Community discussions

 
Ahmed1989
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 12:15 am

Mikrotik RB with thunder cache

Mon Dec 14, 2015 12:26 am

Dears

I want to deliver pppoe users that are connected to mikrotik RB with thunder cache and deliver them cached http traffic

I use the following commands but it doesnt work
/ip firewall mangle
add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting disabled=no dst-port=80 in-interface=\
!ether4-cache new-routing-mark=thunder passthrough=no protocol=tcp
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=192.168.2.2 routing-mark=thunder
 
User avatar
ConnectivityEngineer
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2015 10:57 pm
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik RB with thunder cache

Tue Dec 22, 2015 9:36 am

You need to redirect port80 for the PPPoE users to the web proxy - since the PPPoE users basically create a dynamic interface - this might be part of the issue. Instead of working on an interface I would much rather work from an IP range.

This is especially true if you wish in the future to have some clients bypass the proxy. I have had this need for clients utilizing a number of different services in the past which required port 80 traffic in some way or another.

So lets pretend the Destination port is 80, the IP Proxy is on port 8080 ... the following should work
ip firewall nat src-address="x.x.x.x/x" dst-port=80 protocol=tcp action=redirect to-ports=8080 chain=dstnat 
ip proxy set enabled=yes port=8080

For a more in depth look - I suggest what Syed wrote a few years back: It is applicable - although he was using good old SQUID vs the Thunder Cache...

https://aacable.wordpress.com/2011/07/2 ... client-ip/
Glenn Kelley | MCTNA, MTCWE, MTCTCE, RHCE, RHCSS
http://Connectivity.Engineer
USA Based 24x7x365 Mikrotik, Juniper, Ubiquiti TAC & WISP / ISP Blind Label Support Call Center

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 70 guests