Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
n1am
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 12:00 pm

New Windows NLA profile after Mikrotik upgrade

Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:30 am

Hello guys,
I noticed that sometimes after a Mikrotik upgrade, and the Mikrotik is the DHCP server for the network, Windows NLA (Network Location Awareness Service) create a new network profiles. The only problem is the Windows default network profile Public. The firewall in this profile is more aggressive and deny RDP access, for example.

Is there a way to fix this behaviour?

Thanks
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7603
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

New Windows NLA profile after Mikrotik upgrade

Tue Feb 09, 2016 7:14 pm

If you do use bridge for local network, do you use administrative mac address for it? If not, Windows may detect different networks as the mac is set for the bridge dynamically, therefore can change as the connected ports are changing times to times.
 
n1am
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 12:00 pm

Re: New Windows NLA profile after Mikrotik upgrade

Wed Feb 10, 2016 2:52 pm

If you do use bridge for local network, do you use administrative mac address for it? If not, Windows may detect different networks as the mac is set for the bridge dynamically, therefore can change as the connected ports are changing times to times.
Thank you for the reply. :wink:
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7603
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: New Windows NLA profile after Mikrotik upgrade

Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:12 pm

... and did it help or the problem lies elsewhere?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ammard, anav, brixsat, Google [Bot], vigranad and 147 guests