Community discussions

 
Yoshisland
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:54 am

How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:58 am

Hello friends,

I am a layperson on the subject, so I have to learn how to configure a VPN using the IPv6 protocol and then keep the IPv4 protocol for other equipment. This is possible using RB750p? How to configure? Is there any tutorial available?

Thanks!!!
 
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Fri Jul 22, 2016 9:51 am

no one will answer you in this forum
Router OS  does not support ipv6 assignment on any VPN protocol
but u can use windows server for this purpose (I have already done this before)
but its not as easy as ipv4
because in ipv4 you just setup pool of private IP (192.168.x.x) and use masquerade rule to NAT them into your public IP
but in ipv6 you need at least /64 public IP pool and they must routed to your  server public ipv6 IP which the clients  can use it as default gateway

sorry for my English  I'm  not  good in English
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
 
dboreham
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 4:17 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Fri Jul 22, 2016 4:23 pm

Router OS  does not support ipv6 assignment on any VPN protocol
I have pptp server running on RouterOS providing IPv6 connectivity to its clients. I'm not sure if this is the goal of the OP, or even if this is what you're saying is not possible.
 
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Fri Jul 22, 2016 11:13 pm

Router OS  does not support ipv6 assignment on any VPN protocol
I have pptp server running on RouterOS providing IPv6 connectivity to its clients. I'm not sure if this is the goal of the OP, or even if this is what you're saying is not possible.
show it
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
 
dboreham
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 4:17 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Sat Jul 23, 2016 9:44 pm

Router OS  does not support ipv6 assignment on any VPN protocol
I have pptp server running on RouterOS providing IPv6 connectivity to its clients. I'm not sure if this is the goal of the OP, or even if this is what you're saying is not possible.
show it
/ipv6 pool
add name=inside_ipv6vpn prefix=200X:XXXX:XXXX:XXXX::/60 prefix-length=64

/ppp profile
add dhcpv6-pd-pool=inside_ipv6vpn dns-server=192.168.XX.X local-address=\
    192.168.X.1 name=inside_vpn remote-address=inside_vpn \
    remote-ipv6-prefix-pool=inside_ipv6vpn use-encryption=yes
add dns-server=192.168.XX.X local-address=192.168.YY.1 name=outside_vpn \
    remote-address=outside_vpn use-encryption=yes

/interface pptp-server server
set enabled=yes


 
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Sun Jul 24, 2016 7:34 am

yes i know it
but i don't know why it does assign ipv6 to the client
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
 
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:23 am

there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
 
dboreham
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 4:17 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Sun Jul 24, 2016 5:14 pm

there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
Because each client gets a /64 probably.
 
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:59 pm

there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
Because each client gets a /64 probably.
yes but it must work with /64 pool because it has /64  free that can complete with EUI64 ( it works in windows server )
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
 
dboreham
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 4:17 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:37 pm

there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
Because each client gets a /64 probably.
yes but it must work with /64 pool because it has /64  free that can complete with EUI64 ( it works in windows server )
Do you mean "it should work"? For one client, yes I agree it should work (one /64 per client). Perhaps it wants a /64 for both ends of the connection (and Windows Server does not).
Why don't you assign it the larger-than-/64 subnet it needs?
 
dboreham
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 4:17 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:41 pm

there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
Because each client gets a /64 probably.
yes but it must work with /64 pool because it has /64  free that can complete with EUI64 ( it works in windows server )
Do you mean "it should work"? For one client, yes I agree it should work (one /64 per client). Perhaps it wants a /64 for both ends of the connection (and Windows Server does not).
Why don't you assign it the larger-than-/64 subnet it needs?
I did a test with my server and Windows as a client : it did not assign a subnet from the pool to the pptp server end of the connection (it has a link-local address only).
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:12 pm

The big thing here is that Mikrotik's dhcpv6 server only works as a dhcpv6-pd server (not as a stateless server for information options only / not as a stateful server that assigns leases for individual host addresses in a given network). If this has been changed, and ROS is able to do this, then I missed that announcement.

Is it possible to configure the Mikrotik to send RA messages to VPN endpoints so that they can use EUI-64?
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.
 
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Wed Jul 27, 2016 10:05 pm

there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
Because each client gets a /64 probably.
yes but it must work with /64 pool because it has /64  free that can complete with EUI64 ( it works in windows server )
Do you mean "it should work"? For one client, yes I agree it should work (one /64 per client). Perhaps it wants a /64 for both ends of the connection (and Windows Server does not).
Why don't you assign it the larger-than-/64 subnet it needs?
when you use /48 pool  in  mikrotik  you assign /64 to your endpoint client
but when you use /64 pool  to provide clients only with a single IP (/128)
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
 
dboreham
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 4:17 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:27 am

there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
Because each client gets a /64 probably.
yes but it must work with /64 pool because it has /64  free that can complete with EUI64 ( it works in windows server )
Do you mean "it should work"? For one client, yes I agree it should work (one /64 per client). Perhaps it wants a /64 for both ends of the connection (and Windows Server does not).
Why don't you assign it the larger-than-/64 subnet it needs?
when you use /48 pool  in  mikrotik  you assign /64 to your endpoint client
but when you use /64 pool  to provide clients only with a single IP (/128)
But that doesn't work.
 
foxpdll
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Fri Nov 01, 2019 5:27 pm

The are 6.44.7 where is support of some tunnel over ipv6?
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5926
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Fri Nov 01, 2019 5:51 pm

There are 3 tunnel types that run over IPv6, see under Interfaces + button.
I regularly use GRE6 and it works OK.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot], PiGeonCZ and 84 guests