Page 1 of 1

RB260GS limitations

Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 11:44 am
by LaurentB
Dear all,

as far as I understood, the switch RB260GS is based on a Atheros AR 8327 switch chip. Is it correct ?

If yes, I wonder if the VLAN limitations stated for the Router OS devices with this chip applies ? ( the following ones : "QCA8337 and Atheros8327 switch chips ignore the vlan-header property and uses the default-vlan-id property to determine which ports are access ports. The vlan-header is set to leave-as-is and cannot be changed while the default-vlan-id property should only be used on access ports to tag all ingress traffic").

Or these features have been implemented at a software level ?

Same question about offloading when enabling VLAN filtering / IGMP snooping.

Are these limitation described somewhere ? There is no mention of offloading in SwOS. Everything is performed at software level ? In the case all these limitations have been implemented at the software level, what switching rate may it achieve ?

Thanks,

Laurent

Re: RB260GS limitations

Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 7:37 pm
by Zacharias
Only CRS3xx support hardware offload allong with Bridge VLAN filtering...
For your RB260 to handle VLANs in hardware level Switch VLAN Filtering must be used...
So your configuration must be like here, Other Devices with built in Switch Chip https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual: ... witch_chip

Yes RB260 has this chip, AR8327...

Re: RB260GS limitations

Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:09 pm
by LaurentB
So your configuration must be like here, Other Devices with built in Switch Chip https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual: ... witch_chip

Yes RB260 has this chip, AR8327...
yep, but I do not have access to such level of configuration with SwOS.

Re: RB260GS limitations

Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:40 pm
by Zacharias

Re: RB260GS limitations

Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 2:31 pm
by LaurentB
Thanks.

Is-it possible to check if an interface is offloaded or not ?

Laurent

Re: RB260GS limitations

Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 6:16 pm
by Zacharias
On RB260 VLANs are working on a hardware Level (Switch VLAN filtering), so you don't have the Bridge Hardware offload feature because you do it on a switch level already...

Re: RB260GS limitations

Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 11:55 pm
by LaurentB
Thanks for you answer.

My last question : if I activate the IGMP Snooping functionality, the bridge will remain offloaded ?

Thanks,

Laurent

Re: RB260GS limitations

Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:16 am
by Zacharias

Re: RB260GS limitations

Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2020 5:35 pm
by anav
Hi Zach lets take a look at the links and information theirin.
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS/RB2 ... AN-Example

The first solution I disagree with.
VLAN TAB
{INGRESS}
VLAN Mode - For Trunk Ports, I believe ENABLED is a better option than strict, leaving STRICT for access ports.
VLAN Recieve - For Trunk Ports, I believe ANY is best, and for access ports, ONLY UNTAGGED.
{EGRESS)
VLAN Header - For Trunk ports, I believe LEAVE AS IS, is the way to go and for access ports, ALWAYS STRIP

VLAN TAB (this is where the example is really wonky).
This is very basic and that is if a port is a member of a vlan number identified at the far left, the entry is LEAVE AS IS, otherwise, if no affiliation to a VLAN ID, then the entry is NOT A MEMBER. In summary, an incoming trunk port probably has all VLANS as "leave as is", whereas access ports only have one entry of 'leave as is' and all other entries for that port are 'not a member'.

Re: RB260GS limitations

Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2020 6:37 pm
by Zacharias
Sounds ok...