Community discussions

 
User avatar
cybercoder
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:20 pm
Location: Guilan, Iran
Contact:

stacking a cloud core router and a RB1100AH-X2

Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:09 pm

Is possible stack two routerboards and make a huge port router?
Then is possible to manage QOS,Hotspor, ... from one of them as master router?

I'm thinking to Switch port & VLAN
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. ( Arthur C Clarke )
Mikrotik certified consultant
Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist, Microsoft Certified IT Proffessional
http://www.netd.ir
 
User avatar
G2Dolphin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 6:03 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: stacking a cloud core router and a RB1100AH-X2

Thu Jan 14, 2016 9:45 pm

It's "Mikrotik certified consultant" asking us? :)

I can only think of VLANs and using secondary router as a switch, but MikroTik doesn't have special software to stack routers, and even possibility to do this as some other vendors do.
Home: RB3011UiAS-IN (2011 case+3011-RM), hAP ac, mAP2n/mAP2nD, GrooveA-52HPn, hEX (r3), hAP lite, RB951G-2HnD
Work: RB2011UiAS-RM / UiAS-2HnD-IN, RB951G-2HnD, hEX (r3), CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN, CCR1009-8G-1S-1S+
 
User avatar
cybercoder
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:20 pm
Location: Guilan, Iran
Contact:

Re: stacking a cloud core router and a RB1100AH-X2

Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:03 pm

I can only think of VLANs and using secondary router as a switch,
Yes, I know that.
but MikroTik doesn't have special software to stack routers
It's "Mikrotik certified consultant" asking us?
I just want to be sure for this. Someone asked me and i got suspected to may be there's new products with something like plug & play!

Thanks
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. ( Arthur C Clarke )
Mikrotik certified consultant
Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist, Microsoft Certified IT Proffessional
http://www.netd.ir
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: stacking a cloud core router and a RB1100AH-X2

Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:36 pm

i have seen staking as a more common feature to group switches of the same family (on other vendors) but i personally have not heard about stacking routers

i dont know how performs a stack of switches when performing layer 3 features maybe that's the way
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: stacking a cloud core router and a RB1100AH-X2

Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:47 am

Stacking of routing-switches (eg. layer-3 switches) is very common nowadays.

All switches in a stack become a single logical device:
You can span link-aggregation-groups (eg. bonding) across the units of a stack.
Also routing does NOT require fancy techniques like VRRP; the stack only uses a single IP-address for a given subnet to route the traffic.

Routing perfomance and switiching performance usually are identical.
Routing in always performed within the unit receiving the traffic.
Commonly you are only limited by the bandwidth of the stacking interconnections.

All traffic within a stack always takes shortest path from ingress to egress port.

Unfortunately Mikrotik does not offer stacking of their routers.

At least I would like to see something like Multi-Chassis-Trunking (Brocade) or Split-Multi-Link-Trunking (Avaya). This would enable much more flexibility regarding redundancy concepts.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests