Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
SleepyDaemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:10 pm

CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:48 pm

Hi I am running a 5 tower daisy chain network with a combination of 60Ghz ptp links and I use CRS112 on the sites to connect the equipment on the sites together.
My setup is a s follows
Ospf Routing
MPLS
VPLS tunnels to main router for DHCP which is a Cloudcore.
I get around 1Gbps duplex on my links but when I test from switch to switch my speeds only reach round 100Mbps and then the processor runs at 100%
I understand that this is a switch and that the processor is small, but is there some way that I can configure two ports as a trunk to allow two dishes to connect to each other for more throughput from tower to tower. I am not worried about the throughput for the tower so much but the tower to tower speeds are important..
 
User avatar
memelchenkov
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:00 pm
Contact:

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Fri Feb 12, 2021 2:08 pm

It seems, you somewhere lose HW Offload so your CPU reach 100%.
Check this manual for your model:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:C ... s_examples
The main idea is you must use switch-chip hardware features to avoid using CPU at all. You cannot really route traffic using this Switch, only for some basic needs, because you'll reach 100% CPU very fast in this case.
Also not sure how do you measure switch-to-switch speed. If you use embedded btest, it can't reach 1Gbps on this model, but it will be more than 100 Mbps. If you are limited to 100 Mbps, check the cable link speed, are you sure it's 1 Gbps.
 
SleepyDaemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:10 pm

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Fri Feb 12, 2021 3:43 pm

MMmm Yea thats what I was thinking. so yes I have got all my ports on Gb but my setup works as follows 172.16.8.1/29-------60Ghz Ptp Link-------172.16.8.2/29 testing from 8.1- 8.2 gives me max 130Mbps. So I dont mind if I can only get 10mpbs on the rest of the ports but the backhaul should give me more. What I have is this 172.16.8.1/29-------60Ghz Ptp Link-------172.16.8.2/29--Router--172.16.8.9/29-------60Ghz Ptp Link-------172.16.8.10/29. I think what I should have is something more like this 172.16.8.1/29 Eth2-------60Ghz Ptp Link-------(Eth1 172.16.8.2/29--Switch--172.16.8.2/29 Eth2)-------60Ghz Ptp Link------- Eth1 172.16.8.3/29. Or something like that but I have no idea how to make this happen, or am I understanding this wrong?
 
User avatar
memelchenkov
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:00 pm
Contact:

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Fri Feb 12, 2021 3:55 pm

Sorry, it looks like a whole project. I even did not pay attention that the topic was published in SwOS area (got there by "Active Topics" page so have not looked where I am :), I never use SwOS on managed switches myself so even can't advise anything.
 
SleepyDaemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:10 pm

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Fri Feb 12, 2021 4:10 pm

Sure no problem. I just hope someone will be able to point me in the right direction. :P Thanks bud.
 
mada3k
Member
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Sat Feb 13, 2021 12:05 pm

CRS112 can't run SwOS, so you must be running RouterOS.

If you have 100% CPU usage it sounds like it's not using the hardware switch properly. CRS1xx/CRS2xx can be a lite tricky to configure.

Do a /interface bridge port print and verify that the ports are "H".
CCR/CRS/hEX/wAP • Ansible • NetXMS
 
SleepyDaemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:10 pm

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Sat Feb 13, 2021 9:21 pm

Ok so this is my printout
As you can see this one is still completely vanilla.
INTERFACE BRIDGE HW PVID PRIORITY PATH-COST INTERNAL-PATH-COST HORIZON
0 H ;;; defconf ether1 bridge yes 1 0x80 10 10 none
1 H ;;; defconf ether2 bridge yes 1 0x80 10 10 none
2 I H ;;; defconf ether3 bridge yes 1 0x80 10 10 none
3 I H ;;; defconf ether4 bridge yes 1 0x80 10 10 none
4 I H ;;; defconf ether5 bridge yes 1 0x80 10 10 none
5 I H ;;; defconf ether6 bridge yes 1 0x80 10 10 none
6 I H ;;; defconf ether7 bridge yes 1 0x80 10 10 none
7 H ;;; defconf ether8 bridge yes 1 0x80 10 10 none
8 I H ;;; defconf sfp9 bridge yes 1 0x80 10 10 none
9 I H ;;; defconf sfp10 bridge yes 1 0x80 10 10 none
10 I H ;;; defconf sfp11 bridge yes 1 0x80 10 10 none
11 I H ;;; defconf sfp12 bridge yes 1 0x80 10 10 none
Last edited by SleepyDaemon on Sat Feb 13, 2021 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
erlinden
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Sat Feb 13, 2021 9:27 pm

Better share a complete configuration, can you please share yours (by /export hide-sensitive file=anynameyoulike)?
And...did you check the URL posted before: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:C ... s_examples
Because that exactly describes how this CRS112 should be configured.
First the problem, then the solution
 
SleepyDaemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:10 pm

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Sat Feb 13, 2021 9:31 pm

# feb/13/2021 21:31:04 by RouterOS 6.49beta11
# software id = LV15-LPPP
#
# model = CRS112-8P-4S
# serial number = D25F0C73E322
/interface bridge
add name=BR2
add name=BRCL
add name=Lo
add admin-mac=48:8F:5A:DD:0F:19 auto-mac=no comment=defconf disabled=yes \
name=bridge
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] mtu=1524 name=Eth1HS05-HS04
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] mtu=1524 name=Eth2AP
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] mtu=1524 name=Eth3Host
set [ find default-name=ether8 ] mtu=1524 name=Eth8HS05-HS06
set [ find default-name=sfp9 ] auto-negotiation=no
set [ find default-name=sfp11 ] auto-negotiation=no
/interface pppoe-client
add add-default-route=yes interface=BRCL name=pppoe-out1 user=arjunrad
/interface vpls
add disabled=no l2mtu=1500 mac-address=02:85:DA:E8:7A:68 name=vpls-Papa \
remote-peer=172.16.254.254 vpls-id=1:5
/interface vlan
add disabled=yes interface=Eth1HS05-HS04 name=Mn vlan-id=69
add disabled=yes interface=BRCL mtu=1496 name=vlan1 vlan-id=52
add disabled=yes interface=sfp9 name=vlan2 vlan-id=52
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip pool
add name=dhcp_pool0 ranges=192.168.55.2-192.168.55.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp_pool0 disabled=no interface=BR2 name=dhcp1
/routing ospf instance
set [ find default=yes ] redistribute-connected=as-type-1 \
redistribute-other-ospf=as-type-1 router-id=172.16.254.250
/user group
set full policy="local,telnet,ssh,ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,winbox,pas\
sword,web,sniff,sensitive,api,romon,dude,tikapp"
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=Eth1HS05-HS04
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=Eth2AP
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=Eth3Host
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=ether4
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=ether5
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=ether6
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=ether7
add bridge=BR2 comment=defconf interface=Eth8HS05-HS06
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=sfp9
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=sfp10
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=sfp11
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=sfp12
add bridge=BRCL interface=vpls-Papa
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=all
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.78/24 comment=defconf interface=bridge network=\
192.168.88.0
add address=192.168.55.1/24 interface=BR2 network=192.168.55.0
add address=172.16.8.28/29 interface=Eth1HS05-HS04 network=172.16.8.24
add address=172.16.254.250 interface=Lo network=172.16.254.250
add address=192.168.1.12/24 interface=Eth1HS05-HS04 network=192.168.1.0
add address=192.168.46.1/24 interface=vlan2 network=192.168.46.0
/ip dhcp-client
add disabled=no interface=BRCL
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.55.0/24 dns-server=8.8.8.8 gateway=192.168.55.1
/ip firewall nat
# no interface
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=bridge
/ip route
add disabled=yes distance=1 gateway=172.16.8.1
/mpls ldp
set enabled=yes lsr-id=172.16.254.250 transport-address=172.16.254.250
/mpls ldp interface
add interface=Eth1HS05-HS04
/routing ospf interface
add interface=Eth1HS05-HS04 network-type=point-to-point
/routing ospf network
add area=backbone network=172.16.8.24/29
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Africa/Johannesburg
/system identity
set name=SwHS05Green
/system package update
set channel=testing
 
SleepyDaemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:10 pm

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Sat Feb 13, 2021 9:34 pm

# feb/13/2021 21:31:04 by RouterOS 6.49beta11
# software id = LV15-LPPP
#
# model = CRS112-8P-4S
# serial number = D25F0C73E322
/interface bridge
add name=BR2
add name=BRCL
add name=Lo
add admin-mac=48:8F:5A:DD:0F:19 auto-mac=no comment=defconf disabled=yes \
name=bridge
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] mtu=1524 name=Eth1HS05-HS04
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] mtu=1524 name=Eth2AP
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] mtu=1524 name=Eth3Host
set [ find default-name=ether8 ] mtu=1524 name=Eth8HS05-HS06
set [ find default-name=sfp9 ] auto-negotiation=no
set [ find default-name=sfp11 ] auto-negotiation=no
/interface pppoe-client
add add-default-route=yes interface=BRCL name=pppoe-out1 user=arjunrad
/interface vpls
add disabled=no l2mtu=1500 mac-address=02:85:DA:E8:7A:68 name=vpls-Papa \
remote-peer=172.16.254.254 vpls-id=1:5
/interface vlan
add disabled=yes interface=Eth1HS05-HS04 name=Mn vlan-id=69
add disabled=yes interface=BRCL mtu=1496 name=vlan1 vlan-id=52
add disabled=yes interface=sfp9 name=vlan2 vlan-id=52
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip pool
add name=dhcp_pool0 ranges=192.168.55.2-192.168.55.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp_pool0 disabled=no interface=BR2 name=dhcp1
/routing ospf instance
set [ find default=yes ] redistribute-connected=as-type-1 \
redistribute-other-ospf=as-type-1 router-id=172.16.254.250
/user group
set full policy="local,telnet,ssh,ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,winbox,pas\
sword,web,sniff,sensitive,api,romon,dude,tikapp"
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=Eth1HS05-HS04
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=Eth2AP
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=Eth3Host
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=ether4
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=ether5
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=ether6
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=ether7
add bridge=BR2 comment=defconf interface=Eth8HS05-HS06
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=sfp9
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=sfp10
add bridge=BRCL comment=defconf interface=sfp11
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=sfp12
add bridge=BRCL interface=vpls-Papa
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=all
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.78/24 comment=defconf interface=bridge network=\
192.168.88.0
add address=192.168.55.1/24 interface=BR2 network=192.168.55.0
add address=172.16.8.28/29 interface=Eth1HS05-HS04 network=172.16.8.24
add address=172.16.254.250 interface=Lo network=172.16.254.250
add address=192.168.1.12/24 interface=Eth1HS05-HS04 network=192.168.1.0
add address=192.168.46.1/24 interface=vlan2 network=192.168.46.0
/ip dhcp-client
add disabled=no interface=BRCL
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.55.0/24 dns-server=8.8.8.8 gateway=192.168.55.1
/ip firewall nat
# no interface
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=bridge
/ip route
add disabled=yes distance=1 gateway=172.16.8.1
/mpls ldp
set enabled=yes lsr-id=172.16.254.250 transport-address=172.16.254.250
/mpls ldp interface
add interface=Eth1HS05-HS04
/routing ospf interface
add interface=Eth1HS05-HS04 network-type=point-to-point
/routing ospf network
add area=backbone network=172.16.8.24/29
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Africa/Johannesburg
/system identity
set name=SwHS05Green
/system package update
set channel=testing

Flags: X - disabled, I - inactive, D - dynamic, H - hw-offload
# INTERFACE BRIDGE HW PVID PR PATH-COST INTERNA... HORIZON
0 ;;; defconf
Eth1HS05-HS04 bridge yes 1 0x 10 10 none
1 H ;;; defconf
Eth2AP BRCL yes 1 0x 10 10 none
2 H ;;; defconf
Eth3Host BRCL yes 1 0x 10 10 none
3 I H ;;; defconf
ether4 BRCL yes 1 0x 10 10 none
4 I H ;;; defconf
ether5 BRCL yes 1 0x 10 10 none
5 I H ;;; defconf
ether6 BRCL yes 1 0x 10 10 none
6 H ;;; defconf
ether7 BRCL yes 1 0x 10 10 none
7 H ;;; defconf
Eth8HS05-HS06 BR2 yes 1 0x 10 10 none
8 H ;;; defconf
sfp9 BRCL yes 1 0x 10 10 none
9 I ;;; defconf
sfp10 bridge yes 1 0x 10 10 none
10 I H ;;; defconf
sfp11 BRCL yes 1 0x 10 10 none
11 I ;;; defconf
sfp12 bridge yes 1 0x 10 10 none
12 vpls-Papa BRCL 1 0x 10 10 none
 
SleepyDaemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:10 pm

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Sat Feb 13, 2021 9:36 pm

I am getting the same issue on all switches runnig bwTest from each device to its immediate neighbour.
 
Dude2048
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Sat Feb 13, 2021 10:14 pm

Bw test is cpu intensive. So slow speeds are expected. Use iperf with a laptop. Gives better results.
 
mada3k
Member
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Sat Feb 13, 2021 11:17 pm

So you are running both PPPoE, OSPF, MPLS and multiple bridges? Sorry, it's simply not designed for that with it's 400Mhz CPU. For the management but not for bulk traffic.

You need to setup proper switching under /interface ethernet switch to be able to reach full speed, but routing & mpls performance will always be low. Also bwTest is very CPU-intensive. The switch-chip will happily push many Gbps of L2-traffic without any CPU usage if done right.

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=165299
CCR/CRS/hEX/wAP • Ansible • NetXMS
 
SleepyDaemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:10 pm

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Sun Feb 14, 2021 11:41 am

Ok yes that is what I thought the problem would be. So ok yes BWTest is layer three thus CPU. Yes this spesific router has a DHCP server for a section of the network which will come off today as we are installing routers on the network behind this device. The pppoe was simply a client that is disabled I used ti to test my pppoe server over the VPLS for my fiber clients. So what Im thinking is that I need to bridge two ports for the backhaul links. and then I should have my VPLS tunnels just for the APs I realize that this would then still only give me 100mbps on the APs which will then be limited by the processor, but I should then have the backhaul links running through the switch chip meaning that I should have maximum capacity for my links running though to the back of then network. Is this correct? My concern is that I "Obviously?" don't want a completely bridged network as then I would have packets being sent all over the network from everywhere as nothing knows where the endpoint is. Or am I understanding this wrong. I suppose considering I am using the LO bridge to build the OSPF I can simply just make backhaul ports part of that bridge thereby making the APs routable. Also one needs to ask is the cost of routing lower or higher than the cost of unrouted traffic flying everywhere. I think it all come down to does vlan taggs minimize traffic flying everywhere by traffic being "routed" to their designated endpoints or simply to switches with relevant tags esp if each area of the network has its own vlans, or is it still a matter of such packets being sent all over and only devices with such tags answering the call to traffic relevant to these taggs but everyone hears it but discards the packets marked with irrelevant vlan tags. Could someone just clarify this for me so I can make an educated decision on steps needed to proceed.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5409
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Sun Feb 14, 2021 12:42 pm

When ports are members of a bridge, the frames are forwarded via select egress ports depending on (learned or statically set) MAC table. Which means that most frames egress only relevant port and only a few (broadcast, multicast and yet unknown unicast destination) frames are egressing all member ports.
Adding VLANs into the mix, if switch/bridge is configured properly, adds additional constraints for frame passing a switch: 1) frame gets dropped on ingress if it's tagged with wrong VLAN ID and 2) can only egress through port member of frame's VLAN. So this is kind of splitting a switch to several smaller (virtual) switches. All of this includes untagged frames (conceptually you can think of them as a yet another VLAN).

Now whether this helps in your particular case or not I can't tell ... as I don't fully understand your use case. If you'd like to get a better feedback here, I suggest you to post a diagram of your network layout and (most importantly) describe requirements without considering your current setup (as it seems to be sub-optimal anyway).
BR,
Metod
 
SleepyDaemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:10 pm

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Sun Feb 14, 2021 2:12 pm

Ok so from what I gather, what you are saying is we could just do the whole thing with VLans instead of using OSPF. So basically I just need to add the vlans that are relevant to an interface somewhere on the network to all the interfaces leading to said interface and I will thus route traffic through the network to the given interface without leaking through to the rest of the network.
 
mada3k
Member
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Sun Feb 14, 2021 7:00 pm

A working switched network will only switch the traffic on the paths intended. But the drawbacks of a L2 switched network is that you can't use multiple links or load-balancing.

Give us a network diagram and what you are trying to solve.
CCR/CRS/hEX/wAP • Ansible • NetXMS
 
SleepyDaemon
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:10 pm

Re: CRS 112 Slow Throughput

Mon Feb 15, 2021 9:43 am

Cool will make one thanks. Get back to you shortly.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rcmcronny and 2 guests