Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
pedja
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 5:37 am

Limiting access by signal level?

Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:56 pm

I noticed that most of open AP's have problems with unknown clients that connect to AP but have too low signal for normal operation. That causes problems to others connected to the same AP.

It came to my mind idea that it would be great if we could set AP to simply refuse connections fromclients which do not have required signal level.

I guess technically that is possible if MT can measure received signal level of each wireless client.
 
User avatar
BrianHiggins
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:07 am
Location: Norwalk, CT
Contact:

Sun Oct 01, 2006 8:08 pm

this would be cool, but not essential. you could duplicate this feature with some scripting if you really wanted it.
 
dorijan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 12:42 am
Location: Croatia

Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:26 pm

I think you can do this in 2.9.x withous any script
you just define in connect list minimal signal strenght...
 
User avatar
savagedavid
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Tue Dec 05, 2006 10:59 pm

beta 3 has this feature in the access list
 
noam_chom
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 5:55 am

Re: Limiting access by signal level?

Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:35 pm

This could be excelent feature, I don't know why noone from mt haven't answered or proposed an alternative solution to this. Using a script is not a solution since the problem would be allready made till the script detect the level of the client signal strength.
Using access list is not an option for a public hotspot.
I tried to solve the problem setting ack timeout to static value (e.g. 385) , I've got some improvements, but ack timeout is not the right solution to this.
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Limiting access by signal level?

Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:01 am

Using access list is not an option for a public hotspot.
Why not?
I think that would be the perfect (and only!) solution to this. Just configure the access-list to deny association to clients with a signal strength below -80 (or whatever you like).
This would work for a public hot-spot, too. You would not have to allow every MAC address, if you think of that...

Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
noam_chom
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 5:55 am

Re: Limiting access by signal level?

Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:20 pm

Using access list is not an option for a public hotspot.
Why not?
I think that would be the perfect (and only!) solution to this. Just configure the access-list to deny association to clients with a signal strength below -80 (or whatever you like).
This would work for a public hot-spot, too. You would not have to allow every MAC address, if you think of that...

Best regards,
Christian Meis
:-) It didn't occurred to me that the access list could be used with just the signal-strength parameter, and yes you are right that could be solution in 3.0 > versions.
But the problem still exists in the 2.9.45. I am using 3.0rc1 for testing purposes only on one of my RB532's but it still got some issues.
So I am stuck with the problem for now I suppose.

Best wishes,
Ilija
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Limiting access by signal level?

Tue Aug 28, 2007 1:12 pm

tehn check you rc3 and see if you still have problems, if you do, create supout.rif and send it to support@mikrotik.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: che, Google [Bot], McSee and 58 guests