Community discussions

MikroTik App

albanc
just joined
Topic Author

VLANs strategy, router + swicth configuration

Thu Nov 17, 2016 4:36 pm

Hello,

I currently run a Zywall 100 and a Zyxel GS1920 manageable switch. I plan to replace the Zywall due to Qos problems + limited throughput and I am actually experimenting with a CRS125 cloud router I bought for home use. If the experiment is OK, I plan to deploy a Mikrotik RB3011UiAS-RM in place of the Zywall/CRS125.

I am having a hard time recreating the VLANs we are used to work with, and I start to ask myself : is even my VLAN strategy correct, and doable on a Mikrotik router ? As I am mostly self-taught regarding networks and I do have not much thehoric knowledge on the field (I'm basicaly programmer), I would appreciate your feedback.

So far here is what I had set on my former configuration :

On the GS1920 switch, I have 3 VLANS set on various ingress ports, each being on it own subnet :
VLAN1 for our team
VLAN2 for voip trafic
VLAN10 for guest vlan
Then they all go out from the switch to the router, through the same 802.1p tagged egress port. So I guess this port is what we'd call a wan trunk.

On the router, I have a different DHCP server set per VLAN.

My main trouble with this configuration is the QoS doesn't work at all. I have rules specified per VLAN interface and the neither the bandwidth shaper nor the priority setting have any effect on the poor quality of my Voip. I have also tried specifying the Qos filters per ip range rather than per VLAN interface, with the same result.

When I look at the VLAN tutorials for Mikrotik, I always see 1 VLAN per port. But many Mikrotik routers are also switches, so it could explain this port based VLAN scheme.
The thing is, I am starting to ask myself : "maybe my Qos filtering does not work because I should set 1 VLAN per port on the router, with 3 egress ports on the switch rather than using a WAN trunk.