Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
clifford64
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 1:11 am

SwOS Jumbo Frames

Sun Oct 11, 2020 6:45 pm

I currently have a CRS305-1G-4S+IN switch which I am using for iSCSI in my home lab. I currently have it set up in RouterOS mode because this is the only mode where I can configure MTU. My ISCSI performance is sub-par at times and I am just trying to diagnose what might be causing it. I have heard the performance might be slightly better in SwOS mode due to it being lighter.

My question is, does SwOS mode automatically accept jumbo frames? For example, I have my ESXi hosts configured with the MTU of 9000 when connected to the switch. After making this change, I did receive a slight increase in performance when it was set up with RouterOS. Or does SwOS not accept jumbo frames at all and I am stuck with RouterOS if I need to use Jumbo Frames?
 
clifford64
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 1:11 am

Re: SwOS Jumbo Frames

Sun Oct 11, 2020 6:47 pm

In case anyone comes across this, what worked for me was setting actual MTU to 9000, L2MTU to 9216, and then max L2MTU is auto set to 10218
 
BenU
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 7:12 pm

Re: SwOS Jumbo Frames

Thu Dec 24, 2020 7:19 pm

In case anyone comes across this, what worked for me was setting actual MTU to 9000, L2MTU to 9216, and then max L2MTU is auto set to 10218
I have the CRS309 would this be the same possibly? im trying to set 2 vlans to use jumbo frames for my iSCSI and vMotion vlans but get get an error that i cant set the mtu (6) on either interface... i am running RouterOS v6.47.8 stable.

any thoughts because i cant seem to find anything on this.


TIA

Ben

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests