Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
glen66
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 1:58 pm

Speed Issues

Sun Sep 10, 2006 9:44 pm

Hi All

I'm not an expert when it comes to MikroTik, and I'm having a problem with my routeros.

I've got a single ip and I am using nat for a few pc's on my router, I''ve set up a masquerade in the firewall nat section and everything is working fine but I'm getting poor download speeds and great upload speeds.

I've got a symetric 2mb connection and I've checked that it's working before it hits the router.

I've reset everything and started again from scratch, have I missed something?

Any help would be appreciated.

Glen :shock:
 
Stryker777
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:40 pm
Contact:

Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:51 pm

Pretty simple set up.
Couple things to check just to make sure you have everything there.
1) Set default gateway in routes
2) Set route rule for lookup main table
3) Srcnat with action masquerade
4) Make sure dns servers are set up

Not much to it. If you have all of that, then we need more data to tell what is going on.
 
devrim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 12:37 am

Re: Speed Issues

Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:14 pm

Hi All

I'm not an expert when it comes to MikroTik, and I'm having a problem with my routeros.

I've got a single ip and I am using nat for a few pc's on my router, I''ve set up a masquerade in the firewall nat section and everything is working fine but I'm getting poor download speeds and great upload speeds.

I've got a symetric 2mb connection and I've checked that it's working before it hits the router.

I've reset everything and started again from scratch, have I missed something?

Any help would be appreciated.

Glen :shock:

Yes i have same issues..
Could you test ftp connection to bandwith?
Because its look like web connection limited 150kb.. (Per connection)
If you try to use Download accelerator. Every connection limited same.

Please share your experiments with us.

Thanks
devrim
 
glen66
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 1:58 pm

Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:44 pm

Hi all

In my routes I've got the following:

Destination 0.0.0.0/0 -> Gateway 10.64.16.1
Destination 10.64.16.0/20 -> Pref Source 10.64.29.206

Both are on the Public I/F.

I've got Srcnat with action masquerade set up and the Dns servers are ok too.

What is "Set route rule for lookup main table"

Cheers

Glen
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:30 pm

Pretty simple set up.
Couple things to check just to make sure you have everything there.
1) Set default gateway in routes
2) Set route rule for lookup main table
3) Srcnat with action masquerade
4) Make sure dns servers are set up

Not much to it. If you have all of that, then we need more data to tell what is going on.
------------
Hai friend,

That's above same basical config at this link too: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... ght=#48256

regards
Hasbullah.com
------------
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3806
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:33 pm

If its working at all then your configured right ... there is probably an MTU mismatch, or a queue upstream from you. Again, you said things are working they are just slow, so I would think the NAT/firewall rules are working as they should.

Take a packet capture and see if you are finding lots of retransmits - also check to make sure your MTU is what it should be. Also check to make sure ICMP is not being blocked.

Sam
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:55 pm

Hi all

In my routes I've got the following:

Destination 0.0.0.0/0 -> Gateway 10.64.16.1
Destination 10.64.16.0/20 -> Pref Source 10.64.29.206

Both are on the Public I/F.

I've got Srcnat with action masquerade set up and the Dns servers are ok too.

What is "Set route rule for lookup main table"

Cheers

Glen
-----------
Hello glen..

you wrote your_ip/20, what's mean?,....maybe anyone else know, please!

thanks
-----------
 
devrim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 12:37 am

Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:35 am

If its working at all then your configured right ... there is probably an MTU mismatch, or a queue upstream from you. Again, you said things are working they are just slow, so I would think the NAT/firewall rules are working as they should.

Take a packet capture and see if you are finding lots of retransmits - also check to make sure your MTU is what it should be. Also check to make sure ICMP is not being blocked.

Sam
I have similar problem. Double checked everything.
Everything seem working correctly except
poor connection speed especially to web sides.

This issue may not related MTU.

I want to share my experience :
Hotspot user -----> Mikrotik --------->Internet
1) Hotspot(PPPoE) user that behind mikrotik router which is uses src-nat have poor connection quality either limited or unlimited BW.
2) Upload speed dramaticly 4 or 5 times faster than download speed(web connection)
3) When i tried to download something from ftp server speed
goes to near saturing internet lines. My speed access up to 1.4 Mbit. ( All same condutions)
4) Changing client machine, switch, browser etc. haven't change any result.
5) Finally another strande behaviour that when i tried flasget like program download speed going to near ftp speed result.
Its looks like something limiting per connection to particiular speed.. However i haven't set anything like PCQ.

I investigate or firewall and queue rules however i haven't found anything that related this.

So i wonder if glen66 have same problems! If he/she have
may be we found a bug!

thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Guscht, Kindis, LunaticRv, MaRaToN and 120 guests