches plus a CRS326-24G-2S+RM that operates in SwitchOS. Since the CRS326-24G-2S+RM is operating in SwitchOS, it functions exactly like the two CSS326-24G-2S+RM switches. I also have a RB260GS and a CSS106-5G-1S that both use SwitchOS. The only difference is that the RB260GS becuase it's older hardware is running SwOS version 1.16 whereas the others are running version 2.8 or 2.9.

One more note about the CRS326-24G-2S+RM when operating as a router using RouterOS. It's a fairly low powered router. If you are doing a lot with it, the router will run out of CPU capability.

In case you are wondering why I bought a CRS326-24G-2S+RM to use exclusively as a switch, I didn't. I ordered a CSS326-24G-2S+RM, and the vendor accidentally sent a CRS326-24G-2S+RM in error. When I contacted them about the error, they decided that it was not worth the effort to ship a replacement and have me ship the incorrect one back; and they told me to just keep the CRS326-24G-2S+RM.
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests