Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
sishith
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 12:02 pm

Memory Usage is Very High

Wed Sep 06, 2006 9:53 am

Hi all Techies,

I am using a Dedicted PC as my mikrotik router and my Router Version is 2.9.28. The system has got 256MB Ram and 40 GB HDD. I have a DHCP,DNS and webproxy server running on this Box.

TOday i observed that my MT box is using around 175MB of RAM size and it is increasing day by day. Can Somebody provide me a solution why is that Happening.

I have Executed the below command and you can see the result for the same.
[admin@MikroTik] > system resource print
uptime: 2w1d3h42m43s
version: "2.9.28"
free-memory: 56880kB
total-memory: 248548kB
cpu: "Intel(R)"
cpu-frequency: 2666MHz
cpu-load: 0
free-hdd-space: 38388588kB
total-hdd-space: 38458356kB
write-sect-since-reboot: 1449560
write-sect-total: 5130208


Thanx in advance.
 
User avatar
maximan
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 12:10 am
Location: Rio Cuarto, Argentina
Contact:

Wed Sep 06, 2006 2:44 pm

It's the webproxy

M.
MKE Solutions > Professional Support IT (Spanish / English)
FastNetMon / FNM Manager: DDoS Detection Tools.
 
sishith
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 12:02 pm

Memory Usage is Very High

Wed Sep 06, 2006 2:49 pm

I know it is Webproxy how can i prevent the usage of RAM Extensively
 
savage
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1220
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:07 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:28 pm

Use a dedicated proxy so that you have access to the configuration files, then tell it how much memory it's allowed to use.

webproxy is really not optimised for heavy usage on MT.
Regards,
Chris
 
GotNet
Member
Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Florida

Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:31 pm

On the other hand, what else would you use the RAM for?
 
karyal
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:09 pm

Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:29 pm

It's the webproxy

M.
With 2.9.28, if he's using routing-test it may be memory leak

Bye,
Ricky

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eworm, Google [Bot], marypoppins, RcRaCk2k, wispmikrotik and 90 guests