Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
HumanDamned
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:21 am
Location: Tallinn

[SOLVED] Slow speeds with ISP subnet and VLANs on CRS125

Wed Nov 16, 2016 5:13 pm

Hi, I’m using CRS125-24G 6.37.1.
Mikrotik is configured as switch. Eth1 - master port. Using /24 subnet from ISP as main LAN (10.254.43.0/24).

I have also added several VLANs in my config. ether2 and endpoint computers on the subnet (for example on VLAN2) have connection speed - 1Gb. BTest gives me max TCP 50Mbps (CPU load 100%) from VLAN2 to main LAN. Btest UDP - 300 Mbps . What can be the problem?

I have tried changing the queue type from hardware to ethernet-default, as it was mention here- http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=85339 , but it did not help.
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name=ether1-master
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] master-port=ether1-master
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] master-port=ether1-master

/queue interface
set ether1-master queue=ethernet-default
set ether2 queue=ethernet-default
set ether3 queue=ethernet-default

/interface vlan
add comment=K201 interface=ether1-master name=vlan2 vlan-id=2
add comment=K203 interface=ether1-master name=vlan3 vlan-id=3
add comment=students interface=ether1-master name=vlan4 vlan-id=4
add comment=K205 interface=ether1-master name=vlan5 vlan-id=5

/interface ethernet switch egress-vlan-tag
add tagged-ports=ether2,ether3,ether4,ether9,switch1-cpu vlan-id=4
add tagged-ports=ether2,switch1-cpu vlan-id=2
add tagged-ports=ether2,switch1-cpu vlan-id=3
add tagged-ports=ether2,switch1-cpu vlan-id=5

/interface ethernet switch vlan
add learn=no ports=ether2,ether3,ether4,ether9,switch1-cpu vlan-id=4
add learn=no ports=ether2,switch1-cpu vlan-id=2
add learn=no ports=ether2,switch1-cpu vlan-id=3
add learn=no ports=ether2,ether3,switch1-cpu vlan-id=5
Some more reading - http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=95566
Inter-VLAN routing speed CRS125-24G-1S-IN - http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=79044
Performance issue with CRS125-24G-1S-RM - http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=82422
CRS226-24G-2S+ Poor routing performance - http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=84648
Last edited by HumanDamned on Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:10 pm, edited 10 times in total.
 
kamillo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:44 pm

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Wed Nov 16, 2016 5:32 pm

Hi,

I have CRS125 at home and never had issues like this. I don't remember my config from top of my head but it looks similar to yours. I think the problem is with a test method. You are sending a loads of traffic to the switch itself. CPU on the switch is to weak to process all the traffic this is why your are hitting 100% CPU and such poor performance in terms of bandwidth.

Try sending traffic trough the switch, from a PC to a PC (on the same VLAN), like this: PC (vlan 2) --> CRS125 --> PC (vlan2).

Best,
 
User avatar
HumanDamned
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:21 am
Location: Tallinn

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Thu Nov 17, 2016 9:01 am

Thank you for your reply kamillo, you are right.
I have made some more tests and here are the results
PC (vlan 3) --> CRS125 --> PC (vlan3) = 500-900Mbps
PC (lan) --> CRS125 --> PC (lan) = 500-900Mbps

PC (vlan 3) --> CRS125 --> PC (lan) = 10-20Mbps, speedtest.net from vlan 3 shows around 50 Mbps
PC (lan) --> CRS125 --> PC (vlan3) = no ping and no connection at all and that’s strange
 
User avatar
HumanDamned
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:21 am
Location: Tallinn

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Thu Nov 17, 2016 11:15 pm

run Traceroute diagnostic and here is the result:
from vlan3 tracert 10.254.43.37
Tracing route to 10.254.43.37 over a maximum of 30 hops
1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.203.1
2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 10.254.43.37

from lan tracert 192.168.203.254
Tracing route to 192.168.203.254 over a maximum of 30
1 4 ms <1 ms 2 ms 10.254.43.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 3 ms <1 ms 4 ms 10.254.255.16
6 * * * Request timed out.

So the main LAN network knows nothing about 192.168.203.0/24 network... May be that is the cause of the low speed between subnets? Can I somehow manually add routes to other subnets? Unfortunately I do not have access to the 10.254.43.1 switch.

Image
 
kamillo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:44 pm

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:32 am

Hi,

Not sure if I understood your network layout but...

Your trace results:
The first one, you doing that from 192.168.203.254 to 10.254.43.37, and all is good right?
The second, from 10.254.43.37 to 192.168.203.254, which is opposite direction from what you have done in above example, and this is not working?

If I'm right your routes are fine, otherwise in the first example packets wouldn't know how to come back to you. If this is the case you would have to check if there are no blocking rules on the router.

Best,
 
User avatar
HumanDamned
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:21 am
Location: Tallinn

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Fri Nov 18, 2016 12:22 pm

If I'm right your routes are fine, otherwise in the first example packets wouldn't know how to come back to you. If this is the case you would have to check if there are no blocking rules on the router.
Thank you for your reply,
Thats correct, the opposite direction, from 10.254.43.37 to 192.168.203.254 is not working.
from 192.168.203.254 to 10.254.43.37 - ping is good, but transfer speed is low, about 50Mbps.

There are no blocking rules in the firewall
I will run some more tests...hope to find some solution.
 
kamillo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:44 pm

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Fri Nov 18, 2016 12:26 pm

by looks of it there is no issues with routing, I would check the router for any blocking policies/ speed policies and also check things like speed/ duplex on the interfaces between CRS125 and router
 
huntah
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 3:24 pm

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:48 pm

maybe you are doing NAT on the oposite side 10.254.43.0/24

Check /IP firewall NAT
 
User avatar
HumanDamned
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:21 am
Location: Tallinn

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:40 pm

Here are my NAT rules
/ip firewall nat
add action=redirect chain=dstnat comment="transparent proxy" dst-port=80 protocol=tcp to-ports=8080
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=LAN to-addresses=0.0.0.0
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1189
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:55 pm

If you need Gigabit routed throughput, CRS is the wrong device because it won't ever process TCP streams fast enough to get clean throughput for real applications (which is different than maxing out a bandwidth test). Consider adding a CCR1009 or RB3011 to handle routing and then connect the CRS125 in a switched mode to aggregate all of the connections.
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
kamillo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:44 pm

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:09 pm

From the info presented I'm under impression that CRS125 is not involved in routing and only acts as a switch. It looks like (cisco ?) 10.254.43.1 acts as a router. Is that correct?
 
User avatar
HumanDamned
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:21 am
Location: Tallinn

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:46 pm

From the info presented I'm under impression that CRS125 is not involved in routing and only acts as a switch. It looks like (cisco ?) 10.254.43.1 acts as a router. Is that correct?
Can't tell anything about the upstream hardware, because I cannot manage cisco-10.254.43.1.
I hope to use CRS125 for routing as well when I deal with this slow subnet speed problem
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:57 pm

Can't tell anything about the upstream hardware, because I cannot manage cisco-10.254.43.1.
I hope to use CRS125 for routing as well when I deal with this slow subnet speed problem
Don't do this. The CRS line are switches, not routers. They don't have the CPU power to do any serious routing. CPU is there so you can manage the switch.
 
kamillo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:44 pm

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:04 pm

So you want to remove the Cisco router from your network and just use CRS125 instead?
If this is the case like Paternot said, don't. CPU is too weak. CRS is a switch with limited routing capabilities (hardware wise)

If you need router you will be better of by looking at something like RB2011, RB3011 or CCR series. Depending on you requirements: bandwidth, firewall rules, queues, pppoe, VPNs etc...
 
User avatar
HumanDamned
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:21 am
Location: Tallinn

Re: Slow speeds with VLANs on CRS125

Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:18 pm

Ok, I understood, thanks for the advice.

Conclusion - 1. try changing the queue type from hardware to ethernet-default, as it was mentioned here- http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=85339
2. For CRS125 50-200Mbps (depends on your routing rules) is a normal speed for routing between different subnets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ccmks, kai, solar77, zounder1 and 82 guests