Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
cspears1028
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:29 pm

Design Assistance

Fri Mar 27, 2020 4:37 pm

Hi All,
I have the following infrastructure

-Palo Alto FW
-CRS328-24P-4S-RM (another one available, if best design)
-2 x CRS317-1G-16S+RM
-3 x ESXi hosts
-Storage with dual controllers

My VLANs are: Management, LAN, Storage, vMotion

I was planning to run all switches in SwitchOS for maximum CPU. I read this was preferred for performance if I didn't need any router protocols. My goal is to have maximum throughput with HA. I would like the full 20GB between the ESXi hosts for vMotion and the full 20GB between hosts and storage. I separate the LAN traffic out to another NIC because I figure that is all that needed to traverse all the way up to the Palo and would ultimately be throttled down to the 1GB throughput on the FW uplink.

Questions:
1. Is this the best design?
2. Can I get the full 20GB throughput if the NICs go to 2 different CRS317 switches, or should I use just one CRS317?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2309
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: Design Assistance

Fri Mar 27, 2020 6:00 pm

I cant tell if it is the Best, but it is Good...
 
cspears1028
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:29 pm

Re: Design Assistance

Fri Mar 27, 2020 6:29 pm

Thanks Zacharias,
Do you know if I'd get the full 20GB of throughput from the 2 10GB links across the 2 switches? I've not worked with Mirotik before, so I'm not sure how to create one channel for the 2 ports if the switches aren't stacked.
 
User avatar
jvanhambelgium
Member
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 9:29 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Design Assistance

Fri Mar 27, 2020 6:30 pm

> My goal is to have maximum throughput with HA

So where is the secondary Palo and secondary 328 ?
Is the 328 acting as L3 and the 317's solely L2 connectivity ?
Palo is connected to Internet/ISP ? Secondary circuit ?
 
cspears1028
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:29 pm

Re: Design Assistance

Fri Mar 27, 2020 6:36 pm

I will have a second Palo and SDwan, but for now, I'm just focusing on max throughput and HA from servers to storage. It's a brand new environment, and I'm waiting for fiber for the secondary link.

I was going to run all switches as SwitchOS as I read that maximized CPU cycles, so it would L2 on all switches.
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2309
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: Design Assistance

Fri Mar 27, 2020 10:48 pm

I would perform a 802.3ad Link Bonding Between the switces that would provide me both fault tolerance and division of the traffic...
Just notice here that 802.3ad will not give you the sum of 10+10=20 Gbit..
Also this mode is supported by ESXi as well in case you want to use it there as well...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests