Community discussions

 
lcrhea25
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:30 pm

Fiber Installation on Tower

Wed Oct 14, 2015 7:25 pm

Has anyone here ever ran fiber up about 300 feet on a tower? This is something I am looking at doing and would love to get some advice on how to run the fiber up the cable. Just a little uncertain about how to get all connectors hooked up on the tower.

Thanks
 
User avatar
gilljr
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 10:47 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Contact:

Re: Fiber Installation on Tower

Thu Oct 15, 2015 3:09 am

I have ran fiber up a tower before. Typically I only do it for one of two reasons...
1. Long run (Ethernet is 100m)
2. Powered tower and do not want RF to enter my data transmission

I use armored fiber cable and usually bring it into a NEMA enclosure through a waterproof gland and terminate it normally.

I am not sure if I answered your question. If you need both power and fiber, I saw an ad in a publication I get for Senko (senko.com) that sells connectors that may help you terminate fiber and power (they may also provide cable).

Feel free to message me, I will help if I can.
Gilbert
Gilbert T. Gutierrez, Jr.
Phoenix Internet http://phoenixinternet.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 9 guests