Community discussions

 
src
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 7:56 pm

BTEST maxed out CPU at 60Mbps?!

Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:44 pm

Hello,

Is it only my case BTest maxed out resources at 60Mbps?!
Test is running on ethernet, not wlan.
Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 1.38.47 PM.png
Uptime		07:26:35
Free Memory		106.3 MiB
Total Memory		128.0 MiB
CPU		MIPS 74Kc V5.0
CPU Count		1
CPU Frequency		720 MHz
CPU Load		100 %
Free HDD Space		111.5 MiB
Total HDD Size		128.0 MiB
Sector Writes Since Reboot		80
Total Sector Writes		23 956
Bad Blocks		0.0 %
Architecture Name		mipsbe
Board Name		NetMetal 5
Version		6.34rc3 (testing)
Build Time		Nov/11/2015 13:44:07
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Arcee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:33 pm

Wed Nov 18, 2015 3:17 pm

Ahh.. That's a total throughput of 120mbps; 60mbps in each direction.

Search the forums and you will see that the Mikrotik bandwidth test is not the best test for bandwidth. Let your routers, switches and WAPs do their job of routing and bridging. Get another device to test through the infrastructure (ie. Two computers in each end). The mikrotik hardware was not made to generate traffic, especially the overhead that top carries.

I've personally never seen more than 120mbps on a tcp bw test.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
 
src
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: BTEST maxed out CPU at 60Mbps?!

Thu Nov 19, 2015 7:05 pm

Sometimes there is a situation where I need to know bandwidth of the link between routers, and the endpoints connected to routers can't generate traffic or very limited to that.

In this test, all clients are connected via wireless (limited to wireless speed) and it can't give me a clear view of what happen on this link. From the other side (rb2011), I have Mikrotik connected to internet only (limited by 100mbps too) and I can't find a way to test link speed between routers.
 
Arcee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:33 pm

Thu Nov 19, 2015 7:14 pm

Here are two ways:

1. Connect a pc to the routers on both ends and run a ftp or Windows file transfer.

2. Connect a pc to routers on both ends and run an iperf test.

I prefer the latter. Go look up iperf.

You can perform basic bandwidth tests from the routers but don't expect them to be able to create packets and route then at more than... say 120mbps. Especially a tcp test.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
 
src
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 7:56 pm

Re:

Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:01 pm

I know Iperf, and many other techniques. I told you I need to test the link which I can't test any other way. Netmetal have no spare ethernet ports, only one it plugged to uplink. The other end, rb2011 has no PCs nearby.

But ok, I got it. No way.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Re:

Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:58 pm

I know Iperf, and many other techniques. I told you I need to test the link which I can't test any other way. Netmetal have no spare ethernet ports, only one it plugged to uplink. The other end, rb2011 has no PCs nearby.

But ok, I got it. No way.

specially to generate tcp traffic its too expensive in term of cpu resources

look this example, they needed 16 virtual machines on 4 dedicated servers to generate 80.000 gbps of tcp traffic

http://www.stubarea51.net/2015/10/09/mi ... t-testing/

maybe traffic generator tool you can get better results
 
src
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: Re:

Fri Nov 20, 2015 9:58 am

Thx for sharing example. 160gbps is another situation. )
 
noib
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BTEST maxed out CPU at 60Mbps?!

Fri Nov 20, 2015 5:45 pm

Yes, traffic generator tool is the answer, this is what i use to test max bandwith between 2 distant ROS. It's a bit more complicated to set up but you won't be limited by CPU.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5942
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: BTEST maxed out CPU at 60Mbps?!

Fri Nov 20, 2015 6:05 pm

You can also use UDP bw test which is also not so CPU intensive as TCP bw test.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 121 guests