Page 1 of 1

Preformance issues on RB750

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2015 2:42 pm
by andersa
I am experience some performance issues on my RB 750. Its running RouterOS 6.33.3 and FW version 3.24. I am not running a HotSpot, no queues and about 20 firewall rules.

Over NAT i am currently only getting about 210mbit/s of my line that should be 250mbit/s. I have of course tried it without the RB, and gotten the full speed. Furthermore, i have tried turning off all the firewall rules, and that only increases the throughput by 15mbit/s.

So my question is this. Have i simply reached the limit of what my RB can do? Or is there something i am missing in respect to configuration.

Re: Preformance issues on RB750

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 9:00 am
by ConnectivityEngineer
Generally speaking the RB750 is a decent product - and it even supports MPLS as shown here: http://routerboard.com/RB750

Just the other night we had a customer call into our Mikrotik TAC complaining their systems were dropping and locking up
(we blogged here about it: http://connectivity.engineer/networking ... hardening/ )

I would suggest a few things.

1. Start by looking at the firewall rules and place the most commonly used ones at the top.
2. Check the CPU - are you maxing out the CPU? If not than it might be a wireline speed issue
3. Upgrade - The 1100AX2 with the PowerPC processors we have found to have excellent performance so you might want to check one of those out as well.

Re: Preformance issues on RB750

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 9:21 am
by skuykend
Have i simply reached the limit of what my RB can do? Or is there something i am missing in respect to configuration.
Do you have FastTrack enabled and is it working? Depending on what RB750 model you have (assuming it's not the plain as that's 10/100 only) you might be hitting the limit without FastTrack.
/ip settings print
Look at the ipv4-fasttrack-active and ipv4-fasttrack-packets.

Re: Preformance issues on RB750

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:35 am
by andersa
I was indeed peaking the capabilities of the router. The CPU was peaking. The reason why i did not suspect this at first, was that the CPU peaked and blocked the GUI update before the counter got to 100% - leaving me with a stable far lower number. I figured this out by doing a speed test with a ramp up start.

Thanks for good and insightful replies. I solved the problem by buying the 3011.

And no, FT was not enabled. But a good point, i will dig out the old 750 and see if that has an effect.

Re: Preformance issues on RB750

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:17 am
by pe1chl
It probably was not RB750 because that has 100 Mbit ports so you would not get 250 Mbit from that.
Maybe a RB750GL? Different beast.

However, remember these are very cheap and low-end boxes. Impressive what they can do, but there is a limit.

Re: Preformance issues on RB750

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 11:21 am
by chechito
I was indeed peaking the capabilities of the router. The CPU was peaking. The reason why i did not suspect this at first, was that the CPU peaked and blocked the GUI update before the counter got to 100% - leaving me with a stable far lower number. I figured this out by doing a speed test with a ramp up start.

Thanks for good and insightful replies. I solved the problem by buying the 3011.

And no, FT was not enabled. But a good point, i will dig out the old 750 and see if that has an effect.
good luck with 3011, is the first mikrotik ARM