Community discussions

 
neutronlaser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Sun Feb 17, 2019 9:33 pm

How do you host a server?
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Mon Feb 18, 2019 10:43 pm

How do you host a server?
Re: How do you host a ( btest ) server ?
Answer - From North Idaho Tom Jones - admin for btest server 207.32.194.24

Hosting a btest server:
- 1st ; Mikrotik does not oficially endorse or host any btest servers that I know of. Back in 2016, I just made a btest server and posted it to the Mikrotik forums.
- 2nd ; All you need to do is the following:
-- a) configure a Mikrotik (I use a CHR) with a live IP address (so that remote Internet btest-ers can test to it ( TCP send & receive and also UDP send & receive )
-- b) disable any firewalls on the btest server (My btest server does not have any firewalls , I did this so that remote btesters and performs btests to/from it).
--c) on the new btest server you are creating , crease a " btest " user and a " btest " group.
My " btest " user is a member of the " btest " group
My " btest " group has only the following Policies checked " test & winbox & romon & tik.app "
--d) under IP Services , modify every IP Service to only have your IP addresses.
example: winbox Port 8282 should have one or multiple entires for your IP addresses
Note: Use IP Services to pervent others out on the Internet from telnet-ing and/or ssh-ing and/or winbox-ing (an entry for each service)

Then after your new btest server is up and running , simply post here in this forum your IP address and btest user name and password ( I would assume btest and btest ) along with information about where you are , who you are, and what speeds your server can handle for btesting , also include any policy you would like to state so that others can follow your desired btest server policies.
I will then add your btest server to the first posting of this Mikrotik btest forum topic.
If/when you have your btest server running, you are welcome to private message me so that I can take a look at it to make sure everyting looks OK.
If you would like some help , just PM me and I can winbox into your new btest server and configure it for you.

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Mon Feb 18, 2019 10:50 pm

Info - I just updated the 207.32.194.24 btest server from 6.43.11 to 6.43.12

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
agusttt
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:33 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:46 pm

i cannot thank you enough for this
 
gotsprings
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Feb 22, 2019 8:09 pm

Info - I just updated the 207.32.194.24 btest server from 6.43.11 to 6.43.12

North Idaho Tom Jones
THANK YOU!!!
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so."
Mark Twain
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:59 pm

Info - I just updated the 207.32.194.24 btest server from 6.43.12 to 6.44

North Idaho Tom Jones


- and - also check this out …
Martooo has spun up a btest server
Here is a link to his Mikrotik forum topic: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=145303
 
neutronlaser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Mar 01, 2019 3:47 pm

How do you run a bandwidth server on linux?
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Mar 01, 2019 5:56 pm

How do you run a bandwidth server on linux?
Hmmm … How do you run a bandwidth server on linux?

Well , If I were to run a " btest " server on a Linux operating system , I would do it this way:
- 1st , install VMware ESX. This is a free hypervisor for systems such as Linux.
Note - not to be confused with VMware ESXi (which also has a Unix/BSD/Linux operating system)
- 2 , with VMware ESX , you should now be able to run several different guest operating systems at the same time.
- 3 , next , I would purchase a 64-bit Mikrotik router operating system ( CHR )
- 4 , that's 99 percent what to do , the other 1 percent is just basic configuration.

--- Another possible way to do this at zero cost , I have not tested this but it should work ---
- 1st , install Wine on your Linux operating system (Wine lets you run in a near windows environment)
- 2nd , download from Mikrotik something called " btest ". This is a Mikrotik program which will perform btest's both as a client and as a server. ( I've used Mikrotik's btest program on my Windows computers to test network throughput ).


North Idaho Tom Jones
 
neutronlaser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:05 am

Bizarre there is no linux program from mikrotik that does this
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:05 pm

1st - As of this posting right now (March 14th 2019) , this forum topic "Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)" which was started around 3 years ago currently has 332,700 views.
Anybody have a prediction when this topic will hit 1/3 of a million (333,333) views ?
My guess is around the last day of this month.

2nd - This is more of a Mikrotik new-feature wish list:
I would like to see a new optional Mikrotik ROS package which can perform http speedtests between Mikrotiks and client connected computers (something similar to http://my-mikrotik-IP-address/speed-btest).
… Where an optional login/password could be used to perform a http UDP-or-TCP up-or-down bandwidth test
… Where a client computer behind NATted Mikrotik could perform speedtests to their inside Mikrotik gateway IP address , and/or to any Mikrotik IP address out on the Internet.
… Where the Mikrotik admin has some control for maximum bandwidth, number of simultaneous speed-btest testers, and setting to limit how often a client can perform a http speed-btest.
… The Mikrotik http speed-btest should be a simple TCP-up, then TCP-down, then UDP-up then UDP down, followed by a round-trip-ping response time.
… The output after the http speed-btest could then report all kinds of information , including the number of dropped packets during each test -and- it would also be nice to show at what speeds RED ( Random Early Detection ) begins kicking in with dropped packets.
I suspect this type of a Speed-btest server could become very very popular. And the http speed-btest web page could show some pre-configured ISP hosting information and a URL indicating "Powered by Mikrotik" which links to Mikrotik. Mikrotik just might get a boost in sales from something like this.

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Thu Mar 14, 2019 6:57 pm

FYI - I just now (March 14th 2019) updated the public btest server 207.32.194.24
was ROS version 6.44
now ROS version 6.44.1

If you experience any issues after the update - please let me know

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
neutronlaser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Thu Mar 28, 2019 10:48 pm

Mikrotik provide test servers
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Mar 29, 2019 1:35 am

Mikrotik provide test servers
Re : Mikrotik provide test servers

Are you asking " Does Mikrotik provide public btest servers to test to ? "
Answer: No (at least I don't think so)

Are you asking " Does Mikrotik provide (free) physical routers to host a public btest server ? "
Answer: No

Are you asking " Does Mikrotik provide free ROS (CHR) software to host a public btest server? "
Answer: No

Are you asking " Does Mikrotik offset your expense to host a public btest server? "
Answer: No

Are you asking " What are the benefits of hosting a public btest server? "
Answer: You will help hundreds/thousands/tens-of-thousands of network admins by letting them test to your public btest server.

Are you asking " Do I need permission from Mikrotik to host a free public btest server? "
Answer: No

North Idaho Tom Jones
private owner of the public btest server 207.32.194.24 since January 2016
 
neutronlaser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Mar 29, 2019 2:01 am

No, telling them to provide servers like ubiquiti do
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8290
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Mar 29, 2019 10:45 am

No, telling them to provide servers like ubiquiti do
I think it's much easier to add speedtest.net client - they have servers all over the world :)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
vic45708
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 4:37 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Apr 03, 2019 2:44 am

Are any of the servers still available to test 2 routers?
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Apr 03, 2019 6:23 pm

Are any of the servers still available to test 2 routers?
My btest server 207.32.194.24 is still available to btest to.

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Apr 03, 2019 6:27 pm

No, telling them to provide servers like ubiquiti do
I think it's much easier to add speedtest.net client - they have servers all over the world :)
It would be nice if Mikrotik came out with an optional ROS server package which would allow computers to perform http speedtests to a Mikrotik.
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Thu Apr 04, 2019 6:05 pm

FYI - the public access 207.32.194.24 btest server was just now upgraded from ROS 6.44.1 to ROS 6.44.2

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
azol
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 5:06 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:10 pm

Any IPv6 btest servers?
 
phin
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:25 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Sat Apr 13, 2019 8:04 pm

Unable to connect as of today.
 
Tonete
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:46 am
Location: Granada - SPAIN

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:12 pm

System upgraded, but unable to connect Tom's btest Server.
 
neutronlaser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:39 pm

No, telling them to provide servers like ubiquiti do
I think it's much easier to add speedtest.net client - they have servers all over the world :)
It would be nice if Mikrotik came out with an optional ROS server package which would allow computers to perform http speedtests to a Mikrotik.
Be good if they came up with a simple Linux script you could run to host a test server, or have RouterOS test using standard files that the Speedtest web sites use like 100MB bin files.
 
apetryk
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:14 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:26 pm

Unable to connect as of today.
Same here.
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:45 pm

Re : unable to connect

Try it now

I just rebooted the btest server

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:49 pm

Holey smokes …
5 seconds after rebooting the btest server ( 207.32.194.24 ) , I had 3 btesters connected to it.
Either we have some automated bot btesters running or some in this forum are very fast at reading my prior post and then btesting -or- a combination of both.

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
deathandtaxes
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:20 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:12 pm

unable to connect to 207.32.194.24
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:00 am

FYI - just now ( April 24th 2019 @ 2PM North Idaho time )
I updated/upgraded the 207.32.194.24 public access btest server
From: ROS version 6.44.2
To: ROS version 6.44.3

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:07 am

FYI

On average, per every 15 minutes , my 207.32.194.24 btest server will have around 30 different/unique IP addresses of remote Mikrotik devices which have performed a btest.
That's an average of a btest session starting every 30 seconds.

For the last 30 days , the 207.32.194.24 btest server as a 30 day sustained average rate transfer of :
35 meg-bits-per-second to the remote btest client
20 meg-bit-per-second from the remote btest clinet
Combined up/down is 55 meg-bits-per-second

Now a little math to calculate bits per year at current rate : ( ( ( ( 55 meg-bits-per-second * 60 ) * 60 ) * 24 ) * 365 ) = 1,734,480,000,000,000 bits
- that's 1,734 terra-bits !!! also known as 217 terra-bytes
- - - Question - When is the last time you moved 217 terra-bytes to/from the Internet that was not directly related to your Internet customer traffic ?

Note - the above data is "average" not "peak" !

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
dadoremix
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 11:31 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed May 01, 2019 12:31 pm

btest still working ?
from croatia not working
207.32.194.24
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed May 01, 2019 5:45 pm

btest still working ?
from croatia not working
207.32.194.24
I had to reboot it ?

Strange , this is the 3rd time in the last few months I had to reboot it.

The problem started 1 or 2 or 3 ROS versions ago.
What happens is the "BTest-Server-Settings" [x] Enabled and the [x] Authenticate check boxes both somehow become un-checked.
When I reboot my 207.32.194.24 CHR btest server, it comes back with both settings checked again.
Strange … … …
I have not made any changes to the btest server for more than a year - except when a new version of ROS comes out , then I upgrade it.

Is anybody else seeing other strange problems with btest servers or related strange things since the last version (or two) of ROS ?

If it happens again in the near future , I'll send info to Mikrotik's tech support and let them know what I am experiencing with the 207.32.194.24 btest server.

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed May 01, 2019 5:57 pm

Little help here …
I am just now starting to work with IPv6 , grrrrrr
Although I've been doing IP networking for almost 30 years now , I've never played with IPv6
My bad
Anyways, I have setup a test Mikrotik running IPv4 and IPv6 ( not the 207.32.194.24 server) , and I wish to ask if somebody has a IPv6 Mikrotik I can perform a few IPv6 btest(s) to/from.
If somebody is willing to assist, you can post here or PM me.

(FYI - my test IPv6 Mikrotik is on another ISP network I do not manage)
When I get IPv6 running on my network, I may create two more btest servers so that I end up with 3 btest servers. 1-Only IPv4 , 2-Only IPv6, 3-IPv4&IPv6 btest servers. (If Mikrotik is willing to donate the CHR software when I have IPv6 running on my ISP network).


North Idaho Tom Jones
 
sims
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:30 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue May 21, 2019 1:29 am

Hello,
is btest 207.32.194.24 working? I tried from 3 different locations with 6.44.1 and 6.44.3 but without any luck.

Thanks
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue May 21, 2019 2:09 am

Hello,
is btest 207.32.194.24 working? I tried from 3 different locations with 6.44.1 and 6.44.3 but without any luck.

Thanks
Nope - The 207.32.194.24 btest server was down again.
I just rebooted it - it is now up again
It looks like it quit working May 16th at about 8PM PST (Los Angeles time)

The 207.32.194.24 btest server somehow had both the btest enabled & authenticate unchecked.
A reboot of the btest server got it back on-line without making any changes.
I am pretty sure this is a Mikrotik CHR ROS problem - because I have not made any changes to it this year.
Hey Mikrotik - you reading this - I suspect there may be something going on ….

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
sims
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:30 pm

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue May 21, 2019 7:54 pm

Hello,
is btest 207.32.194.24 working? I tried from 3 different locations with 6.44.1 and 6.44.3 but without any luck.

Thanks
Nope - The 207.32.194.24 btest server was down again.
I just rebooted it - it is now up again
It looks like it quit working May 16th at about 8PM PST (Los Angeles time)

The 207.32.194.24 btest server somehow had both the btest enabled & authenticate unchecked.
A reboot of the btest server got it back on-line without making any changes.
I am pretty sure this is a Mikrotik CHR ROS problem - because I have not made any changes to it this year.
Hey Mikrotik - you reading this - I suspect there may be something going on ….

North Idaho Tom Jones
Thanks all good :)
Hope mikrotik will fix this bug, keep on the good job
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Thu May 23, 2019 6:52 pm

Well - rather strange - but It looks like a found a Band-Aid solution temp fix which appears to keep the 207.32.194.24 btest server on-line and available without the random problem where the btest server keeps disabling itself.
What I did was this:
- disable all IP services on the Mikrotik CHR except for www
- change the default www port from 80 to another port number

If you encounter problems with the 207.32.194.24 btest server not responding, please post & let me know.

FYI - I suspect other tik devices could possibly be experiencing the same issue where the IP service (btest in my case) for no reason suddenly quits.

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
danriis
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 29, 2019 1:52 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Thu May 30, 2019 9:40 am

Thanks for making this available, unfortunately I'm not able to make it work. I have the latest packages and firmware, just updated today.
Any thoughts on why it's not working?
 
jimvam
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 11:07 pm
Location: Crete
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:58 am

For me is out as well!
MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCUME Mikrotik Certified GREECE-CRETE
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Jun 04, 2019 5:14 pm

K - I just rebooted it - give it a try now
 
danriis
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 29, 2019 1:52 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Jun 05, 2019 1:54 am

Tried again, no luck, it does seem to connect now but no throughput, here's a screenshot:

[mod@MikroTikLV] > /tool bandwidth-test 207.32.195.2 user=btest password=btest protocol=udp duration=30 direction=receive
status: connecting
rx-current: 0bps
rx-10-second-average: 0bps
rx-total-average: 0bps
lost-packets: 0
random-data: no
direction: receive
rx-size: 1500
connection-count: 20
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:27 am

Tried again, no luck, it does seem to connect now but no throughput, here's a screenshot:

[mod@MikroTikLV] > /tool bandwidth-test 207.32.195.2 user=btest password=btest protocol=udp duration=30 direction=receive
status: connecting
rx-current: 0bps
rx-10-second-average: 0bps
rx-total-average: 0bps
lost-packets: 0
random-data: no
direction: receive
rx-size: 1500
connection-count: 20
hmmm - Some time ago it was 207.32.195.2 - but it was changes around a year ago to 207.32.194.24 ( read the posts )
North Idaho Tom Jones :)
 
danriis
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 29, 2019 1:52 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Jun 05, 2019 4:17 am

Thanks Tom, I did browse through many pages trying to find the latest syntax but apparently missed it. Works great now, really appreciate it.
Dan
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Jun 05, 2019 5:58 pm

Thanks Tom, I did browse through many pages trying to find the latest syntax but apparently missed it. Works great now, really appreciate it.
Dan
Dan - you're a good man :)
I don't care about any mistakes and/or overlooks you make - lol

Happy to know yer working now

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
dadoremix
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 11:31 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:07 pm

Again not working??

User pass btest
Disconnected

Without pass say auth faild

 
evince
Member
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:11 pm
Location: Weiswampach - Luxemburg
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Thu Jun 06, 2019 2:28 pm

Same problem today, unable to connect :(
 
kuklei
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 1:02 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Jun 12, 2019 3:06 pm

same today. Btest server down. I guess its because this is the only server available and many users flood it. Sorry to see only North Idaho Tom Jones hosting one. Someone should step up and offer more severs for the community. We cant realistically expect that only one server will quench the thirst of mikrotik users worldwide.

Thanks NITJ for the service so far. KUDOS
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:14 am

Some good news :D

The btest server 207.32.194.24 is now also IPv6 :)

IPv4 address: 207.32.194.24
IPv6 address: 2605:4e40:0:1fe::

user: btest
password: btest

If I do not see any abuse , then I will keep the IPv6 address also

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Wed Jul 03, 2019 10:39 pm

FYI - update on the btest server(s) for:
IPv4 address: 207.32.194.24
IPv6 address: 2605:4e40:0:1fe::

A few moments ago , I made the following changes to the public accessible btest server:
#1 - Instead of having a single ether1 with both IPv4 and IPv6 addresses , I changed the server so that it is now:
ether1: IPv4 address: 207.32.194.24
ether2: IPv6 address: 2605:4e40:0:1fe::
I did this so that I can get clear graphs for IPv4 traffic and another graph for IPv6 traffic

#2 - I changed the firewall rules (for IPv4 and IPv6) where the wait-time-delay was 15 minutes , the new wait-time-delay is 1 hour.
This is the time a previous btester must wait until they can btest again. I made this test because I see there are some remote users who had scripts that would auto-script a best to my btest server every 15 minutes. This btest server is not intended to be used as a traffic graphing system for other networks. It is intended for Mikrotik admins to be able to manually perform brief btest(s) to verify and test their network reliability and throughput (from time to time - not automatically tested on a pre-configured script schedule).

I would like to ask for some feedback if you don't mind …
--- Who and where-are-you to those who use the btest server ?
--- Does the new IPv6 btest address appear to be working correctly ?
--- And comments are always welcome ……

North Idaho Tom Jones
 
JimRockford
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 5:33 am

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Fri Jul 05, 2019 3:42 am

I would like to ask for some feedback if you don't mind …
--- Who and where-are-you to those who use the btest server ?
--- Does the new IPv6 btest address appear to be working correctly ?
--- And comments are always welcome ……

North Idaho Tom Jones
Hi Tom,

Hope to be near you in Northern Idaho very soon, but for now NE Texas. When I connect to other MikroTiks on our WAN, I get a speedtest back as I would expect, but when I connect to yours, I get a flatline zero. Do I need to change any settings? Thanks for the server.
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 646
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Public-Mikrotik-Bandwidth-Test-Server(s)

Sat Jul 06, 2019 1:06 am

I would like to ask for some feedback if you don't mind …
--- Who and where-are-you to those who use the btest server ?
I've used it perhaps a dozen times over the past 18 months from the region surrounding Wickenburg, Arizona, to ensure periodically that WAN providers are (still) offering the speeds my clients are paying for. This would be much more difficult to do without the service you offer, so thank you so much.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 64 guests