Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
tjohnson
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:01 am

Feature Request: Distance measurement

Fri Sep 15, 2006 5:53 pm

It would be nice to have the distance of a wireless link show up next to the Signal Level in the Wireless/Registration section.

Most other wireless equipment providers show this type of information.
 
durim
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 6:25 pm

Sat Sep 16, 2006 3:28 pm

On more vote from me that would be a great feature
 
User avatar
interlink
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 5:18 am
Location: Ar Ros

Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:55 pm

Please support it...
 
BelWave
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 12:49 am

Re: Feature Request: Distance measurement

Wed Sep 20, 2006 2:20 am

It would be nice to have the distance of a wireless link show up next to the Signal Level in the Wireless/Registration section.

Most other wireless equipment providers show this type of information.
ditto...Trango has spoiled us with this feature.

Best,

Brad
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Wed Sep 20, 2006 2:18 pm

it would be a groovey feature but its nothing that i cant do with my gps or even a paper map
 
voip4life
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:52 pm
Location: US

Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:22 am

This would be an excellent feature to have in the future!
it would be a groovey feature but its nothing that i cant do with my gps or even a paper map
Will you map out the distance for all 5000 subscribers for me with your gps and map? Thanks.

Oh, and could you have that ready by tomorrow :D
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:30 am

Sure, and I can give you lat/long not just distance.

voip4life how far does a radiowave travel in 1us ? and is that affected much by the length of coax type of radio card and cpu speed?
 
User avatar
tjohnson
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:01 am

Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:52 am

Many other radio providers (Trango, Motorola, Redline, etc.) are able to calculate the distance from the signal timing. It should be a simple addition and would just make things easier by having everything on a single screen... rather than having to bring up a network map because you can't remember if that link is 10 miles or 15 miles. :D
 
User avatar
BrianHiggins
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:07 am
Location: Norwalk, CT
Contact:

Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:29 am

a decent aproximation would be quite usefull at times, but I do not think it's essential, google earth does a decent enough job. (but don't get me wrong, I would prefer to see it included!!)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: george72 and 50 guests