Page 1 of 1

IPIP Interface always UP (Running)

Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 4:50 pm
by Splash
I have multiple LNS (CCR) devices around the country which I use to provide full HA to our IPIP Tunnel customers.

VRRP is used between sites to allow for a single IPIP Tunnel termination configuration
BGP is used to replicate the active routes to the various VRF's

The issue is that if one creates an IPIP interface on a standby device, it is marked as Running, even though the CPE has not connected to it. This presents a problem when routes are added to the device (LNS) as BGP will in turn replicates them. This would cause routing issues on the network as all routes will be seen as active, but pointing to devices with no customers. (No failure of any devices).

Is there a way to stop the interface from being active until the CPE connects and establishes the IPIP Tunnel, or at least the routes need to remain inactive until the IPIP tunnel is actually up.

Re: IPIP Interface always UP (Running)

Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 6:27 pm
by mrz
If you enable keepalive on tunnel it will be up only if remote router is reachable.

Re: IPIP Interface always UP (Running)

Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 8:19 pm
by Splash
Ah, I thought it was enabled by default, thanks let me give that a try!

... Looking good!

Do you have any recommendations for the Keepalive settings or will the defaults do?

Re: IPIP Interface always UP (Running)

Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 8:29 pm
by Splash
Looking at the configuration: (without any changes between the 2 commands)
/interface ipip
add !keepalive local-address=y.y.y.y name=ipip-1 remote-address=x.x.x.x
/interface ipip
add clamp-tcp-mss=yes disabled=no dont-fragment=no dscp=inherit !ipsec-secret keepalive=10s,10 local-address=y.y.y.y mtu=auto name=ipip-1 remote-address=x.x.x.x
Interestingly, the normal export shows the keepalive as disabled, where the verbose shows it enabled?

This is why I got confused when replicating the configuration?

Re: IPIP Interface always UP (Running)

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 1:18 pm
by mrz
Yes it is a known problem in compact export. We will try to fix this in the future.

Re: IPIP Interface always UP (Running)

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 2:27 pm
by Splash
Perfect! Thanks!

Good to know.