Community discussions

 
User avatar
winet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Indonesia

16/32/48 ports

Sat Nov 05, 2011 1:16 pm

will mikrotik make SwOS with 16/32/48 ports someday? is there any plan soon already?
 
yogii
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:38 am
Location: Batam, Indonesia

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sat Nov 05, 2011 4:17 pm

i will buy it soon. 8)
 
User avatar
winet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Indonesia

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sun Nov 06, 2011 8:49 am

i will buy it soon. 8)
i depend on the price :lol: but as usual, mikrotik's price range is affordable
 
yogii
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:38 am
Location: Batam, Indonesia

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sun Nov 06, 2011 1:52 pm

yes me too, therefore i like Mikrotik RouterBoard, and also full featured and very friendly. :wink:
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Mon Nov 07, 2011 3:44 pm

ok, working on it
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
yogii
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:38 am
Location: Batam, Indonesia

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:19 pm

ok, working on it
horray.. :D

thanks MikroTik.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:15 am

ok, working on it
horray.. :D

thanks MikroTik.
but no promises! I'm just saying we will consider the possibilities
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
yogii
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:38 am
Location: Batam, Indonesia

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:19 am

no problem Mr.Normis, but at least mikrotik have plan about producing switchs with many variants. :)

thanks in advance.
 
log
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:37 am

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:57 pm

I prefer 8p - that would be something.
 
rjickity
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:40 am
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:23 pm

I will buy a higher density switch definately! A rackmount 24 port switch would be perfect

just make sure you have ample ASIC's mikrotik ;)
 
User avatar
winet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Indonesia

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Fri Nov 11, 2011 2:15 am

ok, working on it
8) to hear this. if it is affordable, gonna change all my unmanageable switches into SwOS
 
markom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 10:42 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sun Feb 19, 2012 2:16 pm

Is there something new about 16/24/48? Canceled? Will be, when?
Something approximate, April, May, September, 2012, 2013?
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1962
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sun Feb 19, 2012 3:20 pm

RB780GUP will be a nice choice for base stations. Now I must use a gigabit switch+2xRB750UP, 3 devices.
 
riaanhuman
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:10 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:26 pm

Anymore news on the 16/24/48 port switches?
 
User avatar
hassibi
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:58 am
Location: Iran,Kerman

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sun Aug 05, 2012 10:28 am

mikrotik must have a powerfull switch :-)
 
Jeanluck
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 7:07 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:31 pm

250GS is great!, I buy a lot of them...
But I need more than five ports in several cases, so I must buy not Mikrotik :(
I hope that soon there with more than 5 ports ;)
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:49 am

if you need a 26 Port GBE router you might consider this device for RouterOS
Axiomtek NA-550: http://axiomtek.com/products/ViewProduct.asp?view=928
 
vadyalex
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:03 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Mon Aug 13, 2012 1:13 am

Gigabit PoE OUT for several ports would be nice feature for 8 and 16 ports versions
 
vadyalex
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:03 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Tue Aug 28, 2012 10:57 pm

Is there something new about 16/24/48? Canceled? Will be, when?
Something approximate, April, May, September, 2012, 2013?
Dear Mikrotik, questions are still valid :)
 
pnavidi
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:03 pm

if you need a 26 Port GBE router you might consider this device for RouterOS
Axiomtek NA-550: http://axiomtek.com/products/ViewProduct.asp?view=928
have you tried the axiomtek NA-550 or NA-551 with routerOS ?

what is the maximum disk capacity ROuterOs can handle ?
 
markom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 10:42 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:42 am

I am thinking that larger switch from mikrotik is on thin ice. There is no any info about that for almost 2 years.
 
User avatar
Boter
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sun Sep 30, 2012 10:32 pm

ok, working on it
That product would be really interesting. I hope price will be too ;)
 
User avatar
rushlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:30 pm
Location: czech republic

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:59 pm

ok, working on it
horray.. :D

thanks MikroTik.
but no promises! I'm just saying we will consider the possibilities

hi Normis, any progress ?
I am waiting for routerboard cloud router with 48 ports almost two years :-)
 
User avatar
rushlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:30 pm
Location: czech republic

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:08 am

up

It's anybody here ?
 
User avatar
rushlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:30 pm
Location: czech republic

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sat Nov 21, 2015 10:21 am

up
up up
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1740
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:14 pm

Ethernet switching market today its very complicated

at this moment designing a new product involves very difficult decisions

i think mikrotik its deciding about 2.5g and 5g ethernet... i hope


polishing CRS development and including it on certification and training maybe its a good idea to formalize switching portfolio


+1
 
User avatar
rushlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:30 pm
Location: czech republic

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:44 pm

up up
I need this....
 
JimmyNyholm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 2:16 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sat Jul 16, 2016 10:31 pm

ok, working on it
horray.. :D

thanks MikroTik.
but no promises! I'm just saying we will consider the possibilities
Redundant Power supplys and SFP's 1:1 ie 20 spf and 2 sfp+ or 40 sfp and 4 sfp+
we have 10sfp + 1sfp+ but we need bigger of the same so save space in closet. and offcourse redundant (perhaps optional for pricepoint / servicability) PSU+s
Perhaps one with 8 sfp+ and 2 qsfp+
Please support setting the wavelength of inserted sfps! (The tunable ones that is)
 
vortex
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 713
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sat Jul 16, 2016 10:37 pm

Do people still want SwOS instead of some kind of CRS?
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Mon Jul 18, 2016 10:01 am

There are times that the simplicity of switch is nice.  I recently had to think about that one myself, and elected to get the RB260GS switch.  I only needed 5 ports, but I also have two 48 port HP managed switches at my house (neither are fully loaded).  However, speculating on what a 24 port version of a RB260 would cost vs what  a CRS does cost, it likely does not make much sense for MikroTic to develop a 24 port switch only.

Jim
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim
 
User avatar
rushlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:30 pm
Location: czech republic

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Mon Jul 18, 2016 11:01 am

up 
for 48port switch and ccr

take my money
 
User avatar
rushlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:30 pm
Location: czech republic

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Mon Aug 15, 2016 2:17 pm

up
ccr with 48ports pls
ideal with sfp+ port for uplink :)
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:38 pm

How would you use so many ports on router? Are you routing between 30 different networks at one place?
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Mon Aug 15, 2016 10:38 pm

I think the concept would more of a large switch - that "oh by the way" has a router in it too. Personally I have two 48 port HP managed switches at home (although neither is anywhere near fully loaded).


Sent from my Droid Turbo via Tapatalk, so blame any typos or spelling errors on Android
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Mon Aug 15, 2016 10:43 pm

I think the concept would more of a large switch - that "oh by the way" has a router in it too. Personally I have two 48 port HP managed switches at home (although neither is anywhere near fully loaded).
I use an HP 1920 at home, and I have 12 48-Port HP 1920 PoE's at my sites. I would kill for a nice high-end MikroTik PoE+ switch

btw - I'm not far from you - Rancho Cucamonga. Father lives in La Verne.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Mon Aug 15, 2016 11:19 pm

Gee, my father also lives in La Verne... Nice to see a local here...


Sent from my Droid Turbo via Tapatalk, so blame any typos or spelling errors on Android
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim
 
paulct
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 5:38 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Tue Aug 16, 2016 9:39 am

What I need:

1) 48 port ethernet CRS with 2 x SFP - standard switch to compete with the Ubiquiti edgeswitch and other brands
2) 24 port SFP and 4 x SFP+ CRS switch. Something to compete with the Edge-core and netgear brands.
3) 24 port SFP+ and 2 x 40Gb SFP uplinks - or even toss the 40Gbps links and just have 24-28 SFP+ ports

Would be nice to have some sort of stacking features with the CRS - e.g use 5 of the same models above and only need to manage 1.
 
junaid
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:19 am

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:51 am

hello experts i am new here and i have a question . how to set cisco switch as a interface card in mikrotik is their any solution i wan to connect "attach " cisco switch to mikrotik as a interface like "ether1,ether2 and so on... " please kindly reply i'll be highly thank full .
 
paulct
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 5:38 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:58 am

hello experts i am new here and i have a question . how to set cisco switch as a interface card in mikrotik is their any solution i wan to connect "attach " cisco switch to mikrotik as a interface like "ether1,ether2 and so on... " please kindly reply i'll be highly thank full .
Wrong thread - search through existing threads or create a new one under General or beginner basics.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5829
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Wed Aug 17, 2016 12:30 pm

I would prefer when MikroTik focussed on what they do good (small routers and its firmware, WiFi equipment)
and leave the manufacturing of 48-port switches to the existing companies that provide a good product
at ever more reasonable price. It is not good to try to compete with those fully fledged products and then
always hear the whining about this-and-that-essential-feature that the MikroTik product lacks because the
developers are still frantically writing the firmware.
Better put those developers on RouterOS 7.

That said, it would be nice to have a switch-with-passive-PoE with a little more outputs, say up to 16.
The PowerBox has too few outputs for us and we don't need a router at that place either.
Ubiquiti makes suitable switches but the 8 and 16 port models have built-in PS which in this case (roof mounting)
would better be 24v DC over a separate wire.
 
User avatar
rushlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:30 pm
Location: czech republic

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:43 am

any official statement ?
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1818
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:59 am

any official statement ?
Unlikely.. Official statements usually come at MUM events :)

Co-incidentally one of the two big events is coming up at the end of this month !
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
User avatar
rushlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:30 pm
Location: czech republic

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:30 am

up again for 48ports switch CRS, more SFP+ ports = better switch for me
 
Miracle
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:04 am

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Wed Oct 25, 2017 12:12 pm

I need 8/16 port SWOS
 
JimmyNyholm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 2:16 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:03 pm

ok, working on it
horray.. :D

thanks MikroTik.
but no promises! I'm just saying we will consider the possibilities
We Need Fiber Dense ie: 40 sfp and 4sfp+ line rate. Aggregate 40 1g fibers to 4 10g fibers. redundant psu's like CRS317-40S-4S+RM / Dualbooting routeros and switchos offcource.
 
User avatar
rushlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:30 pm
Location: czech republic

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Mon Jan 15, 2018 12:31 pm

Up again.
CRS with 48ports and with some SFP+ ports also.
Shut up and take my money !
 
User avatar
rushlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:30 pm
Location: czech republic

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:28 am

up up up
pls, make some CRS with 48 ports for us....
 
User avatar
Milotop
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 1:01 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:00 pm

48 port switch with swos or routeros would be great (and poe+ if possible:))
ImageImage
 
User avatar
rushlife
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:30 pm
Location: czech republic

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:21 am

I am SO HAPPY !!!!

CRS354-48P-4S+2Q+
 
parham
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:35 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:31 pm

ok, working on it
horray.. :D

thanks MikroTik.
but no promises! I'm just saying we will consider the possibilities
:)
https://mum.mikrotik.com/presentations/ ... 914661.pdf

Thanks for delivering no promises :) , ETA?
 
parham
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:35 pm

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:33 pm

can't wait to get rid of the Netgear, Cisco switches :D
 
Bivvy
newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:36 am

Re: 16/32/48 ports

Sat Jun 29, 2019 9:18 pm

can't wait to get rid of the Netgear, Cisco switches :D
We have a stack of Netgear switches - each with 24 SFP ports. 4 switches so 96 ports but this continues to grow
Netgear provide a stacking kit so you can manage the stack as a single device but the same is possible using any of the ports on the front.
Would be great to ditch the Netgear kit and move to Mikrotik for all our core network.
Any news?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests