Page 1 of 1

mikrotik dns statik host without dot

Posted: Sun Dec 13, 2015 2:37 pm
by korggrodno
if i create dns static entry like
/ip dns static add name=sql address=10.77.0.4
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-uQ1G ... 520004.jpg
It do not work
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-OdAb ... 520005.jpg
If I create dns static entry like
/ip dns static add name=sql.ramteks.local address=10.77.0.4
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-f-ky ... 520003.jpg
Then all is ok.
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-_1dn ... 520006.jpg
Why do not work first case?
Why do not work first case - case without dot in host name?

Re: mikrotik dns statik host without dot

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2015 12:19 am
by ConnectivityEngineer
Mikrotik makes an excellent A Record DNS Server for simple entries - However - the Server still requires fully qualified domain names - Or at minimum NO SPACES

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP ... NS_Entries

In short they are following the RFC Specs outlined here: http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc1035.txt?number=1035