Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
nafeasonto
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2020 2:56 am

Can SwitchOS pass VLAN's to other MikroTik switches?

Fri Jan 22, 2021 3:39 pm

I am curious can SwitchOS pass VLAN's through to other Mikrotik switches running SwitchOS as well, or does the main switch need to be Layer 3 in order for that to work?
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: Can SwitchOS pass VLAN's to other MikroTik switches?

Fri Jan 22, 2021 5:31 pm

God, I hope so! I am running VLANs on every one of my Mikrotik switches. I have five MT switches here at home, and lots of VLANs. I would hate to find that what I have been doing for years doesn't work :)
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission

Warning: I know enough to be dangerous...

Jim
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6133
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Can SwitchOS pass VLAN's to other MikroTik switches?

Fri Feb 19, 2021 3:57 pm

Haha, no wonder California has power issues, K6ccc ur hogging all the power! ;-)
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
User avatar
memelchenkov
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Can SwitchOS pass VLAN's to other MikroTik switches?

Fri Feb 19, 2021 4:00 pm

VLAN is layer 2 technology, no need L3 switch.
 
User avatar
elevendroids
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 3:05 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Can SwitchOS pass VLAN's to other MikroTik switches?

Fri Feb 19, 2021 4:23 pm

VLAN tagging is standardized (IEEE 802.1q) - it wouldn't make any sense for Mikrotik (or any other vendor) to reinvent the wheel.
Also, SwOS relies on purely HW-accelerated L2 processing - the switch chip takes care of all VLAN tagging/filtering, ACLs etc, and the small external ARM (or other arch) CPU is used only for the trimmed down Web GUI, configuration management, maybe SNMP as well (it's definitely not running Linux).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests