Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
freebird
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:16 pm

2.9.29: Where is the Mikrotik CF image?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:03 am

Hi Mikrotik,

don't you provide a CF image for your new MT versions? There is no
download link on the new download page.

I think we are not the only one that use CF cards in PC based MT
Routers.

Regards,

seandsl
--
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24493
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:36 am

CF image is the best chance to corrupt your data and, most importantly, your license. it was the number one reason for support questions and problems, so we removed it.
 
freebird
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:16 pm

Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:43 am

Yes, thats true, but what if you do a fresh install?

We use CF cards in our PC based routers via IDE -> CF adapter.
We do not want to connect a CDROM for non PXE systems to install it.
Using physdiskwrite to write the CF image is much faster and can be
prepared in advance like having some CF cards ready.

seandsl
--
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24493
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:44 am

you can preinstall the CFs in one windows PC. Netinstall can install on a CF inside regular USB reader.
 
freebird
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:16 pm

Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:51 am

OK, thanks. We didn't know that netinstall is able to write an bootable
MT image on a USB connected CF card. We have never tried that tool and
expected from the name that it can only be used for PXE installations.

You should describe this feature in your netinstall manual.

seandsl
--
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24493
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Aug 22, 2006 12:04 pm

thank you for the suggestion, this will be done immediatelly
 
tricake
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:04 am

Tue Aug 22, 2006 4:24 pm

This is what I see when trying to complete the installation on a CF from NetInstall:

Welcome to MikroTik Router Software hard disk installation
Press Ctrl-Alt-Delete to abort
FATAL ERROR: Bad package /floppy/routeros-x86-2.9.29.npk
Press ENTER to reboot

What can I do?
Thanks!
 
tricake
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:04 am

Tue Aug 22, 2006 4:35 pm

After using single packages the messages are like this:

Welcome to MikroTik Router Software hard disk installation
Press Ctrl-Alt-Delete to abort
Reading: system....
Reading: advanced-tools...
Reading: dhcp...
Reading: gps...
Reading: hotspot...
Reading: lcd...
Reading: ntp...
Reading: ppp...
Reading: routerboard...
Reading: routing...
Reading: security...
Reading: user-manager...
Reading: web-proxy...
Reading: wireless...

FATAL ERROR: could not read configuration
Press ENTER to reboot
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3806
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:34 pm

This is what I see when trying to complete the installation on a CF from NetInstall:

Welcome to MikroTik Router Software hard disk installation
Press Ctrl-Alt-Delete to abort
FATAL ERROR: Bad package /floppy/routeros-x86-2.9.29.npk
Press ENTER to reboot

What can I do?
Thanks!
I got this same error when trying to use cdrom image in vmware - but without vmware it worked fine...
 
freebird
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:16 pm

Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:13 pm

I got the same two errors, I finaly made it when I selected the single small packages + a config file.

seandsl
--
 
tricake
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:04 am

Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:38 pm

I finaly made it when I selected the single small packages + a config file.
How can I make a config file? I'm very confused... :oops:
Thanks!
 
GotNet
Member
Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Florida

Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:39 pm

I'll miss the CF images... But onward.

Downloading netinstall also downloads the packages. The netinstall program for PC is a different size than the MIPS. Are they different? Are they not interchangeable? Are they now version specific?

Maybe they always were. I did look in the changelog. :)
 
jarosoup
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 9:02 am

Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:56 pm

Where is the change log?
 
tricake
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:04 am

Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:07 pm

Where is the change log?
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/CHANGELOG_full
Just can't find a solution... Anyone?
 
GotNet
Member
Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Florida

Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:39 pm

Well I tried the PC version. It dumped the connection to the USB reader as if I'd unplugged it. Netinstall is stuck on "formatting drive".

Tried again after first formatting to FAT; now it works.
 
jarosoup
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 9:02 am

Tue Aug 22, 2006 8:31 pm

duh...changlog link was right in front of me :roll:

It probably doesn't matter, but I agree that not have a CF image is unfortunate. This made batching out a bunch of APs pretty quick....bummer :?
 
tricake
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:04 am

Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:05 am

I'm going to open a support ticket... :D
 
tricake
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:04 am

Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:45 am

This is their response... I can't try right now. I'll make you know.
Hello,

1. export your configuration in your working router (/export file=export)
2. save the file to a safe location
3a. in the netinstall, checkmark `keep old configuration` and see if it works
3b. do not checkmark the `keep old conifuration` but tell it to use your
export file
3c. do not checkmark `keep old configuration` and do not specify your old
config

see which method works

Regards,
Normunds
 
Stryker777
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:40 pm
Contact:

Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:54 am

I must agree about the cf issues. I use all linux systems and have been happy with winbox but netinstall wont work for me. Really would suck if I had to set up a windblows trash can in order to install mikrotik on cf. I only use cf. Luckily I have not had to do any new installs recently. Maybe Ill just use one of my old cached cf install packages and then upgrade to the latest version. No way Im going to use windcrap.
 
Freman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:49 am

Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:24 pm

Stryker777: Have you been able to use Netinstall to install a CF card either by PXE install, or direct disk IO with wine?
Hello,

Netinstall does work in many shapes and forms under *nix. It has been tested
and verified by independant sources to be working fine within WINE.

Regards,
Normunds
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24493
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:53 pm

netinstall works on wine, if it doesn't for you - let us know
 
Stryker777
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:40 pm
Contact:

Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:32 pm

Net install has not worked for me in the past on a Ubuntu Dapper Drake system running wine. Winbox worked great but Netinstall has not. I am downloading the newest version right now to try.
 
Stryker777
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:40 pm
Contact:

Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:39 pm

Got farther than before. It requested Mozilla ActiveX control which of course I did not have installed. Installed that and it made it through the install completely. Then I went to open Netinstall to test it but got an error that shut it down. The error was:
"bind bootp failed: (10013)"
 
User avatar
Eugene
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 993
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: Cranfield, UK

Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:39 pm

are you running it as root?
Tout individu a droit à la vie, à la liberté et à la sûreté de sa personne.
 
Stryker777
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:40 pm
Contact:

Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:42 pm

Most definately am not! lol, wouldnt that defeat the purpose of linux?
Last edited by Stryker777 on Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
Stryker777
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:40 pm
Contact:

Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:44 pm

Ok, I just ran it as root and it does work. I guess I can sudo and use it when I need to.
Thanks Eugene.
 
User avatar
Eugene
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 993
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: Cranfield, UK

Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:45 pm

Then you should be aware, that only root could bind ports below 1024. In fact, all your "services" (apache, ssh, ftp, ...) are started as root :wink:
Tout individu a droit à la vie, à la liberté et à la sûreté de sa personne.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: carlosaat, dleo, hapoo, meazz1, nemoonpc and 188 guests