Page 1 of 1

How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:58 am
by Yoshisland
Hello friends,

I am a layperson on the subject, so I have to learn how to configure a VPN using the IPv6 protocol and then keep the IPv4 protocol for other equipment. This is possible using RB750p? How to configure? Is there any tutorial available?

Thanks!!!

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 9:51 am
by irghost
no one will answer you in this forum
Router OS  does not support ipv6 assignment on any VPN protocol
but u can use windows server for this purpose (I have already done this before)
but its not as easy as ipv4
because in ipv4 you just setup pool of private IP (192.168.x.x) and use masquerade rule to NAT them into your public IP
but in ipv6 you need at least /64 public IP pool and they must routed to your  server public ipv6 IP which the clients  can use it as default gateway

sorry for my English  I'm  not  good in English

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 4:23 pm
by dboreham
Router OS  does not support ipv6 assignment on any VPN protocol
I have pptp server running on RouterOS providing IPv6 connectivity to its clients. I'm not sure if this is the goal of the OP, or even if this is what you're saying is not possible.

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 11:13 pm
by irghost
Router OS  does not support ipv6 assignment on any VPN protocol
I have pptp server running on RouterOS providing IPv6 connectivity to its clients. I'm not sure if this is the goal of the OP, or even if this is what you're saying is not possible.
show it

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 9:44 pm
by dboreham
Router OS  does not support ipv6 assignment on any VPN protocol
I have pptp server running on RouterOS providing IPv6 connectivity to its clients. I'm not sure if this is the goal of the OP, or even if this is what you're saying is not possible.
show it
/ipv6 pool
add name=inside_ipv6vpn prefix=200X:XXXX:XXXX:XXXX::/60 prefix-length=64

/ppp profile
add dhcpv6-pd-pool=inside_ipv6vpn dns-server=192.168.XX.X local-address=\
    192.168.X.1 name=inside_vpn remote-address=inside_vpn \
    remote-ipv6-prefix-pool=inside_ipv6vpn use-encryption=yes
add dns-server=192.168.XX.X local-address=192.168.YY.1 name=outside_vpn \
    remote-address=outside_vpn use-encryption=yes

/interface pptp-server server
set enabled=yes



Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 7:34 am
by irghost
yes i know it
but i don't know why it does assign ipv6 to the client

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:23 am
by irghost
there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 5:14 pm
by dboreham
there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
Because each client gets a /64 probably.

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:59 pm
by irghost
there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
Because each client gets a /64 probably.
yes but it must work with /64 pool because it has /64  free that can complete with EUI64 ( it works in windows server )

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:37 pm
by dboreham
there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
Because each client gets a /64 probably.
yes but it must work with /64 pool because it has /64  free that can complete with EUI64 ( it works in windows server )
Do you mean "it should work"? For one client, yes I agree it should work (one /64 per client). Perhaps it wants a /64 for both ends of the connection (and Windows Server does not).
Why don't you assign it the larger-than-/64 subnet it needs?

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:41 pm
by dboreham
there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
Because each client gets a /64 probably.
yes but it must work with /64 pool because it has /64  free that can complete with EUI64 ( it works in windows server )
Do you mean "it should work"? For one client, yes I agree it should work (one /64 per client). Perhaps it wants a /64 for both ends of the connection (and Windows Server does not).
Why don't you assign it the larger-than-/64 subnet it needs?
I did a test with my server and Windows as a client : it did not assign a subnet from the pool to the pptp server end of the connection (it has a link-local address only).

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:12 pm
by ZeroByte
The big thing here is that Mikrotik's dhcpv6 server only works as a dhcpv6-pd server (not as a stateless server for information options only / not as a stateful server that assigns leases for individual host addresses in a given network). If this has been changed, and ROS is able to do this, then I missed that announcement.

Is it possible to configure the Mikrotik to send RA messages to VPN endpoints so that they can use EUI-64?

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 10:05 pm
by irghost
there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
Because each client gets a /64 probably.
yes but it must work with /64 pool because it has /64  free that can complete with EUI64 ( it works in windows server )
Do you mean "it should work"? For one client, yes I agree it should work (one /64 per client). Perhaps it wants a /64 for both ends of the connection (and Windows Server does not).
Why don't you assign it the larger-than-/64 subnet it needs?
when you use /48 pool  in  mikrotik  you assign /64 to your endpoint client
but when you use /64 pool  to provide clients only with a single IP (/128)

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:27 am
by dboreham
there it is
the problem is
assignment does not work with /64 pool
Because each client gets a /64 probably.
yes but it must work with /64 pool because it has /64  free that can complete with EUI64 ( it works in windows server )
Do you mean "it should work"? For one client, yes I agree it should work (one /64 per client). Perhaps it wants a /64 for both ends of the connection (and Windows Server does not).
Why don't you assign it the larger-than-/64 subnet it needs?
when you use /48 pool  in  mikrotik  you assign /64 to your endpoint client
but when you use /64 pool  to provide clients only with a single IP (/128)
But that doesn't work.

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 5:27 pm
by foxpdll
The are 6.44.7 where is support of some tunnel over ipv6?

Re: How to create a VPN in IPv6 - RB750p

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 5:51 pm
by pe1chl
There are 3 tunnel types that run over IPv6, see under Interfaces + button.
I regularly use GRE6 and it works OK.