Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
azurtem
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Nice, France
Contact:

RB260GSP default gateway ?

Thu Jul 21, 2016 1:36 pm

Hi

How does one configure the default gateway on an RB260GSP (running F/W 1.15) ?
I'd like to gain remote access to it, via PPtP link to the the client't network, but can't reach this device

Secondly, is it possible to schedule reboots on this switch ?

Thirdly, can I monitor this switch via SNMP ?

Thanks
yann
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1346
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: RB260GSP default gateway ?

Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:52 pm

How does one configure the default gateway on an RB260GSP (running F/W 1.15) ?
You can not configure the default gateway, but the device is so dumb it should work even without one. Check out this quote from the official documentation: "Note: SwOS uses a simple algorithm to ensure TCP/IP communication - it just replies to the same IP and MAC address packet came from. This way there is no need for Default Gateway on the device itself".
Secondly, is it possible to schedule reboots on this switch ?
No. At least not using SwOS itself.
Thirdly, can I monitor this switch via SNMP ?
Yes, you can. But beware that this device has a weak CPU, so too aggressive monitoring may render your device unresponsive.
 
User avatar
azurtem
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Nice, France
Contact:

Re: RB260GSP default gateway ?

Thu Jul 21, 2016 8:57 pm

Thank you very much Andriys

Could you suggest a way to periodically, or at worse remotely, reboot this device ?
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6503
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: RB260GSP default gateway ?

Thu Jul 21, 2016 9:22 pm

Could you suggest a way to periodically, or at worse remotely, reboot this device ?
Does it require that?
In that case, I would say: replace it.
There are enough devices like that on the market that work OK without rebooting...
If it were some exotic device that happens to have a problem and cannot be replaced, the usual way would be to insert a
time switch in front of it.   But in this case it does not seem to be worth it.
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1346
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: RB260GSP default gateway ?

Fri Jul 22, 2016 2:07 pm

Could you suggest a way to periodically ... reboot this device ?
What for?
 
blingblouw
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:43 am

Re: RB260GSP default gateway ?

Fri Jul 22, 2016 5:34 pm

Could you suggest a way to periodically, or at worse remotely, reboot this device ?
Does it require that?
In that case, I would say: replace it.
There are enough devices like that on the market that work OK without rebooting...
If it were some exotic device that happens to have a problem and cannot be replaced, the usual way would be to insert a
time switch in front of it.   But in this case it does not seem to be worth it.
Enough devices? Besides and edge switch or tough switch (or powebox). What other passive Poe switches exist?
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6503
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: RB260GSP default gateway ?

Fri Jul 22, 2016 5:46 pm

You can use any switch with external PoE injectors.
What I mean is: when there is a reason to want to regularly reboot the device, dump it.
You only want to do that when there is no choice and the single manufacturer can't get it right.
(e.g. Microsoft Windows boxes in the past.  not so much, anymore)
 
User avatar
azurtem
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Nice, France
Contact:

Re: RB260GSP default gateway ?

Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:46 pm

Thanks all


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
User avatar
azurtem
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Nice, France
Contact:

Re: RB260GSP default gateway ?

Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:16 am

Well, the problem was actually due to missing rules in IP Bindings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], cj3666, DL7JP, McSee and 127 guests