Community discussions

 
zimbola
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 5:02 pm

replacing cable modem router with mikrotik router

Sat Nov 12, 2016 5:53 am

Hi Friends.
I have a MOTOROLA cable modem at my home from TWC.
I would like to replace it with Mikrotik router
Is there a Mikrotik Router with coax support available ?
Thanks
 
MrcS
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 3:54 pm

Re: replacing cable modem router with mikrotik router

Sat Nov 12, 2016 6:17 am

I don't think so. Cable modems use their operators certificates for docsis.

Sent from my SM-N910C using Tapatalk
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: replacing cable modem router with mikrotik router

Sat Nov 12, 2016 7:26 am

Regardless the certificate, there is no modem device from mikrotik at all. You need to keep your modem. You can switch it to the transparent bridge mode and use mikrotik device as router.
 
zimbola
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 5:02 pm

Re: replacing cable modem router with mikrotik router

Sat Nov 12, 2016 6:53 pm

Thank you for the reply
I can use mikrotik behind my cable modem.
will MOCA + Mikrotik do the trick ?
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: replacing cable modem router with mikrotik router

Sat Nov 12, 2016 7:23 pm

What is moca? Never mind. A modem and a router will do many tricks...
 
zimbola
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 5:02 pm

Re: replacing cable modem router with mikrotik router

Sat Nov 12, 2016 11:09 pm

I was referring to some coax , ethernet adaptor.
google presented me as MOCA :-D
http://www.actiontec.com/products/14.php
but i don't think this will work either :(
 
proximus
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: replacing cable modem router with mikrotik router

Sat Nov 12, 2016 11:57 pm

You need a DOCSIS cable modem. There is no way around this. A MoCA bridge is not a cable modem.
You need either a standalone cable modem, or gateway (combo modem / router). A gateway works best if you place it in bridge mode and let the MT do all the routing functions.
 
User avatar
villageworker
newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:54 pm

Re: replacing cable modem router with mikrotik router

Sun Nov 13, 2016 5:55 am

Hi Friends.
I have a MOTOROLA cable modem at my home from TWC.
I would like to replace it with Mikrotik router
Is there a Mikrotik Router with coax support available ?
Thanks
On my comcast service I use a ARRIS SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem whic is then connected to a Mikrotik CCR router. Works great.
Check with TWC on the procedure to buy and install your own modem. The connection from the modem to the Mikrotik is with a cat5/6 ethernet patch cable.
Provide robust Network, IoT & Building management systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 106 guests