Community discussions

 
markmcn
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:15 am

RB2011 Port Bouncing

Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:10 pm

Hi All,
I've just encountered a really strange issue with a Synology NAS and 3 RB2011 boards. On the Gig ports when I connect the NAS the port either keeps bouncing or is unusable due to FCS errors. I've changed the patch cable and same thing. If I change RB to only advertise 100Mbps Full Duplex then the port comes up and the rate at which the FCS error's go up is still alarming but slower rate. I reset the RB and made sure it was the latest version of ROS and firmware. Thinking it was the NAS I tried it on 2 other 2011's only to find the exact same behavior. I then connected it to an RB951G and no problem at all. I've used the same gig port on the 2011 as an uplink to the 951 with no issue. It's only an issue when the NAS connects directly to the 2011.
Has anyone seen an issue like this before ?
Thanks
Mark
 
induktor
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:21 pm
Location: argentina

Re: RB2011 Port Bouncing

Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:58 pm

Hi
Yes, I have seen this, and in my case was the network card of the NAS, different chipsets has marginally different signal power levels, it could be enough for one type rig but maybe not for another type.

since you have tested three RB 2011 , and all of them do the same but the 951G works, so I think that the network card of your NAS is dying, the signal is lower than the standard output levels, and may be enough for the chipset that the 951G uses, but not for the RB2011

if there is any hardware mikrotik specialist here will be able to explain better than me (or tell me that i am full of..it... :lol: )
 
gerakon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 8:14 am

Re: RB2011 Port Bouncing

Sat Sep 17, 2016 6:11 am

I would tend to agree with inductor. So I thought hey just plug in a USB NIC and it will probably work again, but after a quick google search it looks like many people have tried and failed to get a USB NIC to work with Synology hardware. I have 2 DS212j's so I thought I'd give it a try. I tried 3 different USB NICs and couldn't get any of them to show up in the network interface page in DSM. There were slightly different results running dmesg, but all results seemed to indicate a problem with the NICs or loading a driver. At least one of the NICs shows up fine in my Mint 17.3 system. lspci doesn't seem to show anything on my NAS, not sure why (maybe Synology blocked it).

Which model NAS do you have? If it had dual NICs I assume you would have mentioned it..... Some of their higher end models you can add a NIC to......
Any chance you have access to another same model NAS to see if the results are the same?
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: RB2011 Port Bouncing

Sat Sep 17, 2016 10:41 am

I've seen this on the lower end Synology's - has to do with the ethernet interface they use in them. I have a 1515+ at home with all 4 interfaces bonded with no issues. But a 212 will bound the port. I don't have an answer, but I think it's something to do with the power management. The interface is trying to reduce the power level to a "green" level, but then can't sustain the signal. Unfortunately, some ethernet PHY's are simply incompatible with others.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
gerakon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 8:14 am

Re: RB2011 Port Bouncing

Sat Sep 17, 2016 7:14 pm

This isn't an ideal solution, but if you don't want to buy hardware or much more hardware, if you have a USB NIC you could try using it on the RB2011. If you really need gigabit to your NAS this isn't a good solution, but my NAS doesn't get hit that hard so it would maybe work for some people.

Here's a list of USB NICs/chipsets that might work.
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Supported ... B_Ethernet
 
markmcn
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:15 am

Re: RB2011 Port Bouncing

Sat Sep 17, 2016 10:22 pm

Hi All,
Thanks for the info, Atleast I know I'm not the only one who has seen this issue.
For the record and so anyone else who is reading can reference the NAS i'm seeing this with is a Synology DS215j
Thanks
Mark
 
User avatar
llaporta
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 1:25 pm
Location: Buenos Aires

Re: RB2011 Port Bouncing

Sat Sep 17, 2016 10:39 pm

I don't think that replacing the onboard NIC with a USB one would be a good idea, if markmcn needs gigabit connection then he needs decent throughput, usb nics are slow as F%!/*

At this point, unless you have some values to tune on the synology to disable power management on the NIC to see if it up the signal level a bit (which i don't think it will be possible, hope i am wrong!) the only solution i could think of, is to sacrifice the 951G as a switch :) because you already know it works, you already have it, and replacing the NAS would be a LOT more expensive than purchasing another 951G.
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: RB2011 Port Bouncing

Sun Sep 18, 2016 6:49 am

I would most definitely go with a small gigabit switch in between the router and NAS before using a USB interface.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
markmcn
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:15 am

Re: RB2011 Port Bouncing

Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:06 pm

I've relocated the NAS to connect to the 951G,
Interesting thing is that I've tried it with a few switches and the 2011 is the only device giving this issue.
One interesting point is that both the 951G & 2011 use the same switch chip for the gig ports (Atheros 8327)
Kind Regards
Mark
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: RB2011 Port Bouncing

Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:24 am

The switch chip and the PHY are two different parts. the PHY is the physical interface that does the actual connection
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
markmcn
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:15 am

Re: RB2011 Port Bouncing

Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:36 am

Agreed I'll open up to get balun part numbers and compare some evening
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: RB2011 Port Bouncing

Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:38 am

I would love some hi-res photos of each board.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
induktor
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:21 pm
Location: argentina

Re: RB2011 Port Bouncing

Thu Sep 22, 2016 10:30 pm

I would love some hi-res photos of each board.
i can do that, give me the weekend, i have both rigs, the most critical one is the RB2011 that i have to take it off the rack without leaving everyone without internet hehe.

if both use the same PHY then i will be completely lost :lol:

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 81 guests