Community discussions

 
ibm
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 5:16 pm

Bring public IPs to PPPoE server through OSPF

Sun Nov 15, 2015 2:53 pm

Hello, if I have a OSPF network and an edge router with a public /30, that I redistribute as connected, can I assign my /27 (routed by the ISP through the /30) directly to clients from any of the PPPoE server in the OSPF network?
 
nuru
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 11:02 pm
Location: Kaduna, Nigeria

Re: Bring public IPs to PPPoE server through OSPF

Sun Nov 15, 2015 10:03 pm

Hello, if I have a OSPF network and an edge router with a public /30, that I redistribute as connected, can I assign my /27 (routed by the ISP through the /30) directly to clients from any of the PPPoE server in the OSPF network?
I believe that should be possible using VPLS
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: Bring public IPs to PPPoE server through OSPF

Mon Nov 16, 2015 4:28 pm

Yes you can do that.

You assign the IPs on the PPPoE servers using secrets or radius, and then announce the /27 in ospf networks

As each client connects OSPF will announce the /32 which has been assigned.

Nick
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
ibm
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 5:16 pm

Re: Bring public IPs to PPPoE server through OSPF

Mon Nov 16, 2015 6:49 pm

Yes you can do that.

You assign the IPs on the PPPoE servers using secrets or radius, and then announce the /27 in ospf networks

As each client connects OSPF will announce the /32 which has been assigned.

Nick
Thanks, it's the confirmation I was searching.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 119 guests