Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
andycaps
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2020 5:13 pm

CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Fri Oct 02, 2020 5:24 pm

My new CSS610-8G-2S+IN has just arrived. I am wondering that the device comes along with a release candidate firmware. It can not be updated automatically, also it is not listed in download section. Any idea how to proceed ?

Regards,
Andreas
 
andycaps
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2020 5:13 pm

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Fri Oct 02, 2020 8:43 pm

VLAN mode 'enabled' is missing

VLAN ID in Hosts view is missing
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Sat Oct 03, 2020 6:15 am

Go to the Mikrotic downloads page: https://mikrotik.com/download
Download the appropriate file and do a manual upgrade (near the bottom of the Upgrade tab).
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission

Warning: I know enough to be dangerous...

Jim
 
andycaps
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2020 5:13 pm

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Sat Oct 03, 2020 10:09 am

Thank you for the hint. I am quite familiar with that download page using it for my other devices and again the firmware for the CSS610 is not available there. As Mikrotik mentioned, each model has it's own firmware. But I appreciate getting a direct link for that file. At the moment it's simply anoying and disappointing for a switch without supporting VLAN! I am thinking about to return this device.
Andreas
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Sat Oct 03, 2020 10:33 pm

I had not really paid attention to the model of switch that you are using. Apparently that is a very new product and the software download page has not been updated with the new model. As this is a user forum, you might be better off sending a message to support@mikrotik.com That will get directly to people who can fix the web page.
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission

Warning: I know enough to be dangerous...

Jim
 
User avatar
sterling
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 8:55 am
Location: Utah
Contact:

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Tue Oct 06, 2020 8:52 pm

Was just going to say the same thing.

Just got a handful of CSS610-1Gi-7R-2S+ in, and it's on 2.12rc2

Can't get VLAN management working correctly.

Anyone get any response from Mikrotik about this yet?

I'm wondering if the firmware really should have been labeled like 2.13rc2?
 
andycaps
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2020 5:13 pm

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Wed Oct 07, 2020 4:57 pm

I got a message from support:

Thank you for contacting MikroTik Support.
Currently 2.12 version is not released for CSS610 and 2.12rc2 is the newest available.

Please use vlan mode "strict", there is no vlan mode "enabled" for this switch , documentation is corrected as well.

Frankly said, I am confused about this, even connecting different switch models with or without this option. Should be consistent within SWOS on all platforms.

Andreas
 
biomesh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:25 pm

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Wed Oct 07, 2020 5:25 pm

SWOS in my experience, is different on every hardware platform. The crs3xx/css3xx series are the closest to "normal" switch config options/interface. I prefer routeros on the switches since many times swos has limitations and the releases are far and few between. I know that this specific model is swos only though.
 
aviper
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:48 pm

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Fri Oct 09, 2020 2:55 pm

Same here, currently testing netPower Lite 7R (which should be the same switch in different form factor):
- The version of the fw is 2.12rc2
- The snmp is v1 only, and is read-only, for now I cannot make any configuration from the snmp;
- When I power-off the unit, and power it on, I'm still logged in the web, which is strange ...

For at least minimum so this unit can be placed in production, we must be able to:
1) Read everything by snmp;
2) Enable/disable port by some sort of system (SNMP/API/CLI and etc.)
3) Read port states by SNMP (up/down, speed ...)
4) Change port description by SNMP
5) Change vlan by SNMP
6) Read Reverse PoE and PoE info by snmp.

If this is done, than this unit can be used in production environment. No network manager (ISP or corp) should use any unit without option to manage it somehow or to be managed fast and versalite by their staff.
The netPower Lite 7R is in outdoor case and is GPEN advertised, so it is targeted at ISPs, not to home users. No ISP is going to use it without proper management. I hope MT, are going to release new firmware and features soon.
 
User avatar
spippan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:00 pm

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Wed Oct 28, 2020 5:34 pm

got my unit today and VLANs not woking properly
only untagged traffic is handled correctly ....

i wanted to replace a HP switch or a CRS with this unit (CRS replacement because i only need a lightwieght SwOS instead routerOS at this point)

@mikrotik ... how to use VLANs correctly on CSS610-8G-2S+ ??
---
raiffeisen data center infrastructure and security
...stay curious
 
User avatar
xvo
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1140
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Wed Oct 28, 2020 5:36 pm

@mikrotik ... how to use VLANs correctly on CSS610-8G-2S+ ??
Why bother reading the thread two messages up from your own...
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=167049#p821159
 
User avatar
sterling
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 8:55 am
Location: Utah
Contact:

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Sat Oct 31, 2020 1:47 am

CSS610 2.12 or 2.13, WHEN???

These units are unusable until we get the solid version 2.12 or 2.13.

Is the SWOS team working on this?
 
User avatar
koffeiniker
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 1:24 am
Location: Germany

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Sat Oct 31, 2020 12:34 pm

- When I power-off the unit, and power it on, I'm still logged in the web, which is strange ...
this is not too strange. I learned that mikrotik is not using a typical session key, but relies on HTTP authentication. So the browser sends your login credentials silently on every page. This is not too efficient, but the GUI of a switch does not need to be. On the other hand this pretty comfortable and on mikrotik's side easy to implement. Also it offers a means to use the gui as a kind of API as well
 
ashoka
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2020 11:08 pm

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Wed Nov 04, 2020 11:39 pm

CSS610 2.12 or 2.13, WHEN???

These units are unusable until we get the solid version 2.12 or 2.13.

Is the SWOS team working on this?
Same situation here.
VLAN is unusable and the example setup in the wiki is not reproducible in this model.
I know this is a new product but it is supposed to be shipped with a well tested firmware.
 
beeonline
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:47 am

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Thu Jan 21, 2021 12:54 pm

2 months since then and same problem!
 
User avatar
spippan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:00 pm

Re: CSS610-8G-2S+IN - SWOS 2.12rc2 Upgrade missing

Thu Jan 21, 2021 6:43 pm

@mikrotik ... how to use VLANs correctly on CSS610-8G-2S+ ??
Why bother reading the thread two messages up from your own...
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=167049#p821159
oh, much thanks ... i've read that anyways.
got it sorted out ... still this unit is not usable
sold it and got a ubiquiti edgeswitch instead
---
raiffeisen data center infrastructure and security
...stay curious

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests