Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
barkas
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 260
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:51 pm

PAP for Winbox Radius Logins

Thu Apr 14, 2016 5:31 pm

Please make winbox logins with radius as a backend not CHAP-only.

CHAP seems like a good idea at first, until you have to severely compromise password security on the radius server by storing all passwords in cleartext.
Also, usage of two factor authentication is not possible with CHAP.

So please enable use of PAP for that. SSH and telnet already do this, I'm not sure on why winbox doesn't.
 
User avatar
MichelePietravalle
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: PAP for Winbox Radius Logins

Tue Oct 04, 2016 4:12 pm

+1. I'm using OTP on an external radius and With CHAP IS A BIG PROBLEM!

Thanks!
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: PAP for Winbox Radius Logins

Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:55 pm

PAP works fine for radius-based AAA for webfig, but Winbox forces CHAP.

I asked Sergejs (I think it was him - may have been another dev) about this in person back at MUM USA 2012.

He basically said "just use Webfig." I didn't want to argue so I just nodded and moved on to talk to other people, but this leads me to believe that this is another one of those cases where Mikrotik knows better than you do what sort of auth protocol should be used. :/
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.
 
alex1
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 9:37 pm

Re: PAP for Winbox Radius Logins

Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:20 am

Folks,

+1 here.
Almost 10 years passed and it's still an issue. Why not to introduce an option to use PAP for Winbox?
Thank you!

Similar thread is here - winbox login - RADIUS PAP vs CHAP.
 
elmorekevin
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 11:23 pm

Re: PAP for Winbox Radius Logins

Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:20 pm

+1! (exclamation point because I needed 3 characters...now there are many more)
 
emikrotik
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 9:30 am

Re: PAP for Winbox Radius Logins

Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:19 am

+1

Allows for better management.
 
User avatar
juliokato
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 4:27 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: PAP for Winbox Radius Logins

Wed Apr 11, 2018 3:50 pm

I prefer tacacs but mikrotik is not supported.
In the distant future I might change to Diameter
I apologize my grammatical errors, my english not so good, I am not a native speaker.
Wiki is maintained in English. I use Google translator. 8)
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: PAP for Winbox Radius Logins

Thu May 17, 2018 10:59 pm

MS-CHAPv2 would also be nice for Winbox AAA login verification.
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 61 guests