Community discussions

 
santajosh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:20 pm

Microsoft network browsing disable and bandwith limit

Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:17 pm

Hi!

How can I made my client invisible from each other when there is a Mikrotik with a DHCP server static IP address pool + ARP (reply only).
There are 10 PC, and I don't like to there is file transfer between the PC-s, or any other network browsing.

Another question is: how to make only the Internet connection bandwith limit to the clients? I have a Mikrotik with Internet 3M/1M and I like to share the Internet between 10 PC-s, only allow speed by IP address. I configure the DHCP server DHCP lease RATE LIMIT, but if I put a File server to this network what will be the speed to the File server (there will be a bandwith limit what I add in the RATE limit?) Or How can I accomplish this?
I like only the Internet bandwith limiting by IP address.


Thank You in advice

Josh

Mikrotik IP : 192.168.100.1/24
Client: 192.168.100.100-110
Server: 192.168.100.2
 
User avatar
kolorasta
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Argentina

Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:20 am

your first question... you don't want any connection between pcs of your lan?

your seccond question...i don't understand it.
you have in your lan 10 pcs... and where is the file server? within this 10 pcs?
you only want your pcs only to access the file server and internet?
Why you want to limit internet by ip? isn't a PCQ schema suitable for you?

sorry for these many questions, but i want to understand your situation before say anything...

thanks and sorry for my poor english
 
santajosh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:20 pm

Fri Sep 29, 2006 9:07 am

"your first question... you don't want any connection between pcs of your lan?" - Yes you are right.


10 Pc an 1 file server 1 Mikrotik in this LAN connected to a switch. I like the users to access the File server and the Internet only (with bandwith limit/IP).
I like bandwith limit to the Internet by clients (IP). There is fix IP in the network for the clients.

Do you have some example in PCQ? Is better for me?


Thanks!
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Sep 29, 2006 10:53 am

here you can read about queues
http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.9/root/queue

there ou can find a lot of info about queue types and when they are more suitable than other types :)

good luck.

and the simplest configuration for you to make "invisible" other clients set each of them in diferent network :)

like 192.168.0.1 for MT and server
192.168.1.1 for first client to 192.168.10.1 for last one :) and with simple routing. that wy clients wont be able to see eeach other.

just do not forget to set route to server that clients can assess it.

but that is just a lame idea to do so. IMHO
 
santajosh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:20 pm

Fri Sep 29, 2006 11:20 am

Thanks I will read but how this is works?!
If I made a Simple queue to 192.168.100.100 (512k/128k) what will be the client speed to the file server (192.168.100.2) ?

Not a bad idiea to use different subnets, but...I like firewall rule or something...
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Sep 29, 2006 11:34 am

actauly it is bad idea to use diferent subnets :)

but for PCQ - you shoud set target as netowrk so everyone in network will be affected by queue.

and PCQ divides bandwith equaly to all affected ip. just configure it right

and to seperate your LAN suers you can sue VLAN.
 
santajosh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:20 pm

Fri Sep 29, 2006 11:42 am

OK :D

Ok I try PCQ...
Some Vlan example?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:33 pm

http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.9/interface/vlan

and remember - manual is your friend - not your enemy
:roll:
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Fri Sep 29, 2006 5:03 pm

why is it bad to use different subnets??

also if you are tying to stop windows file sharing you wont be able to do that with a firewall if all the clients are on the same switch, or span of switches as windows file sharing does not use IP.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 114 guests