Community discussions

 
spokke
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:09 am

one interface two pppoe-client

Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:17 pm

Hello everyone ..
I setup  various routerboard vlan (internal)  by turning the hotspot on a specific VLAN and everything works .. the main routerboard ( which acts as a hotspot controller ) has a main pppoe connection with a public ip that i use for other connection  .. I need a second pppoe to nat clients for the hotspot with a different public ip .. if i add the second connection pppoe the first disconnecting for about 10 seconds and then reconnect disconettening the second and so on .. can i however have two pppoe client on the same interface ( same pppoe server) ..? 
thank you

edit .. if i remove flag "add default route" on second pppoe connection the default route is added anyway on route table  :shock:
 
Ghaith93
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 5:51 pm

Re: one interface two pppoe-client

Wed Jul 06, 2016 4:44 am

Hi

you can't connect more than pppoe on same mac address 

**your ISP make this rule**

try to divide on 2 interface using Switch  
 
spokke
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:09 am

Re: one interface two pppoe-client

Wed Jul 06, 2016 10:40 am

Hi

you can't connect more than pppoe on same mac address 

**your ISP make this rule**

try to divide on 2 interface using Switch  
so if i set more addresses for mac in pppoe server (i'm ISP :D ) can work ? 
thank you 
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: one interface two pppoe-client

Wed Jul 06, 2016 11:14 am

Use one pppoe-client and route the additional IP to it.
You will need to manually assign it on the client RouterBoard.

Nick
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5923
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: one interface two pppoe-client

Wed Jul 06, 2016 12:24 pm

Or you could run an autorouting protocol like BGP (with a private AS number) to cover cases like this.
Of course not linked to the full internet BGP!
 
spokke
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:09 am

Re: one interface two pppoe-client

Wed Jul 06, 2016 12:52 pm

Use one pppoe-client and route the additional IP to it.
You will need to manually assign it on the client RouterBoard.

Nick
like a /30 .. i will try 
thank you for idea
 
spokke
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:09 am

Re: one interface two pppoe-client

Wed Jul 06, 2016 12:53 pm

Or you could run an autorouting protocol like BGP (with a private AS number) to cover cases like this.
Of course not linked to the full internet BGP!
it's seem a bit difficult for my network topology ... :/
will try with a /30 thank you 
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5923
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: one interface two pppoe-client

Wed Jul 06, 2016 2:16 pm

Now I have a little experience with it I use it all the time and don't have to worry anymore
about what addresses and what subnets are located where.
BGP is really simple to setup.  But maybe it is something to remember when more situations
like this do appear.
 
spokke
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:09 am

Re: one interface two pppoe-client

Wed Jul 06, 2016 5:50 pm

Now I have a little experience with it I use it all the time and don't have to worry anymore
about what addresses and what subnets are located where.
BGP is really simple to setup.  But maybe it is something to remember when more situations
like this do appear.
i will study ... i'm using with cisco router for eBGP .. it's possible to use iBGP with switched network (all with rstp).. and pppoe client with only one central server ??
thank you again
p.s. with /30 it's working fine .. 
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5923
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: one interface two pppoe-client

Wed Jul 06, 2016 6:09 pm

I use only eBGP, on a closed network, and it is very easy to get going on MikroTik.
Only set an AS number from the private range, and set "redistribute connected", then add Peer
items for the directly connected routers with nexthop-choice=force-self ttl=1 and the peer AS and IP.
Optionally (recommended) add a simple output filter that accepts your network range and discards all others,
like:
add action=accept chain=filter-out prefix=10.0.0.0/8 prefix-length=8-32
add action=discard chain=filter-out

From then on, no routing worries anymore :-)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 125 guests