Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
incertia
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 8:49 am

SwOS DHCP over specific VLAN

Thu Mar 12, 2020 8:52 am

Is there any specific way to force my CSS326 to live on a specific management VLAN and acquire its address via DHCP that way? It may be hackable by setting the default VLAN ID of the switch interconnect ports to the specific VLAN but that feels like a hack.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5945
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: SwOS DHCP over specific VLAN

Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:32 pm

I would keep the vland default ID at 1 on all devices and use specific other vlans for all traffic including a basehome vlan or a management LAN.
I have found that I have to assign the lanip on devices manually. Not sure how to ensure auto assignment of the current LAN in any other way???
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
incertia
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 8:49 am

Re: SwOS DHCP over specific VLAN

Sat Mar 14, 2020 11:44 pm

I think it would just be helpful to know (be documented somewhere) or configure which VLAN the switch lives on. It is probably VLAN 1. This may be because I set "Allow from VLAN: 1" though.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: EdPa and 6 guests