Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
drasar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:45 pm

Bridge ports packet loss

Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:53 am

Hello,

On my RB I have one ethernet port + wireless card (CM9 miniPCI - Atheros AR5413) configured as a bridge. In RouterOS v6.32.3 I can observe quite big packet loss when packets are passing from one port to another within this bridge.

If I ping:
- from a wireless device to the bridge IP, it is ok
- from one wireless device to another wireless device (both connected to the wireless card), it is ok
- from an ethernet device to the bridge IP, it is ok
- from an ethernet device to a wireless device or vice versa, there is a packet loss more than 50 %

So I can say that communication within each port (ethernet or wireless) is ok, but communication across both both ports is problematic.

I am pretty sure that in some older ROS 6 version it was ok, but I do not know in which one. I have suspicion that this issue is caused by new wireless-fp package

Any idea how to fix it, please?

Thanks
 
User avatar
ConnectivityEngineer
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2015 10:57 pm
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Bridge ports packet loss

Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:31 am

Are you using AP Bridge mode? or ?
Glenn Kelley | MCTNA, MTCWE, MTCTCE, RHCE, RHCSS
http://Connectivity.Engineer
USA Based 24x7x365 Mikrotik, Juniper, Ubiquiti TAC & WISP / ISP Blind Label Support Call Center
 
drasar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:45 pm

Re: Bridge ports packet loss

Tue Dec 22, 2015 2:46 pm

Are you using AP Bridge mode? or ?
Yes, I am using AP bridge mode.
 
drasar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:45 pm

Re: Bridge ports packet loss

Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:34 pm

Also I have tried to disable Fast Path (/interface bridge settings set allow-fast-path=no), but it did not help.
 
drasar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:45 pm

Re: Bridge ports packet loss

Tue Dec 22, 2015 4:46 pm

The behaviour is really strange. There was cca 30 min interval when everything worked perfectly. No setting change in ROS nor reboot. Now the packet loss is back.
 
User avatar
ConnectivityEngineer
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2015 10:57 pm
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Bridge ports packet loss

Thu Dec 24, 2015 4:34 am

Interesting thats for sure.

You could make sure to change the TTL for icmp
/ip firewall mangle add chain=prerouting out-interface=!ether1 action=change-ttl new-ttl=set:64 passthrough=yes  
where ether1 is the interface in question (tune to your hearts desire in other words )
Glenn Kelley | MCTNA, MTCWE, MTCTCE, RHCE, RHCSS
http://Connectivity.Engineer
USA Based 24x7x365 Mikrotik, Juniper, Ubiquiti TAC & WISP / ISP Blind Label Support Call Center
 
drasar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:45 pm

Re: Bridge ports packet loss

Mon Dec 28, 2015 2:23 am

Interesting thats for sure.

You could make sure to change the TTL for icmp
/ip firewall mangle add chain=prerouting out-interface=!ether1 action=change-ttl new-ttl=set:64 passthrough=yes  
where ether1 is the interface in question (tune to your hearts desire in other words )
Hmm and what is it good for? There is even no routing between interfaces...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], HB1 and 103 guests