Community discussions

 
tsouzar
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 8:40 am

The need for such big amount of RAM in CCRs

Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:57 am

Guys,

I was asking myself if CCRs need that big amount RAM they come with for anything more than full BGP feeds. Do they?
Is there anything else that would take so much RAM?

I've heard about queues being a big RAM consumer (maybe for buffers). Is that right? And what about conntrack, does it need much memory?

I ask that because I wondering if one CCR1009, that comes with fixed 2GB RAM, would be sufficient for up to 1000 SFQ queues, total traffic of 1Gbps and some firewall rules (mostly stateless, but some stateful also).

Still talking about queues, would 2 PCQ queues (one for download and other for upload) be less resource intensive that 1 SFQ queue for each of hundreds of hosts?

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by tsouzar on Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
rodolfo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 543
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:50 am

Re: The need for such big amount of RAM in CCRs

Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:28 pm

One full bgp table require 500MB.
So, 2GB are sufficient.
rodolfo
IZ0UQV
 
tsouzar
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 8:40 am

Re: The need for such big amount of RAM in CCRs

Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:14 am

One full bgp table require 500MB.
So, 2GB are sufficient.
Yep, that was just an example of what I know to be huge RAM consumer in RouterOS.

I'm more interested in knowing which are other RouterOS' features that may spend much RAM so justify 2GB on a router.
Or maybe MikroTik was only looking at BGP feeds when designed CCRs to have such big amount of RAM?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 109 guests