Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
devrim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 12:37 am

Hotspot BW problem

Wed Sep 06, 2006 10:17 pm

Hi,

With several days we tried to measure hotspot users internet bandwith.
However we have some problem on hotspot side.

Our configuration shown below

Hotpot Client ----> Wireless/wired -->Mikrotik--->Speedtest machine

We use several scripts two of them from http://www.auditmypc.com/speedtest.asp

However our tests not give us correct results. For example when we tried to measure 256Kb limited user and several test result avarage was 120Kb
And unlimited or 1024Kb limited users have similar result.

But when i tried to download iso file from ftp server with unlimited or limited BW i seen correct values from winbox.

I assume that this measurement program may be buggy or else however
when i tried from somewhere else in network(but limited traffic) all tests
give me near correct results.

Another point we used 2.9.23 RouterOS during test. Then i upgrade 2.9.29
today. And retest again. However results not change!
Ftp iso download test give us more applicable results.

So i wonder somebody tried to test their hotspot users as i did?

If i made mistake somewhere else could you tell me what is it?

thanks
devrim
 
User avatar
aitsecurity
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 12:28 am
Location: venezuela

Re: Hotspot BW problem

Thu Sep 07, 2006 9:51 pm

Hi,

With several days we tried to measure hotspot users internet bandwith.
However we have some problem on hotspot side.

Our configuration shown below

Hotpot Client ----> Wireless/wired -->Mikrotik--->Speedtest machine

We use several scripts two of them from http://www.auditmypc.com/speedtest.asp

However our tests not give us correct results. For example when we tried to measure 256Kb limited user and several test result avarage was 120Kb
And unlimited or 1024Kb limited users have similar result.

But when i tried to download iso file from ftp server with unlimited or limited BW i seen correct values from winbox.

I assume that this measurement program may be buggy or else however
when i tried from somewhere else in network(but limited traffic) all tests
give me near correct results.

Another point we used 2.9.23 RouterOS during test. Then i upgrade 2.9.29
today. And retest again. However results not change!
Ftp iso download test give us more applicable results.

So i wonder somebody tried to test their hotspot users as i did?

If i made mistake somewhere else could you tell me what is it?

thanks
devrim


how many users you have


and you internet bandwidth


how many concurrent user you have
 
devrim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 12:37 am

Fri Sep 08, 2006 1:01 am

We haven't much of users. Estimate 25-30 user in hotspot user side.

Mikrotik Internet side Bandwidth 2Mbit..(G.HDSL)

Concurrent user count up to 15 as i saw before.

However i watch trafic when we made this tests. And mostly
Internet side trafic is not exceed 500kb before test.

During web bw tests user behind mikrotik haven't exceed 150kb

Also yesterday i post new results titled "
Behind Mikrotik strange results!"

As i explain this topic PPPoE give me same result!

Same time we got different results. Ftp bulk data transfer reach upto 1.2Mb. But same time web bulk trafik or other script based traffic measurements only reach 150kb !

I don't understand whats happened! I haven't use web cache
or any limitation on internet side. This machine directly connect another test machine via 2Mb (G.HDSL)

Another point i test our test machine scripts from internet or another location end get correct values.

Somebody say something!
 
User avatar
aitsecurity
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 12:28 am
Location: venezuela

Fri Sep 08, 2006 1:27 am

We haven't much of users. Estimate 25-30 user in hotspot user side.

Mikrotik Internet side Bandwidth 2Mbit..(G.HDSL)

Concurrent user count up to 15 as i saw before.

However i watch trafic when we made this tests. And mostly
Internet side trafic is not exceed 500kb before test.

During web bw tests user behind mikrotik haven't exceed 150kb

Also yesterday i post new results titled "
Behind Mikrotik strange results!"

As i explain this topic PPPoE give me same result!

Same time we got different results. Ftp bulk data transfer reach upto 1.2Mb. But same time web bulk trafik or other script based traffic measurements only reach 150kb !

I don't understand whats happened! I haven't use web cache
or any limitation on internet side. This machine directly connect another test machine via 2Mb (G.HDSL)

Another point i test our test machine scripts from internet or another location end get correct values.

Somebody say something!


mmmm check


in queue simple the hotspot rules is unlimited tx and rx

and check the general queues in queues tree maybe put something there
 
devrim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 12:37 am

Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:40 pm

We haven't much of users. Estimate 25-30 user in hotspot user side.

Mikrotik Internet side Bandwidth 2Mbit..(G.HDSL)

Concurrent user count up to 15 as i saw before.

However i watch trafic when we made this tests. And mostly
Internet side trafic is not exceed 500kb before test.

During web bw tests user behind mikrotik haven't exceed 150kb

Also yesterday i post new results titled "
Behind Mikrotik strange results!" :(

As i explain this topic PPPoE give me same result!

Same time we got different results. Ftp bulk data transfer reach upto 1.2Mb. But same time web bulk trafik or other script based traffic measurements only reach 150kb !

I don't understand whats happened! I haven't use web cache
or any limitation on internet side. This machine directly connect another test machine via 2Mb (G.HDSL)

Another point i test our test machine scripts from internet or another location end get correct values.

Somebody say something!


mmmm check


in queue simple the hotspot rules is unlimited tx and rx

and check the general queues in queues tree maybe put something there
Well i checked everything in config. However i haven't find
anything that related web traffic or limit port 80 traffic.

Simple queue only have hotspot users queues that dynamicly added. Other queues is empty.

I haven't find cure to fix this problem :(
Thanks for your replays..

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LeoMagus, MSN [Bot], Trezona and 67 guests