Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
kschaefer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:48 am

Best Source for Blocking lists (Chinese spammers/hackers)?

Tue Oct 03, 2006 4:08 pm

Any good recommendations on where to find good lists?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Oct 03, 2006 4:30 pm

write your own

or just manage your ROS security so that only from trusted locations you can login
thats what i do :roll:
 
kschaefer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:48 am

Not good enough.

Thu Oct 05, 2006 5:40 am

It doesn't make sense. Everybody doing their own thing. 180 domains and 1000+ email accounts is too much to leave open.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24496
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:58 am

why do you need 180 domains to access your router? all you need to do is leave admin access to your router. or are you talking about someone hacking your customer's PC? then this is a completely different thing.
 
danielillu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 5:37 am
Location: Barcelona, Spain

Thu Oct 05, 2006 3:48 pm

I think kschaefer refers to lists of typical "malware addresses" (usually from china) to ban them directly at external routers, preventing then any intent to establish a comunication to that addresses.

But I don't know any place to start searching. yo could try looking for p2p banned ip listings. and from then digg the net a while.
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 971
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Thu Oct 05, 2006 4:17 pm

I see where his question is coming from...i do the same and that is to drop all traffic from the korea and china IP blocks...i know this does not block all of china but it blocks some and essentially nothing good comes out of china internetwise so my customers dont need it.

see:

http://www.okean.com/sinokorea.txt

or search google for china ip block or range
 
kschaefer
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:48 am

Thanks.

Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:39 am

Thank you Daniel and jo2jo. Yes. I have MT as a core router to the net with dual T1 and just want to block large chunks of China (and other spammers sniffers exploiters) from accessing our web hosting servers.
 
Stryker777
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:40 pm
Contact:

Sat Oct 07, 2006 8:22 am

That is the list I have used in the past. It did reduce the traffic drastically.
 
danielillu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 5:37 am
Location: Barcelona, Spain

Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:00 pm

how do you add all these huge amount of lines?
one at a time? :S or there is any faster method I don't know?
 
Stryker777
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:40 pm
Contact:

Mon Oct 09, 2006 4:39 am

I just put them into a spread sheet, then added my rule before the ip, and the part after the ip. Copied them to every cell in the columns and then copied and pasted into gedit. After that, I copied and pasted into router.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lualdise, MSN [Bot], tomlouwell and 107 guests