Community discussions

  • 1
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:15 pm

FYI - btest bandwidth usage

About an hour ago , I rebooted the 207.32.194.24 btest server
Now an hour later after I rebooted it , it has sent over 10+ Gib Bytes and received 3+ Gib Bytes in btest(s).

lol - take that 1 hour of time and stretch it out over 3 years , the btest(s) send -and- receive Bytes really start to add up to one heck of alot of Bytes.


North Idaho Tom Jones
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: macsrwe re: Can't get connected to this any longer.

Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:16 pm

macsrwe re: Can't get connected to this any longer.

What IP address are you testing from ? I can look at the fw logs and see if your IP address shows up in there.

North Idaho Tom Jones (207.32.194.24 btest admin)
198....
Last edited by macsrwe on Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: macsrwe re: Can't get connected to this any longer.

Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:35 pm

macsrwe re: Can't get connected to this any longer.

What IP address are you testing from ? I can look at the fw logs and see if your IP address shows up in there.

North Idaho Tom Jones (207.32.194.24 btest admin)
198.233.88.218
I do see it is trying to connect - but no btest is starting ...
Hmmm , Try updating the ROS version of your Mikrotik to the latest. I am currently running 6.42.7
I think you might need to be on the same version
After you upgrade - give it a try again and let me know

North idaho Tom Jones
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: macsrwe re: Can't get connected to this any longer.

Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:37 pm

I do see it is trying to connect - but no btest is starting ...
Hmmm , Try updating the ROS version of your Mikrotik to the latest. I am currently running 6.42.7
I think you might need to be on the same version
After you upgrade - give it a try again and let me know

North idaho Tom Jones
I upgraded a non-critical unit on my network and it worked. Then I tried a non-upgraded router and it also worked. Then I retried it from my edge router where it failed this morning, and this time it worked.

I blame Russians.

Thanks for your help.
 
planetcoop
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 2:32 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Thu Sep 06, 2018 12:05 am

FYI - btest bandwidth usage

About an hour ago , I rebooted the 207.32.194.24 btest server
Now an hour later after I rebooted it , it has sent over 10+ Gib Bytes and received 3+ Gib Bytes in btest(s).

lol - take that 1 hour of time and stretch it out over 3 years , the btest(s) send -and- receive Bytes really start to add up to one heck of alot of Bytes.


North Idaho Tom Jones
Tom,

I was averaging 30TB total monthly in/out traffic with it on the 10gbps link. Crazy busy.
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:38 am

FYI - btest bandwidth usage

About an hour ago , I rebooted the 207.32.194.24 btest server
Now an hour later after I rebooted it , it has sent over 10+ Gib Bytes and received 3+ Gib Bytes in btest(s).

lol - take that 1 hour of time and stretch it out over 3 years , the btest(s) send -and- receive Bytes really start to add up to one heck of alot of Bytes.


North Idaho Tom Jones
Tom,

I was averaging 30TB total monthly in/out traffic with it on the 10gbps link. Crazy busy.
Same monthly averages here - 20 to 60 TB every month on the 207.32.194.24 btest server
 
Temorizador
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 6:25 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:31 am

Gracias por el servicio ofrecido ,es muy útil para probar los mikrotiks , para ver su poder y si el ISP ofrece realmente lo que venden tan caro :-) .

saludos
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for the service offered, it is very useful for testing the mikrotiks, to see their power and if the ISP really offers what they sell so expensive :-).

regards
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:56 pm

Gracias por el servicio ofrecido ,es muy útil para probar los mikrotiks , para ver su poder y si el ISP ofrece realmente lo que venden tan caro :-) .

saludos
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for the service offered, it is very useful for testing the mikrotiks, to see their power and if the ISP really offers what they sell so expensive :-).

regards
:)
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:02 pm

The public access btest server 207.32.194.24 was just now updated to 6.43

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
tabate47
Member
Member
Posts: 428
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:23 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:42 am

We've used the public server for a long time with no issues. For the last few days we are unable to connect. We use tcp. We are getting either connect which just hangs, or Device incompatible . We tried to set the connect count to 1 and it immediately disconnects. Did something change recently? We are on the latest bug fix release.
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Sep 14, 2018 4:40 am

We've used the public server for a long time with no issues. For the last few days we are unable to connect. We use tcp. We are getting either connect which just hangs, or Device incompatible . We tried to set the connect count to 1 and it immediately disconnects. Did something change recently? We are on the latest bug fix release.
I might be wrong here - but I believe I recently read that a Mikrotik btest client (one of your Mikrotiks) now needs to be the same ROS version at the Mikrotik btest server (if passwords are used).
My 207.32.194.24 btest server uses user=btest and password=btest , thus I suspect the client Mikrotik needs to be the same ROS version.
I am currently using ROS version 6.43

So - as a test , try upgrading a client btest Mikrotik to ROS version 6.43 and see if it works.

Note 1: A couple of days ago , I had somebody pm me about their btest not running to my btest server , they then upgraded to 6.43 and the btest worked.

Note 2: I think I also read that if there is no btest password configured on the btest server (or authentication not enabled "don't remember exactly" ) that any cleint of any ROS version can then perform a btest


Please try upgrading a client btest Mikrotik and test it - and - please post her to let me know if I am correct about the matching ROS versions if btest passwords are used.


Also of note - a possible work-around with different ROS versions might be for me to create a second btest user on my btest server that does not have a password. I will have to look into what security issues that opens up if not configured correctly on my btest server.


North Idaho Tom Jones
 
tabate47
Member
Member
Posts: 428
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:23 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:24 am

Tom,

You are correct. Here is the changelog:

MAJOR CHANGES IN v6.43:
----------------------
!) api - changed authentication process (https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:API#Initial_login);
!) backup - do not encrypt backup file unless password is provided;
!) btest - requires at least v6.43 Bandwidth Test client when connecting to v6.43 or later version server except when authentication is not required;
!) cloud - added IPv6 support;
!) cloud - added support for licensed CHR instances (including trial);
!) cloud - reworked "/ip cloud ddns-enabled" implementation (suggested to disable service and re-enable after installation process);
!) radius - use MS-CHAPv2 for "login" service authentication;
!) romon - require at least v6.43 RoMON agent when connecting to v6.43 or later RoMON client device;
!) webfig - improved authentication process;
!) winbox - improved authentication process excluding man-in-the-middle possibility;
!) winbox - minimal required version is v3.15;

Would you be able to create another user? It doesn't seem like it would be an issue because everyone knows the password anyway. If you can't, then everyone would need to be on your ros version which won't work for a lot of setups. If you could, that would be great. Thanks for all the help.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7560
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:35 pm

Maybe the authentication requirement on the public btest servers should be switched off. What is its meaning when the user and password is publicly known?
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:09 pm

Wow - somebody has a fast Internet connection :)
This image is from my 207.32.194.24 btest server just a few minutes ago.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Sep 18, 2018 5:51 pm

This morning I upgraded the 207.32.194.24 btest server to 6.43.1
 
HMHackMaster
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:43 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:37 pm

Wow - somebody has a fast Internet connection :)
This image is from my 207.32.194.24 btest server just a few minutes ago.
Thanks for running this bandwidth test server by the way!

I was able to get a 1.5Gbit test from my newly acquired 10G line but I wasn't able to grab a screenshot of it in time. Just waiting patiently for the rate limiting to settle down so I can try again.

It's hard nowadays to validate that ISPs actually deliver on what they promise, so I really appreciate you running this for free!

[If ya wanna break some graphs, I would love to schedule a time and see what happens without a rate limit! :) ]
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:55 pm

I just upgraded the 207.32.194.24 btest server to : Ver 6.43.2

As always , you may want to consider upgrading your Mikrotik also to 6.43.2 and then run a btest

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
780user
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 11:04 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Mon Oct 01, 2018 11:07 pm

Thanks a lot for hosting and maintaning this service!

Any idea what could be wrong? Tried connecting the last 3-4 days..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7560
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Oct 02, 2018 12:02 pm

Could be beneficial to someone if I would open the 100/100 Mbit/s public btest server in Europe? Just asking in advance...
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Oct 02, 2018 6:20 pm

Could be beneficial to someone if I would open the 100/100 Mbit/s public btest server in Europe? Just asking in advance...
I know a btest server in Europe would be used by many :)
North Idaho Tom Jones
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7560
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:27 pm

For sure, but the 100mbits limitation might be problematic. Also I couldn't guarantee such speed to be achievable always, which could lead to lower measurements. Therefore the question if such thing makes sense.
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Oct 03, 2018 4:34 am

For sure, but the 100mbits limitation might be problematic. Also I couldn't guarantee such speed to be achievable always, which could lead to lower measurements. Therefore the question if such thing makes sense.
On the forum , your server could be listed as the following limitations (what ever you want worded)
- no guarantee on bandwidth availablility for btest (ing)
- no guarantee on low/hi measurements

EDIT: Below is an export of my btest config. It includes a simple-queue which can be changed for your limits:

/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] advertise=1000M-full loop-protect=off
/queue simple
add burst-limit=1250M/0 burst-threshold=50M/0 burst-time=8m20s/0s max-limit=105M/0 name=Ether1-A-From-Internet target=ether1
add burst-limit=0/1250M burst-threshold=0/50M burst-time=0s/8m20s max-limit=0/105M name=Ether1-B-To-Internet target=ether1
/user group
add name=btest policy=test,winbox,romon,tikapp,!local,!telnet,!ssh,!ftp,!reboot,!read,!write,!policy,!password,!web,!sniff,!sensitive,!api,!dude
/ip firewall address-list
add address=207.32.193.0/24 comment=00-05-Permanently-Allow-These-IP-Addresses list=tester
add address=10.0.0.0/8 comment=01-06-Permanently-BLOCK-These-IP-Addresses list=blocklist
add address=172.16.0.0/12 comment=01-07-Permanently-BLOCK-These-IP-Addresses list=blocklist
add address=192.168.0.0/16 comment=01-08-Permanently-BLOCK-These-IP-Addresses list=blocklist
add address=138.117.109.222 list=blocklist
add address=185.34.121.32 list=blocklist
add address=162.253.51.242 comment=00-RS-BGP-Permanently-Allow-These-IP-Addresses list=tester
add address=50.235.23.218 comment=00-2btest-Permanently-Allow-These-IP-Addresses list=tester
add address=66.35.7.130 comment=00-RS-BGP-Permanently-Allow-These-IP-Addresses list=tester
add address=207.32.194.6 comment=00-00-Permanently-Allow-These-IP-Addresses list=tester
add address=207.32.194.26 comment=00-00-Permanently-Allow-These-IP-Addresses list=tester
/ip firewall raw
add action=accept chain=prerouting comment="testers accepted" src-address-list=tester
add action=drop chain=prerouting comment="previous testers drop" src-address-list=previous
add action=add-src-to-address-list address-list=tester address-list-timeout=2m chain=prerouting comment="add to tester" dst-port=2000-2100 protocol=tcp
add action=add-src-to-address-list address-list=tester address-list-timeout=2m chain=prerouting comment="add to tester" dst-port=2000-2100 protocol=udp
add action=add-src-to-address-list address-list=previous address-list-timeout=15m chain=prerouting comment="add to previous" dst-port=2000-2100 log=yes protocol=tcp
add action=add-src-to-address-list address-list=previous address-list-timeout=15m chain=prerouting comment="add to previous" dst-port=2000-2100 log=yes protocol=udp
/ip service
set telnet address=192.168.0.0/16,10.0.0.0/8,172.16.0.0/12,207.32.193.0/24
set ftp address=192.168.0.0/16,10.0.0.0/8,172.16.0.0/12,207.32.193.0/24
set www address=192.168.0.0/16,10.0.0.0/8,172.16.0.0/12,207.32.193.0/24
set ssh address=192.168.0.0/16,10.0.0.0/8,172.16.0.0/12,207.32.193.0/24
set www-ssl address=192.168.0.0/16,10.0.0.0/8,172.16.0.0/12,207.32.193.0/24
set api address=192.168.0.0/16,10.0.0.0/8,172.16.0.0/12,207.32.193.0/24
set winbox address=192.168.0.0/16,10.0.0.0/8,172.16.0.0/12,207.32.193.0/24
set api-ssl address=192.168.0.0/16,10.0.0.0/8,172.16.0.0/12,207.32.193.0/24
/tool bandwidth-server
set max-sessions=500
/tool graphing interface
add


 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7560
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:07 pm

Thanks Tom, I am still far from the moment I could use it, I need to see if there is any demand first.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8142
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:28 pm

Why not just start from opening it in 'demo' mode and look at BTest traffic? :)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7560
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:34 pm

Because it requires some effort and costs.
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:38 pm

jarda , if you decide to open up a btest server …
--- You will become rich
--- Women will flock around you for your attention
--- You will win every game at casinos and lottery
--- Your network will run faster
--- You will have lots of free time
----------or----------
--- You will go broke paying for the additional bandwidth of a btest server
--- Other that your wife , nobody knows who you are
--- You will still be a looser at everything you do
--- Your network will be slower because it now experiences high bandwidth btest loads
--- You will be busy answering questions (via this forum, email, facebook and PM) about why they can't btest to you
----------or----------
--- Somewhere between the maximums there is a medium

lol
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8142
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Oct 03, 2018 4:21 pm

--- Other that your wife , nobody knows who you are
Huh, it's just about me :)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Oct 03, 2018 5:46 pm

--- Other that your wife , nobody knows who you are
Huh, it's just about me :)
lol :lol:
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Oct 03, 2018 5:53 pm

Anybody remember my original post that eventually led to a public btest server ?
I made a suggestion about everybody participating in a btest day for everybody to btest to/from to measure bandwidth around the world. Then somebody made a post stating
"The day the Internet broke".


Anyways , I believe all of us Mikrotik admins would welcome any public access btest servers of any speeds/capabilities.

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7560
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Oct 03, 2018 8:42 pm

Tom, it might be even much worse anyway.

The public btest server could be one of the side effects of other of my ideas, and it might take a while, but I believe I will open it finally.
 
datispro
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:19 am
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Oct 12, 2018 6:49 pm

i need bandwidth test server from Turkey location . please help me is is there any server in turkey.
We thinks Mikrotik is the best solution for network Jobs.
Mikrotik Course - Mikrotik Articles
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:01 pm

i need bandwidth test server from Turkey location . please help me is is there any server in turkey.
As for public btest access and posted here in this forum about any Mikrotik btest server(s) , My 207.32.194.24 btest server is the only one I know of at this time.

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
ilemauriceE
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 3:45 pm
Location: Italie
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Sun Oct 21, 2018 4:57 pm

any solution for bandwidth test server from France location Please. Need your if there any server available in France Please.
Pour plus d'information visitez le guide ici : Cookeo moulinex USB et connect et classique.
 
dadoremix
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 11:31 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:10 pm

@North Idaho Tom Jones
btest dead ?
 
Khuseyn
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 10:07 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Sat Oct 27, 2018 10:28 pm

Thanks for running this bandwidth test server :!: :!: :!:

Please tell me how to create a script to record the test results to the log or send to the mail?
 
Khuseyn
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 10:07 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Sat Oct 27, 2018 10:32 pm

after what time can repeat testing?
I think re-check for a short time is blocked.
 
zakynthoswifi
newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 12:38 am
Location: Zakynthos
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Sun Nov 25, 2018 12:51 am

Hi tom,
I'm getting after a speedtest on your server several incoming attempts from port scans from your ip. please check your router... currently I have blocked your ip. Thanks for this server
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Mon Nov 26, 2018 8:20 pm

Hi tom,
I'm getting after a speedtest on your server several incoming attempts from port scans from your ip. please check your router... currently I have blocked your ip. Thanks for this server
hmmm, My btest server should be clean and normal. I just rebooted it.

However , I have sometimes seen a stuck btest. Example - a remote btest is started and the remote Mikrotik device looses connectivity to the Internet which a few times has resulted in the btest server still running. This is rare when it happens. The solution is normally to reboot the btest server or the btest client then the problem stops. This used to happen only when under loads greater than 2-gig sustained - however I have not seen btest get stuck in at least 1/2 a year now...

Of note - I have mostly seen stuck btest(s) on x86 Mikrotiks or slower physical Mikrotiks devices running btest. I have never seen a CHR to CHR stuck btest with vmxnet3 10-gig network interfaces - but in the past , I have seen it a few times with just about everything else (other than a CHR) when a btest is saturating a link.

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
brahma
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 7:44 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Nov 27, 2018 7:58 am

i made a btest server ip-103.80.55.2 with no user and password . take a test and enjoj
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:52 pm

i made a btest server ip-103.80.55.2 with no user and password . take a test and enjoj
Nice :)

I just ran some btest(s) from my 207.32.194.24 btest server to your 103.80.55.2 btest server.
UDP send test and UDP receive btest each way comes close to 150 meg (130 to 148 meg).
TCP send test and TCP receive test each btest at around 80 meg.

Is this going to be a perminate btest server ?
Where are you located ?
What kind of Mikrotik hardware/software are you using ?
How fast under perfect conditions should somebody be able to btest to ?
Are you using any rate-limiting queues fire-wall rules so that you do not have continous never go away sustained btest (btest abusers) ?
Do you have a btest policy/user-rules you would like to state ?
Would you like me to post/edit-add information about your btest server on the 1'st post in this btest forum?

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s) now 6.43.7

Tue Dec 04, 2018 2:47 am

December 3rd 4:45 PM (Idaho time)
I just now upgraded the 207.32.194.24 btest server to version 6.43.7


North Idaho Tom Jones
 
netflow
newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 3:53 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:17 am

Hi Tom,

This is a great service, thanks for offering to the community.

For me it works about 20 sec, then traffic is completely blocked for XX minutes. I am not sure if it is by design but this turns out to be a bit short to do any sort of stability controls. Tested using UDP with a 100mbps symmetrical connection.
 
netflow
newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 3:53 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:35 am

For me it works about 20 sec, then traffic is completely blocked for XX minutes. I am not sure if it is by design but this turns out to be a bit short to do any sort of stability controls. Tested using UDP with a 100mbps symmetrical connection.
My bad actually, I have an automatic synflood rule that kicks in.
Maybe BTest is not behaving nicely with this regards. Sorry.
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 882
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:36 am

For me it works about 20 sec, then traffic is completely blocked for XX minutes. I am not sure if it is by design but this turns out to be a bit short to do any sort of stability controls. Tested using UDP with a 100mbps symmetrical connection.
My bad actually, I have an automatic synflood rule that kicks in.
Maybe BTest is not behaving nicely with this regards. Sorry.
Yea - I have a Simple-Queue that kicks in. Below is my Simple-Queue in detail
btest-simpe-queue-detail.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Bivvy
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:36 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:22 am

Tom

I'm having trouble connecting to the BTest servers. For some reason can't connect top either 207.32.195.2, 207.32.195.24 or 50.235.23.218 with btest/btest but can connect to 103.80.55.2 with blank user/password

Upgraded to latest OS 6.43.7

Any ideas? Hopefully our IP is not one of the ones that you have had to block

Thanks
  • 1
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests