Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ccigas
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 3:41 am

CRS328 SwitchOS Not Working

Fri Feb 07, 2020 4:41 am

Hi everyone, I am trying out SwOS on my CRS328 and whenever I change from RouterOS to SwOS and reboot, I can never get access again to the switch but everything passes through fine. The CRS328 even gives my CRS326 an IP address and allows it to connect to the internet. Even all the devices I randomly connect to the CRS328 is allowed the normal IP it usually gets despite having any VLANs configured on the switch. I also checked my pfSense logs and pfSense is attempting to give it an IP but its not accepting.

I am trying to see if WinBox sees anything for the switch, whether its a MAC or IP and it gets nothing. I cant even set my PCs IP to something in the 192.168.88.0 /24 range and attempt to connect to the normal 88.1 or even 88.2 and get no response.

Not really sure where to go from here since I reset the switch multiple times using the button on the device. Any one have any ideas as to why its not getting an IP?
 
Aerowinder
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 4:09 pm

Re: CRS328 SwitchOS Not Working

Fri Feb 07, 2020 6:40 am

SwOS settings are separate from ROS, no inheritance. SwOS will pull DHCP by default. It is actually DHCP with fallback to 192.168.88.1. So unplug it from upstream DHCP server to force it to get the default IP, then try to connect again.
 
ccigas
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 3:41 am

Re: CRS328 SwitchOS Not Working

Fri Feb 07, 2020 1:43 pm

Yup I understand it's different but haven't tried that yet which seems like it'll work. I'll try it out and see what happens.

Do you suggest setting a static IP since it's not getting a DHCP address
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3745
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: CRS328 SwitchOS Not Working

Fri Feb 07, 2020 8:41 pm

Do you suggest setting a static IP since it's not getting a DHCP address

IMHO all base network gear (which includes routers, switches, APs, essential servers, ...) should be configured with static addresses (no, static DHCP lease doesn't count as one) ... if everything breaks apart, you really want to have management connectivity even if DHCP server is borked.
BR,
Metod
 
Exxonen
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 8:59 pm

Re: CRS328 SwitchOS Not Working

Thu Feb 13, 2020 8:33 pm

...
I am trying to see if WinBox sees anything for the switch, whether its a MAC or IP and it gets nothing. I cant even set my PCs IP to something in the 192.168.88.0 /24 range and attempt to connect to the normal 88.1 or even 88.2 and get no response.
...
I believe swos is not managed by winbox. it's web managed

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests