Page 1 of 1

Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 9:51 am
by Deslack
Hello,

Up until now, the MikroTik ASCII Console Splash Screen logo had been this:
  MMM      MMM       KKK                          TTTTTTTTTTT      KKK
  MMMM    MMMM       KKK                          TTTTTTTTTTT      KKK
  MMM MMMM MMM  III  KKK  KKK  RRRRRR     OOOOOO      TTT     III  KKK  KKK
  MMM  MM  MMM  III  KKKKK     RRR  RRR  OOO  OOO     TTT     III  KKKKK
  MMM      MMM  III  KKK KKK   RRRRRR    OOO  OOO     TTT     III  KKK KKK
  MMM      MMM  III  KKK  KKK  RRR  RRR   OOOOOO      TTT     III  KKK  KKK

  MikroTik RouterOS 6.37.1 (c) 1999-2016       http://www.mikrotik.com/
I Honestly think that it is rather, um, unsightly, and would like to propose an updated one, based on MikroTik's logo. I hereby attach a sample:
                   g g                                                      
                   ]g *w,                                                   
   @&K         @$F   *Ng,                     $$$$$$$$$$$$F]$$$$ $$$$F      
  ]@ $       gP,$  ,  ,     ,. , ,,g  ,wggg, ************* ****  $$$$  wggg~
  $  ]K    ,@` $P ]$  $  ,@"   $F   gP      $    &&&&     )&&&F $$$$Q@$$@"  
 $@   $   gF  ]$  @F $@P*@    $F   ]$       $F  $$$$@     $$$$  $$$$$$$@    
 $    $LgN    $  ]$ ,$    $, ]@    ]@      gF   $$$$     ]$$$F $$$$F]$$$@   
**     *`    **  *  *`     * *`      *MRM*"    *****     ****  ****  "****  
I used http://asciiart.club/ for this.

Curious as to what you guys think of this idea.

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:13 pm
by haik01
We can do it with the old fashioned ASCII codes which make a nice table... Double lined even. Codes 179 - 218....

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:25 pm
by Sob
If this updated logo jumped on me for the first time on live RB, my thoughts would be "oh shit, something broke!" ;) On second look, yes, the logo is there, but I still don't think it would win any beauty contest.

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 5:34 pm
by savage
Frankly,

Rather a custom MOTD (configurable) as it is pretty much on any router and/or linux box

The entire console is completely BLOATED with unnecessary ANSI, splash screens, and heaven forbid what else.

Dump it all, and give me a CONSOLE please.

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:08 am
by Deslack
We can do it with the old fashioned ASCII codes which make a nice table... Double lined even. Codes 179 - 218....
That would look nice aesthetically, but might barf on some non-standard consoles.

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:11 am
by Deslack
If this updated logo jumped on me for the first time on live RB, my thoughts would be "oh **it, something broke!" ;) On second look, yes, the logo is there, but I still don't think it would win any beauty contest.
Yeah, wouldn't call it much of a beauty, either. Kinda think that anything would've looked better than the present one.

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:15 am
by Deslack
Frankly,

Rather a custom MOTD (configurable) as it is pretty much on any router and/or linux box

The entire console is completely BLOATED with unnecessary ANSI, splash screens, and heaven forbid what else.

Dump it all, and give me a CONSOLE please.
This, would be ideal. However
/system note print
wouldn't replace the banner with totally user-customized ones. Wouldn't mind the display of RouterOS version, but that effing ASCII... urgh.

Re: Request: Change the Mikrotik ASCII Console Splash Screen Logo

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 1:38 pm
by jarda
Suggested logo is unreadable. I would like not to change it in the described way.