Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
Deslack
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:30 pm
Contact:

Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Mon Oct 10, 2016 9:51 am

Hello,

Up until now, the MikroTik ASCII Console Splash Screen logo had been this:
  MMM      MMM       KKK                          TTTTTTTTTTT      KKK
  MMMM    MMMM       KKK                          TTTTTTTTTTT      KKK
  MMM MMMM MMM  III  KKK  KKK  RRRRRR     OOOOOO      TTT     III  KKK  KKK
  MMM  MM  MMM  III  KKKKK     RRR  RRR  OOO  OOO     TTT     III  KKKKK
  MMM      MMM  III  KKK KKK   RRRRRR    OOO  OOO     TTT     III  KKK KKK
  MMM      MMM  III  KKK  KKK  RRR  RRR   OOOOOO      TTT     III  KKK  KKK

  MikroTik RouterOS 6.37.1 (c) 1999-2016       http://www.mikrotik.com/
I Honestly think that it is rather, um, unsightly, and would like to propose an updated one, based on MikroTik's logo. I hereby attach a sample:
                   g g                                                      
                   ]g *w,                                                   
   @&K         @$F   *Ng,                     $$$$$$$$$$$$F]$$$$ $$$$F      
  ]@ $       gP,$  ,  ,     ,. , ,,g  ,wggg, ************* ****  $$$$  wggg~
  $  ]K    ,@` $P ]$  $  ,@"   $F   gP      $    &&&&     )&&&F $$$$Q@$$@"  
 $@   $   gF  ]$  @F $@P*@    $F   ]$       $F  $$$$@     $$$$  $$$$$$$@    
 $    $LgN    $  ]$ ,$    $, ]@    ]@      gF   $$$$     ]$$$F $$$$F]$$$@   
**     *`    **  *  *`     * *`      *MRM*"    *****     ****  ****  "****  
I used http://asciiart.club/ for this.

Curious as to what you guys think of this idea.
 
haik01
Member
Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:13 pm

We can do it with the old fashioned ASCII codes which make a nice table... Double lined even. Codes 179 - 218....
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6517
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:25 pm

If this updated logo jumped on me for the first time on live RB, my thoughts would be "oh shit, something broke!" ;) On second look, yes, the logo is there, but I still don't think it would win any beauty contest.
Excessive quoting is useless and annoying. If you use it, please consider if you could do without it.
 
savage
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1220
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:07 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Mon Oct 10, 2016 5:34 pm

Frankly,

Rather a custom MOTD (configurable) as it is pretty much on any router and/or linux box

The entire console is completely BLOATED with unnecessary ANSI, splash screens, and heaven forbid what else.

Dump it all, and give me a CONSOLE please.
Regards,
Chris
 
User avatar
Deslack
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:08 am

We can do it with the old fashioned ASCII codes which make a nice table... Double lined even. Codes 179 - 218....
That would look nice aesthetically, but might barf on some non-standard consoles.
 
User avatar
Deslack
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:11 am

If this updated logo jumped on me for the first time on live RB, my thoughts would be "oh **it, something broke!" ;) On second look, yes, the logo is there, but I still don't think it would win any beauty contest.
Yeah, wouldn't call it much of a beauty, either. Kinda think that anything would've looked better than the present one.
 
User avatar
Deslack
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:15 am

Frankly,

Rather a custom MOTD (configurable) as it is pretty much on any router and/or linux box

The entire console is completely BLOATED with unnecessary ANSI, splash screens, and heaven forbid what else.

Dump it all, and give me a CONSOLE please.
This, would be ideal. However
/system note print
wouldn't replace the banner with totally user-customized ones. Wouldn't mind the display of RouterOS version, but that effing ASCII... urgh.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7765
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Thu Oct 20, 2016 1:38 pm

Suggested logo is unreadable. I would like not to change it in the described way.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], olgale, Znevna and 138 guests