Community discussions

bcsteeve
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

Pre-purchase advise please

Thu May 12, 2016 11:15 am

Hello. I am new. In fact, before today I never heard of MicroTik. I ran into a problem and someone on SmallNetworkBuilders suggested I look at MicroTik.

I'm considering the RB2011 but want to know if it is suitable.

Currently my WAN is only 15/1 DSL but they are upgrading to Fibre 100/20 in coming months. I need it to be compatible with both (I have zero experience with Fibre).

I'm not concerned about WiFi.

My current problem with my consumer-grade router is bandwidth sharing with my roommate. I can limit each of us to 50% but then when one isn't using it, the other 50% is "wasted". What I want is to be able to share the bandwidth such that 100% (or near it - I understand there will be overhead) is available to either party if possible, but 50% is guaranteed to each. Is that possible with this OS?

Some people say it is impossible to control download, but that doesn't make sense to me since my current router can effectively cap each device. I figure a smarter router should be able to dynamically adjust that cap based on availability (or something to that end)

At the same time, I'd like our (shared) VOIP to have top priority. I can do that with my current router so I'm sure that won't be an issue.

Thanks for your guidance. I'm not looking for a hand-holding step-by-step... just want to know if this hardware will help me with my goal or not.

jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Thu May 12, 2016 1:44 pm

I can say so. It will not be easy but if you are willing to learn, you will succeed finally.

bcsteeve
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

Re: Pre-purchase advise please

Sat May 14, 2016 12:59 am

Thanks... I was hoping for a little more assurance :)